We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
American
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Highchairs Available
View all details
features, about
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveler rating
128
121
25
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
128
121
25
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews apple donuts steak and cheese sandwich pulled pork sandwiches fritters soft ice cream beans cole slaw cheesesteak country store skyline drive fun gift shop apple picking great apple hot sauce general store shenandoah national park
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came on Sunday morning, 10/18, to grab some doughnuts and breakfast sandwiches. There was a small line, so we didn’t think it would take 30 minutes to get our sandwiches. Biggest complaints are the not very personable woman operating the register not wearing a mask...and a teenage boy in a gaiter preparing food and constantly pulling his gaiter down to eat and drink while preparing food and not changing gloves. Gross at any time, but especially with covid. There was older gentleman who worked there walking around with no mask, rubbing his face repeatedly while making coffee. By the time we left the line was to the door. NOT worth the wait or risk of getting sick.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed October 11, 2020

After a long day of hiking in Shenandoah National Park this was the perfect place to come for a reprieve. Cute little shop with excellent little restaurant. Burgers were delicious as was the ranch potato salad. Loved the Brunswick stew and chicken noodle soup. But...the real stand out was the apple cider donut. So soft and melt in your mouth. Like eating an apple and cinnamon cloud.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 22, 2020 via mobile

Hi. We have eaten dinner/lunch hear a few times. Very good food, & excellent service. Very good donuts as well.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 7, 2020

I never thought I'd find pork rinds better than those at Shealey's in Batesburg-Leesville, SC. I was wrong! They'e nearby in Linden, VA! A much shorter drive! In addition, to echo others, the apple fritters are excellent. Also, check out the store. All sorts of...hot sauces and other goodies! This place makes a nice stop if you're going to/from Skyline Drive, the caverns, Shenandoah National Park, etc. The only downers were that the service is a bit slow and the parking lot maneuvering can be a bit dicey! Summation: Stop here!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 18, 2020 via mobile

We stopped here on our way to Skyline Drive to see the comet. My wife had the BLT, my son The Virginian (ham & cheese) and I the pulled pork. All were very good, we got it to go and made our way up to...the visitors center on Skyline Drive.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed June 29, 2020

We stopped for lunch twice while in the area. The staff were all friendly and service good. The steak and cheese sandwich was very good. Highly recommend the apple donuts and apple fritters.

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 15, 2020

They have a restaurant, bakery, souvenir shop, and pub all in the same building. We stopped by, on our way home, just to pick up their donuts but will return to this area soon to try their food menu and pub.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 11, 2020

Went to lunch here soon after I moved to the area but I won't bother again. I did not care for the barbecue sandwich (barbecue is one of their highlighted items). Sauce was too tangy for me. My daughter had a steak sandwich and she...didn't like hers either. The real spoiler though was the apple cider doughnut. It tasted like lighter fluid coated in sugar. I don't know, maybe I just don't like cider, but these were terrible.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
KatieT793, Owner at The Apple House, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2020

We are very sorry you were not satisfied with your visit! We hope you will consider another visit with different menu items. Everyone has their favorite BBQ’s and maybe we were not a match. I don’t have any reason for the donuts tasting like that-...More

Reviewed February 9, 2020 via mobile

The Apple House has a little bit of everything you could want. They have great catering, private events, and a food truck. Fast food to go or sit down, they serve breakfast, lunch and dinner, there is a store with local merchandise, and a decent...choice of local craft beers. Conveniently located right off a main exit so they cant be missed! I'd suggest giving them a try if you're in the area.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 23, 2020

There are two eating areas: a restaurant to the right when you walk in and a "cafe" to the left where you order from the counter. Try the Brunswick Stew--it's delicious. There sandwiches are delicious also. The eating areas have different menus.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Baymont by Wyndham Front Royal Near Shenandoah National Park
427 reviews
4.56 miles away
Super 8 by Wyndham Front Royal
380 reviews
4.93 miles away
Center City Motel
4 reviews
4.99 miles away
Royal Inn Motel
61 reviews
5.05 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Element
272 reviews
4.77 miles away
L Dee's Pancake House
187 reviews
4.66 miles away
Po' Green's Southern Food & BBQ
93 reviews
4.50 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Fox Meadow Winery
79 reviews
3.34 miles away
Front Royal Visitors Center
213 reviews
4.76 miles away
Linden Vineyards
121 reviews
2.80 miles away
Marriott Ranch Trail Barn
5 reviews
4.63 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
woodwca
November 20, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from M7286DUdanm | Reviewed this property |
No need for reservations .Weekends are very busy.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing