We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Clocher

14 Place Carnot | 14 Place Carnot, 17590 Ars-en-Re, Ile de Re, France
+33 5 46 29 41 20
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good46%
  • Average20%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible7%
Jun 14, 2017
“Pleasant restaurant on the main square opposite the church”
Aug 21, 2017
“Two excellent evenings in one week.”
Open Now
7:30 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
French, Gastropub, European
$$ - $$$
14 Place Carnot | 14 Place Carnot, 17590 Ars-en-Re, Ile de Re, France
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 42 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2017

Great food and wine for your money. Although the place is not so small, there is a cosy atmosphere. Since it is located in the center, and the terrace is surrounded by windshields, you are not bothered by the wind, which can be annoying for...More

Thank Jan C
Chaduval, Propriétaire at Le Clocher, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017

Many thanks !!!

Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

Went here for an evening meal. On arrival there were only tables inside - this was OK to start with when the room was mostly empty but as it filled up the lack of windows meant it got really hot and stuffy. However the biggest...More

Thank Chris M
Reviewed June 14, 2017

We ate lunch in this restaurant. Food was very good. One can park right outside. Again we enjoyed seafood and the service was good.

Thank angelahounam
leclocher17590, Propriétaire at Le Clocher, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2017

Many thanks !!

Reviewed May 1, 2017

We had a really good time staying here. The staff were very friendly, the food was great if a little pricey - but the rooms are very good value. There is free parking a short walk away, and free overnight parking just opposite. The square...More

Thank Jasleenks
leclocher17590, Propriétaire at Le Clocher, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2017

Many thanks !!

Reviewed September 22, 2016

We admittedly chose the cheaper menu at I think 29 euros. We had sardines as entree, not fresh but from a bought tin, presented with the tin on top, and then grilled fish, which seemed as though they were cooked a day or two ago,...More

Thank I0W
Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

Went here with the kids. My wife took the mussels nature, I took the mixed fish plancha and the kids the fishsoup. The fishsoup was the best thing on the table. (Not homemade). The mussels were to really good (strange taste, strange spices) and the...More

Thank Lodeponcelet
leclocher17590, Propriétaire at Le Clocher, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2016

we're really sorry if you were disapointed.

Reviewed August 22, 2016

We had made a reservation for 2 people in person, the day before as we travel with a little dog and wanted to be sure we had a quiet table with some space in order not to disturd other people on the terrace. We arrived...More

1  Thank Patsy M
Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile

The restaurant is also an hotel. It is located on a very nice central place of Ars-en-Ré in front of the church. There are lots of parking place just in front. It looks like a touristic restaurant, but it has a lot of character. We...More

Thank Pichtee
leclocher17590, Propriétaire at Le Clocher, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2016

Many thanks for your compliments.

Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

The children's food was disappointing. For the adults, a tough, fatty steak for €21. Only the salad was really up to much. Slow service. You get better value (and food) at tourist traps in London.

1  Thank Matthew G
Reviewed June 19, 2016

In the US, so many of our restaurants have TV’s (something we don’t like most of the time and avoid those kind of spots). However, every now and then, you need a spot with a big screen TV. And that is not so easy to...More

Thank austinjjc
Chaduval, Propriétaire at Le Clocher, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2016

Many thanks !!

Nearby HotelsSee all 43 hotels in Ile de Re
Hotel Le Clocher
118 reviews
.00 miles away
Hotel Le Senechal
214 reviews
.05 miles away
Cote Thalasso Ile de Re
499 reviews
.62 miles away
Le Martray
94 reviews
1.45 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Au Gouter Breton
187 reviews
.17 miles away
O de Mer
249 reviews
.03 miles away
Restaurant Le Grenier a Sel
386 reviews
.19 miles away
Chez Remi
90 reviews
.20 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Clocher d'Ars
51 reviews
.03 miles away
Les Cycles N
45 reviews
.11 miles away
82 reviews
.21 miles away
Le Manege en Chanteur de Donin
16 reviews
.25 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Le Clocher staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
$22 - $43
French, Gastropub, European
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Open Hours
7:30 AM - 11:00 PM
7:30 AM - 11:00 PM
7:30 AM - 11:00 PM
7:30 AM - 11:00 PM
7:30 AM - 11:00 PM
7:30 AM - 11:00 PM
7:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 14 Place Carnot | 14 Place Carnot, 17590 Ars-en-Re, Ile de Re, France
  • Location: Europe  >  France  >  Nouvelle-Aquitaine  >  Charente-Maritime  >  Ile de Re  >  Ars-en-Re
  • Phone Number: +33 5 46 29 41 20
  • E-mail
Located on the site of the Church of Ars en Re, Le Clocher allows you to be in the heart of town retais (Ars is part of the most beautiful villages in France!). Menu from 18 €, fish, seafood, lobsters, large salads .. The Clocher's menu is varied and all of our cooking recipes is "Fait Maison" (Home made). Taken over 5 years ago by Charline and Xavier Duval, Le Clocher is now a place recommended by retais and appreciated by summer visitors.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing