We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Mother Redcap

Blackburn Road, Blackburn BB1 3LS, England
+44 1254 667272
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent15%
  • Very good11%
  • Average27%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible34%
Aug 14, 2017
“Waiting Staff retraining required”
Jul 17, 2017
“You pay for what you get”
Open Now
8:00 am - 9:30 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Blackburn Road, Blackburn BB1 3LS, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 59 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2016

Not a bad venue for a drink on the way home from work but a cheap and nasty carvery. Will never eat there again

Thank William F
Management response:Responded December 14, 2016

Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback

Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

Great bright clean pub Barmaid was polite and attentive Food was really good especially for the price The rest of the staff were very quiet and tbh looked like they'd been on a bender and this was the last place they wanted to be But...More

1  Thank kyeransaurin
Management response:Responded September 5, 2016

Many thanks for your feedback your points have been taken on board. we look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed August 27, 2016

Visited this week, simply because we had a voucher as a result of a dismal experience in a same group car very nearby. deliberately went at busy time as food is fresher when " moving". waited quite a while as menu has been complicated by...More

Thank 530lesterh
Management response:Responded August 30, 2016

Many thanks for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile

Called again after easter. Not changed, food was just luke warm. Standards are still the same with no customer engagement. Shame really............

Thank Stellyrichy C
Management response:Responded August 30, 2016

Thank you for your feedback and we will investigate your comments.

Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

Attended with group about 25 strong deaf people at lunchtime on a Wednesday. All ordered separately and were dealt with efficiently and quickly and with patience Admittedly, the food is not high end but then, neither are the prices.

Thank SandyAL2014
Management response:Responded August 30, 2016

Many thanks for your feedback and we hope to see you all again soon

Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

What can you expect for its money? Cheap price cheap results.. coke was flat but changed it straight away.

Thank carlsumner1102
Management response:Responded August 30, 2016

Thank you for your feedback

Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

Been a couple of times before and although not the best carvery couldn't complain. Today it was cold. The meat was very dry and veg was tasteless. Drinks are very overpriced and I asked for a black coffee with a drop of cold milk on...More

Thank Susan R
Management response:Responded August 30, 2016

Thank you for your constructive feedback and many apologies that your were unsatisfied

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile

No food left! Only gammon, no sausage, no Yorkshires, dried up and cold veg, pudding arrived v late and only after we reminded them. The most awful entertainment, too loud, talentless - felt like we were in a hi-de-hi movie. Won't be back:(

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:Responded August 30, 2016

Many apologies that you were unsatisfied however we do hope that you will give us another try

Reviewed April 8, 2016 via mobile

Thankyou to the team at the Redcap for their delightful hospitality today. I had a wonderful carvery. The meats were delicious especially the gammon. Chef treated me to a sausage too! Abi made coffees and these were hot and fresh. Thankyou redcaps!!!! 👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

Thank gazellis
Erica B, Manager at Old Mother Redcap, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2016

Thank you for your 5 star review, we look forward to seeing you in the near future

Reviewed March 29, 2016 via mobile

Not really. Been here, our "local" carvery a few times and frankly it appears to be on the slide. The meat on the carvery counter appears to stay there until it is utterly cremated, so timing (a lottery) is crucial. And to echo a previous...More

1  Thank John R
General Manager A, Manager at Old Mother Redcap, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2016

Thank you for your constructive feedback we will look into all points raised

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Stanhill
36 reviews
.84 miles away
Burnley Road Fish & Chips
5 reviews
.62 miles away
O'Marleys Red Lion
225 reviews
.54 miles away
Old Mother Redcap
171 reviews
.60 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Oswaldtwistle Mills
283 reviews
1.85 miles away
Civic Arts a Centre and Theatre
7 reviews
1.73 miles away
Blackburn Cathedral
137 reviews
1.89 miles away
King Georges Hall
80 reviews
2.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Old Mother Redcap staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$4 - $9
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Television
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 9:30 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 9:30 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 9:30 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 9:30 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 9:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Blackburn Road, Blackburn BB1 3LS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Blackburn
  • Phone Number: +44 1254 667272
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing