We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Rustic Arms

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
7 Long Lane | Ackworth, Pontefract WF7 7EZ, England
+44 1977 705673
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 200: English reviews
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Fantastic! I booked a table at the rustic arms on a Sunday evening for my family and myself, a party of 8. From start to finish it was an extremely relaxing and pleasurable experience. Ample parking. Warm Friendly staff and regulars. A real country pub. A couple of gentlemen were in with dogs which we thought was wonderful. ( however... More 

Helpful?
Thank LynseyGart
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi Lynsey, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so grateful for your review and to read that you enjoyed you night with us from start to finish. It is such a pleasure to look after people that appreciate home cooked Food that you will not get within 10 mins, it takes time to cook and present... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped off at our half way point to meet up. Only checked google maps, otherwise would never have found the Rustic Arms. In November the outside looked a little run down but the interior food and welcome more than made up for it. I had corned beef hash in a yorkie which was huge but gorgeous. My brother had steak... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen M
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi Karen, Thank you for your kind review. We will agree with you we are off the beaten track. It is a little of a seasonal pub or destination pub. In the summer we are very busy but winter we seem to be forgotten(never mind). We are so pleased you enjoyed your food, we do hope you will call again... More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We found this pub/restaurant because it was halfway to where our friends were coming from to meet us for lunch. We were strongly influenced by the positive reports we read on line. We arrived and the enormous car park was empty at 12.35. We parked and went in. The general feeling was tacky. Seating was worn and dirty. The first... More 

Helpful?
Thank antrobo
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you did not give us a chance this is a country pub off the beaten track. In the summer the pub and garden becomes very busy but in the Autumn and Winter it is quieter. We did start refurbishing the Pub at the beginning of the year but a we... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

Booked for Sunday lunch for a family get together. The carvery was good value with plenty choice of vegetables and beef, gammon or pie. Tasted lovely and very filling. Staff friendly. Good relaxed atmosphere. Will go again!

Helpful?
Thank Jobi66
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you so much, we are please to hear you all enjoyed your day with us. We do have great staff that truly do work hard and look after guest as best they can. We look forward to seeing you all again. Thank you again for your kind review. More 

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2016

Nice atmosphere great for kids in nice weather lovely garden area..food nice but overpriced and drinks are expensive too

Helpful?
Thank lisarobinson75
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi Lisa, Thank you for you kind review. Sorry if you think our food is a little over priced, as we use fresh food and quality products we do have to price accordingly as you may no we may not pay vat on food but as soon as we sell it we have to pay 20% vat which we have... More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile

What a fantastic night, can't believe chef took my chips away cuz he was not happy with the quality of the potatoes. Sent another batch out quality.great atmosphere great night. Well done rustics ten out of ten

Helpful?
Thank MarkNorman1
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you, so glad you enjoyed you're evening. Sorry about the chips our chef was not happy with them at all. He did not feel the potatoes where right. Thank you for your understanding hope we see you again soon. More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2016

Ordered three sandwiches and a bowl of chips and it took an hour to arrive!! There was only one other group of people eating in the pub at time. We were getting so fed up of waiting we asked how much longer and was told by the man at the bar that it was being plated up. 10 minutes after... More 

Helpful?
Thank LouiseN8
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi Louise, We do apologise for your bad experience you had with our staff. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will obviously bring this to their attention if however they have not already read this as our staff do read all reviews. All staff no the hygiene rules here and this will be bought to everyone attention... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2016

We went on line to check the times this restaurant served until as we knew we would be eating late it said until 9pm so we traveled about half an hour arrived at 8.45pm to be told they had stopped serving so then had to fined another restaurant that did serve until the time they advertised needless to say we... More 

Helpful?
Thank sadie19
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi Sadie, Thank you for your review. We will look at our website and check the times. We are a pub that serves fresh food, sorry to say we do not have a restaurant status. we served food from 12 - 4 pm then 5 - 8pm Monday to Thursday and Sundays. Friday and Saturdays we served 12 - 4... More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2016 via mobile

The staff are polite/friendly and the service is quite reasonable. Unfortunately, the main reason I visited was to eat. On each occasion I have not received the food ordered from the menu. One item or another has been missing or not available and you are not told this 'til the food is on the table. Additionally, the quality of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank cazatwelcare
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. We do apologise that are food served was not up to standered this is also not good enough for us either. We will be speaking to the chef that was working service that night. We do only stock fresh food in small amounts and there are times we have sold out. We do take... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2016

The place was very clean and the staff were very friendly there is a small playing Area for young people a good fishing lake there are chickens running about

Helpful?
Thank Alan W
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi Alan & Linda. Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Hope you visit us again soon. Thank you. More 

Travelers who viewed The Rustic Arms also viewed

Pontefract, West Yorkshire
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Rustic Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$9 - $19
Cuisine
Bar, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Monday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 Long Lane | Ackworth, Pontefract WF7 7EZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Pontefract
  • Phone Number: +44 1977 705673

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Rustic Arms and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Rustic Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?