We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Rustic Arms

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
7 Long Lane | Ackworth, Pontefract WF7 7EZ, England
+44 1977 705673
Today
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 205: English reviews
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Spacious with a good range of food well cooked and presented at reasonable prices. Friendly and helpful staff and beautiful surroundings

Helpful?
Thank George_beverley
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my partner visited the Rustic Arms midweek. I had been here regularly when I was a child and decided to pop by and see how it had changed if at all. We had a pleasant two course dinner with drinks and thought the range on the menu was good - something for everyone. The staff were attentive and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gemma M
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi Gemma, Thank you for your kind review. We are so please to hear you enjoy your time with us and your meal. Please do keep popping in there are still more improvements to do hope fully we will have more of them finished this year . Thank you again. More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here with my family on the 28th of December 2016. It was very quiet when we arrived and was greeted by a very friendly dark haired lady! First impressions were that it was very friendly and welcoming...... This is where the positives end I am afraid! We were seated directly outside the kitchen and throughout the meal the kitchen... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gabyjo77
Caroline F, Manager at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit to The Rustic Arms. We have looked back on CCTV for the 28th December 2016 for all the tables and are unable to see where any food was returned, however if this is the case we are really sorry and should you have brought it... More 

Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

before i actually start my review, i would like to thank the manageress for dealing with us in the correct manor and giving us free carvery and meals on the day.... we were hungry for some pub grub after having a very late night/early morning, and i had steak pie on my mind and we knew just the place!! hangover+pub... More 

Helpful?
Thank Prinnyjay
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We would like to inform you that we have had the cooked fixed now all is good. So sorry for your experience We look forward to seeing you for your Carvery Thank you. More 

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2016

So we thought we'd try a local pub that we've not been to for years for Sunday lunch as a change from our usual Toby Carvery. Upon arrival we stood at the bar to not be acknowledged as to where to go to find our table. After seeing a couple of waitresses we went over to them who just pointed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kolakubez83
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. May I just say we do between 170 - 210 Sunday Carvery's and we are sorry to here that you where not happy. Our Chefs start at 7 am on a Sunday morning because we provide a Freshly Cooked Sunday Lunch. We only have short servers in the Ban Marie as this means Fresh... More 

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2016 via mobile

Fantastic! I booked a table at the rustic arms on a Sunday evening for my family and myself, a party of 8. From start to finish it was an extremely relaxing and pleasurable experience. Ample parking. Warm Friendly staff and regulars. A real country pub. A couple of gentlemen were in with dogs which we thought was wonderful. ( however... More 

Helpful?
Thank LynseyGart
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi Lynsey, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so grateful for your review and to read that you enjoyed you night with us from start to finish. It is such a pleasure to look after people that appreciate home cooked Food that you will not get within 10 mins, it takes time to cook and present... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2016 via mobile

Stopped off at our half way point to meet up. Only checked google maps, otherwise would never have found the Rustic Arms. In November the outside looked a little run down but the interior food and welcome more than made up for it. I had corned beef hash in a yorkie which was huge but gorgeous. My brother had steak... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen M
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi Karen, Thank you for your kind review. We will agree with you we are off the beaten track. It is a little of a seasonal pub or destination pub. In the summer we are very busy but winter we seem to be forgotten(never mind). We are so pleased you enjoyed your food, we do hope you will call again... More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2016

We found this pub/restaurant because it was halfway to where our friends were coming from to meet us for lunch. We were strongly influenced by the positive reports we read on line. We arrived and the enormous car park was empty at 12.35. We parked and went in. The general feeling was tacky. Seating was worn and dirty. The first... More 

Helpful?
Thank antrobo
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you did not give us a chance this is a country pub off the beaten track. In the summer the pub and garden becomes very busy but in the Autumn and Winter it is quieter. We did start refurbishing the Pub at the beginning of the year but a we... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

Booked for Sunday lunch for a family get together. The carvery was good value with plenty choice of vegetables and beef, gammon or pie. Tasted lovely and very filling. Staff friendly. Good relaxed atmosphere. Will go again!

Helpful?
Thank Jobi66
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you so much, we are please to hear you all enjoyed your day with us. We do have great staff that truly do work hard and look after guest as best they can. We look forward to seeing you all again. Thank you again for your kind review. More 

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2016

Nice atmosphere great for kids in nice weather lovely garden area..food nice but overpriced and drinks are expensive too

Helpful?
Thank lisarobinson75
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi Lisa, Thank you for you kind review. Sorry if you think our food is a little over priced, as we use fresh food and quality products we do have to price accordingly as you may no we may not pay vat on food but as soon as we sell it we have to pay 20% vat which we have... More 

Travelers who viewed The Rustic Arms also viewed

Pontefract, West Yorkshire
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
 
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Rustic Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$9 - $18
Cuisine
Bar
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Monday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 Long Lane | Ackworth, Pontefract WF7 7EZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Pontefract
  • Phone Number: +44 1977 705673

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Rustic Arms and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Rustic Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?