We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

The Shebeen Pub & Braai

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
247 Ridge McIntire Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22903-5043 (West Main St)
7:00 am - 2:00 am
Open now
All hours
Sun 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Mon - Thu 7:00 am - 12:30 pm
Fri 7:00 am - 2:00 am
Sat 8:00 am - 2:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

280 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 279: English reviews
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Where to begin? Our family like this restaurant, and visited regularly over the years, but tonight was a disaster. The waiter misunderstood my husband's order and wound up bringing him sides with no main course. When we asked about the missing dinner, his attitude was snippy and aggressive. Service was slow, and eye contact avoided. He never asked if everything... More 

Thank Georgia C
WalterSlawski, Owner at The Shebeen Pub & Braai, responded to this review

I'm certainly disappointed to hear this, Georgia, as I know that you guys have consistently enjoyed our restaurant over the years. Do you remember which day you dined with us? As you know, this type of service isn't like us at all. We're typically on top of our games when it comes to executing orders, and any misunderstanding should have... More 

north yorks
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

found this by accident had a drink then returned for amazing dinner . husband had curried corn chowder says best soup ever had then chicken piri piri very good i had salmon good and excellant pud drinks good . wished we were there 2 nights

Thank alfie08
WalterSlawski, Owner at The Shebeen Pub & Braai, responded to this review

I'm so glad you happened upon our spot, Alfie! It's great to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your meals with us. It sounds like you both ordered well -- the corn chowder and chicken piri piri are both major favorites around here. That said, I sure hope you'll join us again next time you're in the area! All... More 

Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Looking for something different for lunch and found this restaurant using Trip Advisor. Had the seafood soup & vegetarian cakes. Both were made from scratch & full of flavor. Wasn't sure what to expect from this type of cuisine, but it left me intrigued and will want to go back & try more items on the menu. Only disappointment was... More 

Thank Cwagnerz
WalterSlawski, Owner at The Shebeen Pub & Braai, responded to this review

Cheers to your adventurous spirit! We're thrilled you had a chance to come by and give us a try, and of course we look forward to hearing your thoughts on the rest of our menu. We'll be sure to do better service-wise as well, but I appreciate you not letting that keep you from a repeat visit. See you next... More 

Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I love this restaurant because it's a unique experience and the food is really delicious!! Be careful though of what you order because there is a lot of spicy items....just ask the waiter or waitress beforehand.

Thank ms22489
WalterSlawski, Owner at The Shebeen Pub & Braai, responded to this review

We are overjoyed to hear how much you enjoy eating here at The Shebeen! We make it our mission to provide a wonderfully compelling dining experience for our customers each and every time they stop by, so it means a lot to us that we've earned your praises. Whether it's for a spicy dish or otherwise, we hope to welcome... More 

Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2016

We went to The Shebeen with our family and a few friends, The service was excellent, the food delicious, fragrant and fresh. We were pleased all-around!

Thank h_sheehan
WalterSlawski, Owner at The Shebeen Pub & Braai, responded to this review

Sounds like we could make your visit here a special one, and that's exactly what I love to see. Thank you so much for your wonderful review -- we hope you'll come back again someday soon. Best, Walter, Owner More 

Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2016

Excellent food based on South African food with British and regional twist. Imagine British or Irish food enhanced with spices or recipes from the horn of Africa.

Thank Flyerboy172
WalterSlawski, Owner at The Shebeen Pub & Braai, responded to this review

Well I'm certainly glad you're a fan of our flavors! We've worked meticulously to ensure each and every dish we have on our menu is truly excellent, and we hope to have a chance to serve you again soon. Thanks, Walter, Owner More 

Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2016

My sister from out of town took me here for a birthday dinner and we were looking forward to what we both hoped would be a lovely meal. We were very disappointed. The service was inattentive at best and non-existent at worst. Even though the restaurant was mostly empty, with only two other occupied tables, servers - especially ours -... More 

Thank Abaco64
WalterSlawski, Owner at The Shebeen Pub & Braai, responded to this review

Well I'm certainly disappointed we couldn't deliver a wonderful dining experience for you and your sister during your birthday meal. I know how frustrating it is to look forward to an excellent meal only to be let down, so you have my sincerest apologies. With that said, the miscues that you described are definitely uncharacteristic of a visit here at... More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2016

My four-year old daughter and I had dinner at Shebeen. We sat inside, but Shebeen has outdoor dining available. She had the grilled gouda sandwich while I ordered the Thelma-Jean (Rack of lamb complemented with basmati rice and a house salad). While not the best rack of lamb, the $29 was a very good value. Service was good, but not... More 

Thank Matthew C
WalterSlawski, Owner at The Shebeen Pub & Braai, responded to this review

So glad you and your daughter could drop by for dinner, Matthew. Although we're glad you enjoyed our service and our value, we know we can do an even better job next time, so please give us another chance to do so! Thanks, Walter, Owner More 

Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2016 via mobile

My mother had been here once before & asked me to bring her here for a birthday lunch. Little did I know I'd discover a new favorite place. The food & service were both top of the line, & the seating was excellent. Everything looked marvelous & tasted even better. The bathrooms are also very clean, another plus. All in... More 

Thank UnorthodoxDreams
WalterSlawski, Owner at The Shebeen Pub & Braai, responded to this review

At the end of the day, we're just glad to have been able to be a part of something special. Tell your mother Happy Birthday for us once again, and whether it's for a celebration or not, we look forward to welcoming you back in again next time. Warmest regards, Walter, Owner More 

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I have been to Shebeen on a number of occasions and have always been very satisfied with the food and atmosphere. On our most recent visit we were made to stand for about 20 minutes before being seated, despite having reservations. The hostess was very apologetic, our server was great and despite the minor set back we... More 

Thank Rory M
WalterSlawski, Owner at The Shebeen Pub & Braai, responded to this review

We're always grateful for you and your wife's support, Rory. I apologize for this recent incident with your table, but as you know, we will do everything we can to correct our mistakes, and I'm truly glad you could overlook this small setback and enjoy your evening with us. See you next time, Thanks, Walter, Owner More 

Travelers who viewed The Shebeen Pub & Braai also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA

Been to The Shebeen Pub & Braai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$30 - $30
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Open Hours
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
7:00 am - 12:30 pm
7:00 am - 12:30 pm
7:00 am - 12:30 pm
7:00 am - 12:30 pm
7:00 am - 2:00 am
8:00 am - 2:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 247 Ridge McIntire Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22903-5043
    (West Main St)
  • Location: United States  >  Virginia (VA)  >  Charlottesville
  • Phone Number: 14342963185
The Shebeen Pub & Braai is our little piece of Africa in the heart of downtown Charlottesville! Our Shebeen, styled after the Cape wineries, offers unique food in an engaging setting. At The Shebeen Pub & Braai we present you with South African hospitality. Our menu reflects the multiculturalism of the Southern African palate. From spicy African peri-peri sauce and Dutch farmer's Boer sausage to pub-style fish 'n chips, you will explore a cuisine of surprising diversity. Allow us to host your next dinner party, or simply meet your mates in the pub for a pint. We will blend exceptional fare with a comprehensive event planning and management if you're interested in our catering services. Our commitment to local and seasonal ingredients and our passion for special events, allows us to do what we love every day. We look forward to having you at The Shebeen Pub & Braai!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Shebeen Pub & Braai and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Charlottesville, VA
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Shebeen Pub & Braai staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?