We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Oyster & Otter

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Livesey Branch Road | Feniscowles, Blackburn BB2 5DQ, England
+44 1254 203200
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

624 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 624: English reviews
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stopped off this weekend while passing through the area with the missus; we have never been before but were reccomended by a local friend- it did not dissapoint! From the warm welcome upon arrival to the friendly goodbye at the end, the place couldn't be faulted. I opted to dine off the specials (Crispy duck pancakes to start followed by... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe L
blackburn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I concur with the previous reviewer. We went last night and the service was awful. We were shown to our table on arrival and that was it for 20 minutes. No one came to us to either take our order or ask if we would like a drink. After 20 minutes had elapsed I went to the bar only to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BlackburnNolberto
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a table ,upon arrival we informed reception ,we were shown to a table got our selfs settled only for the manageress to ask why we're we sat there as the table was for four people who were waiting for their table we felt like criminals who had just walked in and sat down even though we had prebooked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank george b
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We visit the O&O quite regularly, but tonight's service as awful. We waited ten minutes to get a menu and twenty for our drink. We watched the waitress come out with two plates and she went to serve them at three different tables went back to the server then brought them to us, after they had been n everyone's table,... More 

Helpful?
Thank A R
ManagerSPC, Manager at Oyster & Otter, responded to this review

good evening Thanks a lot for your feedback . We are always happy and glad to hear any feedback , whether it be positive or negative . We are obviously very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience on your last visit . I myself was on holiday this weekend , so am disappointed to hear about this... More 

Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I called in on spec for a light bite and a quiet drink in passing. Had a draught beer which was perfectly kept and presented, and cod goujons to snack on. The fish was perfectly cooked, melt in your mouth and bursting with flavour - clearly very fresh! It was presented with a sauce tartar, freshly prepared and very tasty.... More 

Helpful?
Thank L24XAstephenm
ManagerSPC, General Manager at Oyster & Otter, responded to this review

Good evening Thanks for your really positive feedback . We are glad that you enjoyed your visit . We look forward to seeing you again soon hopefully :-) More 

Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This modern pub has been nicely decorated inside and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The menu features fish and seafood and we ordered a starter and two main fish dishes from the specials board. The starter of vietnamese skewers was OK - meat pieces nice and tender -but at £9.50 a throw , we expected better - its... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pete D
ManagerSPC, Manager at Oyster & Otter, responded to this review

Good evening Firstly many thanks for your feedback . We are always happy to hear anything positive and negative , or things that we can improve on . We will be passing on your feedback to the chef team accordingly We do offer a great value offering on a lunch Mon- Sat for only £10.50 with a drink , followed... More 

Todmorden
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

An odd looking place from the outside but it is deceptively spacious inside and a lovely atmosphere. Wood burning stoves and large tables with plenty of space between. Attractive bar area and very comfortable. We chose from the lunchtime menu and had a large piece of haddock each with a Lancashire cheese crumb crust. It came with a light cheese... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnnTodmorden
ManagerSPC, General Manager at Oyster & Otter, responded to this review

Good evening We are very happy to hear that you had a great visit and super experience . We do welcome all feedback , but are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and found us great value. We hope to see you again soon Oyster Team :-) More 

Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arranged my mums wake to be held the O and O. The management were really helpful and opened up early to allow everyone to attend, as this was an early service. Everyone commented on how good the buffet was and the service of the staff. I would recommend a visit to anybody.

Helpful?
3 Thank carolinefox3
ManagerSPC, General Manager at Oyster & Otter, responded to this review

Good afternoon We are obviously very pleased to have met with your expectations on what was obviously a very sad occasion for you and your guests . I hope that we will be able to welcome you again in more happy circumstances in the future Mike and the team More 

heresvillw
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The place is well set out... The food good if often a little too fancy but the service was patchy and very slow. The restaurant was no more than HALF full. Goodness only knows if it had been full!!!!!????!!?!?

Helpful?
Thank deprib
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'm one of those pesky non-meat eating types but I do go in for fish so I enjoy eating here. I went last night with my husband, two children and Nanna and ordered the hake with patatas bravas. The perfect dish for me - lovely fish steak with potatoes and a spicy sauce, yum! However, a couple of bites in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
ManagerSPC, General Manager at Oyster & Otter, responded to this review

Many thanks for the feedback . All feedback is welcome so we are always happy to hear from guests with after their visits . We hope to see you again in the near future Kind Regards Oyster & Otter team More 

Travelers who viewed Oyster & Otter also viewed

 
Blackburn, Lancashire
 
Blackburn, Lancashire
 

Been to Oyster & Otter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Seafood, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Livesey Branch Road | Feniscowles, Blackburn BB2 5DQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Blackburn
  • Phone Number: +44 1254 203200

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Oyster & Otter and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Oyster & Otter staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?