We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Castle

$$ - $$$British, ,
30 West Street, Harrow HA1 3EF, England
+44 20 8422 3155
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good34%
  • Average16%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible11%
Travelers talk about
“sunday roast” (8 reviews)
“ham hock” (2 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
30 West Street, Harrow HA1 3EF, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have been here many times and the food has always been good especially Sunday roasts but was disappointed on this particular visit. We were the only ones in the main dining room early on a Saturday evening. The service was prompt but the food was...More

1  Thank Suzyrpilgrim
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a pleasant place to sit on a hot evening. The food was fresh, reasonably price, limited in price/availability but quite a distance from gourmet. The service was good to middling but it was busy and as we sat outside there were steep stairs...More

Thank caroleofstanmore
The_Castle_Team, Assistant Manager at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Carole Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our beer garden and food. We hope that you come again and we can give you an even better experience! If you love live music and beer, I would recommend coming down...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So off i toddled to the castle. ordered beer and some food. starters was ok. Then came the steak. over cooked , under garnished, and for what was served over priced - £25. 70% of it was bone . Now my old man used to...More

Thank Colin R
The_Castle_Team, Manager at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Colin, Thank you very much for your feedback and I'm very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit. I will make sure to investigate the situation with my team. Please send us an e-mail at castle.harrow@fullers.co.uk if you'd like to discuss this further....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to see the @openbar production of Much Ado About Nothing. The Castle do a special pre theatre meal, we booked, pre ordered our choice of food and paid a deposit. Food was excellent and well presented. We had starters and main. Crispy Ham...More

Thank td1974
The_Castle_Team, Assistant Manager at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi td1974, We're so pleased that you had a lovely time with us at The Castle, whilst watching the fantastic production of Much Ado! Hope to see you again soon and you can give our regular menu a try. Many thanks, Nicole

Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

Awful! Very over priced. Simply terrible. Average service. Chips were oily and over cooked, thankfully there were so few of them; they resembled leftovers. Fish batter was burned and soaked, and I mean soaked, in oil; foul-tasting oil. The burger was distinctly average. Starters and...More

1  Thank Derek G
The_Castle_Team, Manager at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Derek, Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit with us. It would've been much appreciated if we could've had some feedback on the day in order to have a chance to rectify the situation for you....More

Reviewed June 30, 2018

Poor bar staff discipline due to absent licensee... come on Fullers, this is one of your premier pubs, twice now I have been subject to bar staff more interested in themselves and ignoring customers.

2  Thank markcradford
The_Castle_Team, General Manager at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2018

Hi Mark, I'd like to understand what has gone wrong during your visit. Please drop me an email at castle.harrow@fullers.co.uk with some more details and I will follow up asap. Kind regards, Adam Pearson

Reviewed June 22, 2018 via mobile

Booked for Mother's Day with no trouble, just need to pay a deposit per head in advance which was fair enough. Parking isn't easy but that's The Hill all over, just get there early enough on a busy date and you should be fine. It...More

Thank Charlotte A
The_Castle_Team, Manager at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2018

Hi Charlotte, Thank you ever so much for your rating and your comments! I'm very pleased to see you enjoyed your time on Mother's Day! I do apologise for the wait in service at the beginning, I can only hope it was worth the wait...More

Reviewed June 22, 2018 via mobile

Decided to have some drinks after work on recommendation from a colleague. We sat close to the kitchen and soon couldn't resist getting some bites. I must say it was extremely busy (expected on a Friday) and there was only one young lady serving (I...More

Thank Suzanne V
The_Castle_Team, Manager at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2018

Hello Suzanne, Thank you ever so much for your 5 star rating and your lovely words! Rekha has joined our team very recently and we've been very thrilled to have her on board. The fact that you wrote a review about her and praised her...More

Reviewed June 21, 2018

This pub has it all. Friendly bar staff and atmosphere. Really good menu, reasonably priced. Lovely beer garden which is dog friendly (as is pub - but not restaurant section). Good views in rear section and summer BBQ. Great location and nearby walks. Can't rate...More

Thank liza d
The_Castle_Team, Manager at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2018

Hi Liza, Thank you ever so much for your rating and your kind words! We're very happy to see you are enjoying our little pub! I hope to see you and your little pooch again very soon! Kind regards Maddy Deputy Manager

Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

Had a fab Sunday roast with the family for Father’s Day The food is always delicious the staff are lovely and friendly Excellent choice for a quality local meal Wine choices are also very nice

Thank Esther G
The_Castle_Team, Manager at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2018

Hello Esther, Thank you very much for your rating and your comments! I'm very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and your Father's Day experience was a great one! I hope to see you again very soon! Kind regards Maddy Deputy Manager

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Harrow
Premier by Eurotraveller Hotel, Harrow
198 reviews
.41 miles away
Crescent Hotel
79 reviews
.76 miles away
Travelodge London Harrow Hotel
60 reviews
.88 miles away
Lindal Hotel
4 reviews
.92 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Kingsfield Arms
54 reviews
.25 miles away
The White Horse
169 reviews
.26 miles away
Lokma
125 reviews
.58 miles away
The Doll's House On Hill
239 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Harrow School
23 reviews
.11 miles away
St Mary's Church, Harrow on the Hill
14 reviews
.17 miles away
VR Champions
24 reviews
.60 miles away
HarroWall Climbing Centre
10 reviews
.64 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
rowland39
March 7, 2016|
Answer
Response from The_Castle_Team | Property representative |
Hi Roly, Unfortunately we do not have accommodation here (apart from my flat which is barely big enough for myself and the wife!) - however, I would recommend the Old Etonian which is just up the road. It's where our... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
British, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 30 West Street, Harrow HA1 3EF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater London  >  Harrow
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8422 3155
  • E-mail
Description
The Castle can trace its roots back as far as 1716 with the current building dating back to 1901. A classic British pub with Heritage status, it’s packed with traditional and listed features that give it a unique air. With open fires to keep you cosy in winter and an extensive garden hidden behind the pub you are assured a warm welcome whenever you visit. We are very proud to have won the West Middlesex CAMRA: Pub of the Year 2016 and 2017.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing