We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aroma Cafe & Secret Garden

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2016, 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
Aroma Café & Secret Garden is a truly unique restaurant on the Costa del Sol. Firstly the restaurant is located in an old house dating to 1872 with many nooks and crannies to discover. Within its walls a whole world opens, starting with arguably Mijas´ most beautiful Andaluz Patio. Follow the Patio to its end and let a whitewashed passage guide you to our gem on the crown, the Secret Garden. Here you will find Mijas as it was a century ago, an enchanted forest of olive, orange, fig and loquat trees. Stroll to the end of this sprawling garden and you will discover an ancient ´water mine´ dating back to the Moorish times. In our garden you will enjoy Argentinean BBQ prepared right before your
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Barbecue, European, Spanish
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi
Reviews (1,272)
Filter reviews
1,005 results
Traveler rating
515
278
97
60
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
515
278
97
60
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak tapas monkfish salad meatballs mixed grill garlic bread pizza chicken crepes fries potatoes argentinian bbq orange trees garden area lovely setting mijas pueblo
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,005 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2018

Had sourced this restaurant before heading to Mijas, were lucky to get a table. Food was nice and enjoyed our evening.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Sunny017
Reviewed November 17, 2018

We ordered the mixed tapas, menu of fish and menu of meat. I should have know it wasn't freshly prepared when it came so soon after ordering. The fish menu was at room temperature when it should have been chilled. I sent the meatballs back...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Casey O
Reviewed November 17, 2018 via mobile

Hyped and oversold. Dirty. Menus soiled. Aggressive waiter Asked fir mix of tapas on special menu. Told that no mixing allowed. Had to have 2 tapas menus Decided to go next door. Wonderful. To be recommended. V clean.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Robert M
EU-Travelwriter, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aroma Cafe & Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2018

hello Robert M I am really sorry you were unhappy with us ,no we do not mix the tapas menus as we have a lot of customers and if everyone did this there would be alot of mistakes being made in our kitchen .Please accept...More

Reviewed October 31, 2018 via mobile

We stopped for lunch at Aroma Café Kids had pizza and pasta, which they enjoyed. Staff paid good attention to their different whishes. We had the 5-tapas menu, not much to complain about. Cosy restaurant, friendly staff. Reasonable prices.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank grahn815
EU-Travelwriter, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aroma Cafe & Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

hello grahn815 Thank you so much for your great review and we are so pleased you had a great stay with us and we hope to see you again very soon . kind regards

Reviewed October 29, 2018 via mobile

We’ve been here several times over the past 4 years and really love it. As it was October I was a little worried about it being chilly but there were blankets and garden heaters which kept us nice and warm. Food was lovely as always...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank clairehR8084SZ
EU-Travelwriter, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aroma Cafe & Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

hello clairehR8084SZ Thank you so much for your review and your return custom over the years , we like to keep our customers cosy and warm as the nights do get colder in october ,so pleased you had a comfortable night with us and we...More

Reviewed October 23, 2018 via mobile

We have been here a few times and the food is average. Don’t know why we were fooled again by the garden. The waiters appear too busy to smile. The garden is lovely but would be better if patio heaters were on in October. You...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank FormbyLiverpool
EU-Travelwriter, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aroma Cafe & Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

hello FormbyLiverpool We are sorry you did not find your time with us satisfactuary , please be assured i will look into all your complaints and i really do hope this does not put you off in the future . kind regards

Reviewed October 22, 2018

What a treat this turned out to be. Looks tiny and dark from outside, but go through the entrance, through the indoor dining, through what is a semi indoor garden and out into a glorious outdoor garden with beautiful trees, groups of tables, a bar...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank lynneb121
EU-Travelwriter, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aroma Cafe & Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

hello lynneb121 Thank you so much for taking time out to write a great review ! We are really happy when our customers are happy ,so really hope to see you again soon on your return trip to mijas . kind regards

Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I visited the secret garden for lunch on 10 Oct. We ordered vegetable paella despite being made aware and it would take 25 minutes to prepare. After 30 minutes our meal arrived. Rice, green beans, with half cooked carrots and courgettes on...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank doug a
EU-Travelwriter, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aroma Cafe & Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

hello Doug A I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal , we prepare the paella fresh this is why it takes time to make , please accept our apoligies . kind regards

Reviewed October 10, 2018

Called in for a snack lunch and chose the crepes which we usually enjoy. My husband’s chicken curry crepe was piping hot and satisfactory. My seafood crepe was sub standard, not hot enough and contained mainly pieces of garishly pink coloured crab sticks which I...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Flora S
EU-Travelwriter, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aroma Cafe & Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

hello Flora S i am so sorry you did not enjoy your crepe , i think i spoke to you after your lunch ,i am so sorry and hope you accept our apoligies and please return we love seeing your lovley smiling face . kind...More

Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

I’d read reviews of this spot and passed by several times. It takes reservations and the secret garden fills up quickly. We showed up spontaneously and were fortunate to get a table. I expected this place to be pretty “white bread” and cater to tourists,...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Houstonalle4food
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 25 nearby hotels
TRH Mijas
1,512 reviews
.34 miles away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
1,050 reviews
1.01 miles away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
1,841 reviews
2.63 miles away
Hotel Monarque Torreblanca
762 reviews
2.83 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 529 nearby restaurants
Chema's Vinoteca
157 reviews
.04 miles away
Casa5
202 reviews
.01 miles away
The Lemon Tree
189 reviews
.05 miles away
La Panaderia de Maria Quero
74 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 111 nearby attractions
Adventure Rider Centre
177 reviews
.07 miles away
Tuk Tuk Spain
530 reviews
.10 miles away
Centro de Artes Mijas
406 reviews
.14 miles away
Museo Historico-Etnologico
113 reviews
.04 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Angus F
September 20, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from HelenM460 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, best to contact restaurant direct
0
Votes
MrsSlater-Walker
July 2, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Logan N | Reviewed this property |
According to the menu online, they do not serve tapas in the evening, only at lunch.
0
Votes
judithhodgson
January 14, 2018|
Answer
Response from Frédéric A | Reviewed this property |
nous sommes le 15 avril 2018 et c'est ouvert .
0
Votes
Google Translation
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing