We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Battle Axes Restaurant

$$ - $$$, British,
Butterfly Lane | Elstree, Elstree WD6 3AD, England
+44 20 8 9531049
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good24%
  • Average14%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible9%
Travelers talk about
“pudding” (12 reviews)
“sea bass” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Butterfly Lane | Elstree, Elstree WD6 3AD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Really nice restaurant fantastic food great service would highly recommend they accommodate you very well nice pub garden the decor is modern nothing is too much trouble

Thank tracy G
Reviewed 3 days ago

On arrival left waiting to be seated with no acknowledgment from the manager even though she was only a few feet away, not a good start!! Ordering was slow & new waitress seemed to be doing most of it alone. The table next to us...More

Thank Netty10821
Reviewed 1 week ago

NO meet and greet NO chicken NO pies NO lasagne NO red wine sauce NO balsamic NO cheese board NO warmth NO atmosphere NO service NOT going back

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
1  Thank Jerry D
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After a busy weekend of work, I thought it would be a nice treat for my boyfriend and I to go out for a Sunday roast dinner, however I now wish I had saved the money, bought the ingredients and cooked it for myself.... On...More

1  Thank rubybuttons87
Reviewed 1 week ago

Been here a couple of times since my last review. Best item on lunch menu is sea bass florentine. Sea bass with crisp skin. Hollandaise sauce. new potatoes and spinach . All under £8. terrific value

1  Thank Christ0pherF
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Poor service, no one behind the bar. Toilets blocked and smelly, kind of excusable late at night but this was 3 in the afternoon. Also not a great selection of beers. 2 pumps were out.More

Thank Tom P
Amanda S, General Manager at Battle Axes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear sir. I am sorry to hear about your experience however it is unusual unless we are quite busy for no-one to be behind the bar which in that case someone would have taken your order at the table as well as brought your drinks...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had some Tesco vouchers to use.the reviews were mixed so i wondered what it would be like. We visited during the week, It was not desperately busy.I was delighted that they have a proper shortcrust steak pie, not a flaky pastry top crust. The...More

1  Thank r p
Amanda S, General Manager at Battle Axes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review I am so pleased you enjoyed your meals we have a new menu on the 19th September and the festive menu which runs in December that you can use your Tesco vouchers we look forward to seeing you soon General...More

Reviewed August 21, 2017

Had a friendly welcome and taken to a table for 2 which was far too close to other tables so we asked if we could sit at a more secluded one, which we did. The waitress was helpful and when asked if we ordered at...More

2  Thank 802pamela
Reviewed August 19, 2017

Food was great but on this visit the service was not so good. Have been here many times in the past and the service has always been good. I guess the staff must habeen having an off day

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
2  Thank John H
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile

My fiance and I came in for a bite to eat. I should mention that we were driving from shropshire so were unfamiliar with the area. The sign on the host stand says "find a table and we'll come to you" As we enter to...More

Thank Dan A
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kiss Kiss Italian
185 reviews
1.27 miles away
The Fishery Elstree
352 reviews
1.09 miles away
The Waggon & Horses
205 reviews
.82 miles away
Nearby Attractions
VVB Aviation Services
58 reviews
.28 miles away
Aldenham Country Park
173 reviews
.62 miles away
Flight Training London
5 reviews
.26 miles away
Bhaktivedanta Manor
140 reviews
.97 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
bryanmayson
September 7, 2017|
Answer
Response from keith t | Reviewed this property |
0208 9531049 ask for Mandy
0
Votes
Tasos23
December 29, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Dale M | Reviewed this property |
They turned our dog away so we left him in the car as weather was ok
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$22 - $30
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Butterfly Lane | Elstree, Elstree WD6 3AD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Elstree
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8 9531049
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing