We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Green Man

Stanford Road, Stanford, Biggleswade SG18 9JD, England
+44 1462 812293
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good28%
  • Average12%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible13%
Travelers talk about
“sunday roast” (17 reviews)
“steak” (22 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Stanford Road, Stanford, Biggleswade SG18 9JD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just stayed for one night and would never stay again. Check in involved going into he bar and a young woman giving me a key to a “chalet” at the side of the pub The room was shabby and unpleasant. Awful carpet and furniture with...More

Thank LisaStevie
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really impressed with the pub and the service. We booked for a birthday party (18 people), and after pre ordering the food in advance, it all went smoothly. Friendly staff, and good value, tasty food. Would definitely visit again.

Thank Emma W
Reviewed March 19, 2018 via mobile

May I kindly ask that you stop allocating room 1 to guests. Having refurbed a lot of the other rooms, this one is dreadful. -Heating was so insufficient I had to move the bed next to the radiator -Having moved the bed it had clearly...More

Thank LeeDerby
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

The rooms in the court yard are on the long list of refurbishments that need to be done here at the Green Man. If you are a regular stay perhaps, you could phone before hand and request a different room. Your comments have been noted...More

Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

I went to The Green Man Stanford as an overnight Bed and Breakfast guest. The room itself was beautiful. It had been newly decorated, was warm and comfortable. I was awoken multiple times in the night by loud banging sounds. No idea what that was!...More

Thank CurlyTami
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I cannot understand why you were told breakfast was served at 7.30 as all our staff know that weekends the time is 8-9.30 this is also written on the information sheet in the rooms. We have on occasion had t.v. remotes taken from the rooms...More

Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

My old school friend and I met for lunch here and we had the best meal ever, I had a delicious steak and ale pie and my friend had chicken in a cider sauce which she enjoyed. We both had a gorgeous sweet. We will...More

Thank Deborah J
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review and your comments will be passed on to our staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed March 14, 2018

My wife and I work really hard and between juggling work and our young family, and we don’t get a lot of time to spend together. So when we found that we had some rare unscheduled spare time today, we went to the Green Man...More

Thank Greedyhayes
Mark A, General Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

This is disappointing, not only to you but to us here at the green man as we are not in this business to make our guests feel cheated. We have taken your comments on board and try to rectify the problems you pointed out.

Reviewed March 12, 2018 via mobile

Five adults and 2 children for a Mother’s Day meal. We had starters , main, and dessert from the Mother’s Day menu. All the food we had was really lovely and presented really well. All was cooked to perfection and served in a timely manner...More

Thank Elvira R
Mark A, General Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

Thank you for such a great review and may i apologise for the bumping into your wife but your correct it was extremely busy. We will pass your comments on to our staff and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

Extremely disappointing and inadequate service. Wife phoned to reserve table for Mother’s Day on 27th February, called this morning to confirm time and no record of call nor booking. Won’t be going there again and will not recommend....much better options available anyway.More

Thank dobboseville
Mark A, General Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

We recall your telephone conversation, unfortunately you couldn't specify which name you had booked under or what time it was booked for,just as i was being called over to offer alternatives you had hung up. We are pleased you found a room at another restaurant...More

Reviewed March 9, 2018 via mobile

This wasn't our intended destination but definitely somewhere we will return to. At first glance the menu seemed expensive, but then we saw the offers for lunch (please see photo). I do wish we had taken pictures before tucking in. We both chose to eat...More

Thank MumofThor
Mark A, General Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

Tank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review, your comments will be passed on to our kitchen staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed February 16, 2018

We went for an early evening family meal and the service was good and quick. The menu was extensive and catered for all. The haddock was excellent. An open fire added to the comfort on a fairly cold evening in February.

Thank John S
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2018

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit here at the Green Man and we hope to see you again soon

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Stanford Hotels
The Airman Hotel
196 reviews
2.18 miles away
Champneys Henlow
1,964 reviews
2.24 miles away
The Crown Hotel
53 reviews
2.87 miles away
Stratton House Hotel
172 reviews
3.03 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Cock at Broom
67 reviews
1.38 miles away
Shefford Tandoori
392 reviews
1.60 miles away
The Five Bells
331 reviews
1.81 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Hoo Hill Maze
14 reviews
1.93 miles away
Champneys Henlow Spa
301 reviews
2.20 miles away
The Shuttleworth Collection
438 reviews
2.40 miles away
Woburn Abbey and Gardens
731 reviews
2.41 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Carol H
March 6, 2018|
Answer
Response from John S | Reviewed this property |
I was a customer so your question is best answered by contacting the restaurant direct.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$10 - $27
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Monday
12:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
12:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
12:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
12:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
12:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stanford Road, Stanford, Biggleswade SG18 9JD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Biggleswade  >  Stanford
  • Phone Number: +44 1462 812293
  • E-mail
Description
Our Old English Restaurant with its oak beams, inglenook fireplace in our front bar and new log burner in our eating lounge room area which is very popular with our patrons especially in our winter months. Good quality meals are enjoyed in comfortable surroundings with a choice of our Chef's Specialities on the A La Carte menu. Our ever popular Sunday roast lunches are available from 12 noon.The restaurant seats approximately 150 guests and bookings for parties both large and small can be catered for. This includes weddings, see our wedding package on our website. You will receive a warm welcome if you choose full meal or a just drink at the bar. We have now launched our new senior citizens menu, two courses for £7.95 And three courses for £9.95. We also have a lunch deal available to all ages, this includes two course for £9.95 or three course for £11.95. We have also just launched our Christmas 2016 menu which is also available to view on our web site
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing