We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
It all started on a sunny September day in 2010… We opened the very first Ford’s Fish Shack in Ashburn, VA. The concept for the restaurant was simple: Create a comfortable and friendly fish shack like the many that are scattered along the New England coast. We envisioned a neighborhood restaurant with an outstanding seafood selection served by remarkably friendly staff and we knew we had to serve the freshest fish, lobstah, and Ipswich clams. So with a vision, some of the best seafood we could find, and twenty-four like-minded employees, we courageously set out to amaze whomever we had the privilege to serve.
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
CUISINES
American, Seafood
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveler rating
167
113
24
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
167
113
24
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oysters steamers crab legs deviled eggs fries pasta tacos new england seafood place an appetizer the food is great maine appetizers slaw
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took daughter and grandkids for dinner. We sat outdoors on a covered patio with side panels open. Service was good and food is pretty typical for a family seafood place.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
fordsfishshack, Owner at Ford's Fish Shack South Riding, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

DarrenL639, thanks for the great review here on TA. We appreciate you bringing the family to come see us. Hope to serve you again soon on our covered, heated patio area.

Reviewed April 24, 2021 via mobile

I was asked to meet here for a late business lunch (1:00-ish) as it is relatively close to my office on Friday 4/23/21. There were other guests when we arrived but far from “busy”. This was my first time at a Ford’s Fish Shack We...were seated right away. Service was painfully slow for a weekday late lunch. I found my self constantly checking my watch because I was anxious to eat & return to work. Our server apologized towards the end of our lunch telling us she enjoyed chatting it up with guests and she lost track of time. My host & I split an order of their deviled eggs which were good as an appetizer and I had the fried cod sandwich which was underwhelming and mushy. When we finally got out of there I headed back to my office off of Pleasant Valley drive a few miles away. While headed back to my office, I suddenly felt the pangs of urgency. Thank goodness it was a short drive because when I got to my office I had explosive diarrhea the rest of the day. My co-workers kept asking me if I was ok due to my constant trips to the restroom. That was embarrassing. By evening, things were back to normal. All I know is, I do not have a sensitive or weak stomach and have an extensive dietary palate - however...... I eat & enjoy eggs & seafood weekly. I’m not accusing this restaurant of anything, just sharing my experience. I definitely will not be returning.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
fordsfishshack, Marketing at Ford's Fish Shack South Riding, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2021

Chneff, thanks for this important feedback. I am going to pass this on to the management so that we can make sure sure this never happens again. We take this very seriously and do apologize.

Reviewed March 19, 2021 via mobile

I called in a curbside order of fish and chips with malt vinegar on the side and utensils as I had none , I was told it would be ready in 25-30 minutes. I arrived 30 minutes later , I called and was informed it...would be right out . Ten minutes later it was at my car door . I drove 2 miles and opened my bag and found no utensils, 1 packet of ketchup ,1 packet of malt vinegar ,no napkins and the food was stone cold I mean not even close to lukewarm . I was very hungry and unable to return to the restaurant so I ate like a savage with my fingers . The fish was pretty good cold I can only imagine how good it would be when heated , the fries were shoestring style and way too cold to eat even though a generous amount was served , the coleslaw that came with it was very good but I wish there was more than 3 fork fulls , I’m guessing because there was no fork . I have been to other locations and have been very happy with the service and food . I don’t know what happened here .More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
fordsfishshack, Owner at Ford's Fish Shack South Riding, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2021

Midnight Rambler, I am so very sorry to hear this. I have passed this on to my the managers there so that we can ensure this does NOT happen next time. I really apologize about this.

Reviewed December 30, 2020

Amazing I love the food there I had halibut and the waiting wasn’t too bad overall the food there was really really good I loved it if you’re in the Chantilly area and you’re hoping for some seafood definitely pay fords fish shack a visit

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
fordsfishshack, Public Relations Manager at Ford's Fish Shack South Riding, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2021

Thanks for the great feedback and nice review Brendan! Happy to hear you enjoyed your Halibut. Come again soon!

Reviewed May 24, 2020 via mobile

This is what we got for our $33, including tip: a small handful of cold fries, 3 fried scallops missing most of their batter, 5 chewy fried clams. 2 were super small. The girl take out server was FOUL. She forgot us on hold the...first time we called our order in and we had to call back. Despite express instructions, we received no napkins or forks etc. Empty bag. I have been trying to support places like this but NEVER AGAIN.More

Date of visit: May 2020
Helpful?2  
fordsfishshack, Public Relations Manager at Ford's Fish Shack South Riding, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2021

Sorry to hear this ExriGuy! We have definitely improved our to go curbside and delivery options since your last review. Hope you will give us another try. Thanks for the support.

Reviewed March 7, 2020

Heard about this place from alot of folks and they all said this place was great. So finally i decided to try it out. I was disappointed. First we stood for about 5 minutes to be seated. There no waiting but all the staff just...ignore us. Finally we got seated. The waiter was good but the space between the tables is tight. I had the famous fish and chips. The fish was rubbery. Wasnt impressed. Wife liked her food.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
fordsfishshack, Public Relations Manager at Ford's Fish Shack South Riding, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2021

Matt, thanks for taking the time to share this feedback with us. I'm sorry you were dissapointed. Our fish and chips have been our top selling item since 2010 so sorry to hear you had a different opinion. Hope you will come give us another...More

Reviewed February 23, 2020 via mobile

We were truck shopping and wanted to have dinner afterwards. Trip Advisor brought this place up. We were skeptical as we erroneously thought it was a local restaurant in a run down building along RT 50 but TA reviews were excellent so we drove over....Definitely not the “ shack” we thought. New clean well laid out in a new shopping center. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Menu extensive, we had crab/ lobster appetizer, fried platter and fish tacos. Server was attentive but not intrusive. My tacos were excellent, blackened cod and very tasty. Wife’s fried platter was huge and also excellent. Prices very reasonable especially for serving size. Fish was clearly fresh and done just right. Cole slaw was hand made with some unique flavors. Restroom clean with very unique hand sanitizer dispenser in door handle so easy to sanitize hands on way out ! Nice touch in a nice place. We’ll be backMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
fordsfishshack, Public Relations Manager at Ford's Fish Shack South Riding, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2021

Thanks for review Horsehusband2017. Happy to hear it wasn't the shack you were expecting. :) Happy to hear you'll be back, we can't wait to serve you again.

Reviewed January 29, 2020 via mobile

Visited restaurant with my daughter and we we promptly greeted and seated. We enjoyed a dozen oysters along with a bowl of clam chowder. Parking can be difficult but there is additional parking in the rear of the building.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
fordsfishshack, Public Relations Manager at Ford's Fish Shack South Riding, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2021

Diane A, thanks for the great feedback. Appreciate you and your detailed review. Glad you could find parking okay!

Reviewed January 28, 2020 via mobile

My wife and I were visiting the area and choose this restaurant from the TA reviews. It was a home run! From the oysters, seafood, service and ambiance it was impressive. Our waitress Shelly was perfect - she gave us the time we needed and...had some great recommendations.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
fordsfishshack, Owner at Ford's Fish Shack South Riding, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2021

Tom, we love hosting you and you wife. Thanks for listening to the good reviews and giving us a shot. Thanks for this review! I love it when we get reviews that share specific positive feedback about our staff members by name. I love to...More

Reviewed January 24, 2020

crab legs are waaay overpriced......ordered 2 lbs at MP and when the bill arrived and I was SHOCKED. 79.99 for 2 lbs of crab legs. shame on me for not asking, shame on Ford's for charging that much!More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
fordsfishshack, Owner at Ford's Fish Shack South Riding, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2021

Malinda, thanks for the feedback. We get our seafood freshly fished and delivered to us from the best local fisherman with the best deals we negotiate ourselves. These deals allow us to have large portion sizes and the freshest quality food. In addition, our prices...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Home2 Suites by Hilton Chantilly Dulles Airport
84 reviews
1.05 miles away
Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South
901 reviews
3.95 miles away
Residence Inn by Marriott Chantilly Dulles South
134 reviews
4.52 miles away
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
231 reviews
4.57 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Kirin Asian Cafe
37 reviews
.82 miles away
Wong Kok
22 reviews
.83 miles away
Bonchon Chicken - South Riding, VA
10 reviews
.06 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
South Riding Golf Club
7 reviews
1.53 miles away
Cox Farms
136 reviews
3.43 miles away
Regal Cinemas Fox 16 & IMAX
11 reviews
4.15 miles away
Steven F Udvar-Hazy Center
4,401 reviews
4.28 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Beverly W
October 11, 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from CLB2001 | Reviewed this property |
I agree with Buffaloman's assessment. Traffic will more than likely be horrible, so I would wait until at least 5:30 pm, maybe even 6:00 pm for your dinner reservation, just to be on the safe side.
1
Vote
GrandmaLouie
March 16, 2015|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Gayle Y | Reviewed this property |
Hello! Sorry I just saw your question. They are not open until 3:30 pm today. Sorry.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ford's Fish Shack South Riding

Yes, Ford's Fish Shack South Riding offers takeout services.

Ford's Fish Shack South Riding is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4