We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YE OLDE TAVERN

5183 Main St, Route 7a, Manchester, VT 05255-9772
+1 802-362-0611
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good24%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“pot roast” (117 reviews)
“apple butter” (129 reviews)
“fritters” (54 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5183 Main St, Route 7a, Manchester, VT 05255-9772
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

if you like 3000 calorie appetizers this place is for you, I mean holy sh.. their mushroom mac and & cheese is death on a plate, really helpful to get you close to a heart attack, I mean they should warn you about dishes like...More

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank renidany
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded today

Ye Olde Tavern is proud of its history, service and, yes, the food. We have never had a review like yours and feel that it is unfair. Our Menu is very clear with regards to describing each and every appetizer, entree and dessert. Dishes like...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

The food was delicious, high quality, and their menu has many unique options including some for vegetarians. You start with bread and butter, and cranberry fritters with maple butter!!! Those were amazing. The food came out hot and so fresh. We got the sirloin with...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank austynd2017
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We cannot thank you enough for dining with us and taking the time to write a review. Highlighting our historic atmosphere, the professionalism of our team, & our delicious food means the world to us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Have not had anything we didn't like. The food is comfort food and very very good. During holidays and weekends you would likely need a reservation for dinner. It is a place we return to EVERY TIME we are in the area and our whole...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank NJLor
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We are delighted to hear that each and every one of your visits to Ye Olde Tavern has been exceptional. It is truly an honor to be a place that you consistently come to because you expect and receive delicious food! We are thrilled that...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The ambiance is great. The food is questionable. Very disappointed. $36 for a fillet mignon that was clearly precooked and reheated, I’ve never had such a rough and dry cut of meat. The drinks were basically robitussin. If you like history go for it, if...More

Date of visit: January 2019
3  Thank BookOwls
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We agree 'the ambiance is great.'. More importantly, over the past 18 years we have had over 1,200 TripAdvisor reviews. Over that period we have had a total of 14 one star reviews. This certainly speaks positively about the food, service and ambiance of Ye...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

One day a month in the winter Ye Old Tavern turns off the lights and dinner is by candlelight. It was a snowy night and the evening was perfect. The lobster Mac and cheese was fantastic, the waitress was very friendly. I would definitely return.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank paigekm
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're thrilled you were able to partake in our Candlelight Dinner Series and enjoyed a "perfect evening". We would love to serve you again in the future. Cheers! Michael

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The menu is traditional and the food is very good. The staff is friendly, and the experience is different depending on which room you sit in. We’ve eaten here before and enjoy it. You need to like the feeling of an old in your house.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank famtravlesny
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

1st review of 2019... thank you! We are happy to hear you've enjoyed your dining experiences at our historic tavern. Your support means a lot to us. We look forward to many more. Cheers! Michael

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If I was a Don Draper in the 1950s, I may have loved this kitsch restaurant. I am not, and it is 2018. Average food, average service, “choice” steaks, bad cocktail list and old ambiance give this place a 3 rating. My grandmother would love...More

Date of visit: December 2018
3  Thank petercbowman
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Peter, We are proud to say that "Ye Olde Tavern is your Grandmother's restaurant". In this day and age, people get so caught up in what is hot today, they forget what they grew up loving. We are that throwback restaurant, tweaked to today's palate....More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very quaint historical tavern with hearty menu choices. My wife had the pot roast which was very good .I had the Tom Turkey which was disappointing. The turkey was not freshly roasted but rather a re-heat or turkey roll type product. Maybe just a poor...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank capecodangler2016
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you dining with us and letting us know about your evening. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the atmosphere and the service. We are pleased that your wife loved her dinner but surprised that you felt the turkey was not fresh. Our turkey is...More

Reviewed December 13, 2018

We were seated in the room that had the original floors and fireplace. Combined with the candlelight, it was a romantic atmosphere. The food was great as was the service. My wife does not eat gluten and they were extremely accommodating, double-checking on orders to...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank asg19
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2018

Thank you for the 5* review! We're so happy that you found the food, service and ambiance to be top-notch. We strive to make our guests' dining experience enjoyable for everyone, so it there is a dietary restriction, it is usually not a problem. Looking...More

Reviewed December 11, 2018

Located near the center of town, this rustic restaurant built in 1790 could not have a better atmosphere complete with a wood-burning fireplace. We were able to walk to it from our suite at the Palmer House next door. And guess what? The food is...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Joehawk400
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2018

Thank you so very much for the lovely review. I'm delighted to know you enjoyed your evening at our historic tavern. Until your next visit, cheers and Happy Holidays! Michael

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Manchester
Palmer House
423 reviews
.17 miles away
Aspen at Manchester
159 reviews
.49 miles away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
240 reviews
.62 miles away
Casablanca Motel
241 reviews
.67 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Zoey’s Deli & Bakery
142 reviews
.39 miles away
Mrs. Murphy's Donuts
143 reviews
.31 miles away
Cilantro Taco
250 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Comollo Antiques
7 reviews
.47 miles away
Tilting at Windmills Gallery
5 reviews
.43 miles away
Amanda Birch Seed to Skin
10 reviews
.10 miles away
Epoch - 18 Vermont Artisans
27 reviews
.25 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
roadtrip815
January 15, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from TheTavernCrier | Property representative |
Thank you for the inquiry about shipping our maple butter. Unfortunately we do not ship it, do the fact of the weight and that it would have to be next day air. If you are ever in the area and it is before opening time, we... More
0
Votes
Amy E
September 10, 2017|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from TheTavernCrier | Property representative |
Thank you for the inquiry about the historic Ye Olde Tavern. Our Early Bird Menu is offered Sunday-Friday from 5:00-5:59pm (you just need to be in the building by this time). It is not available during peak periods, such... More
1
Vote
NewtownBobby
October 19, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TheTavernCrier | Property representative |
We just got your message. As we focus our energy to our guests, we check TripAdvisor every other day and do not accept reservations or table requests via online websites. I just looked in the reservation computer and did... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$19 - $34
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5183 Main St, Route 7a, Manchester, VT 05255-9772
  • Location: United States  >  Vermont (VT)  >  Green Mountains  >  Manchester
  • Phone Number: +1 802-362-0611
  • E-mail
Description
Ye Olde Tavern is open daily... Cocktails start at 4:30pm and Dinner is from 5:00pm with last seating at 9:00pm. Reservations are always suggested. Our Tavern is handicapped accessible and attire is casual neat. Ye Olde Tavern has private rooms for meetings and special events, such as Brunch, Lunch, Dinner and Cocktails. We can serve up to 90 people in the entire circa 1790 Colonial Inn.The State of Vermont has recognized our circa 1790 Colonial Inn as a 'Green Restaurants'. Wine Spectator & Wine Enthusiast Magazine have recognized our Wine List as one of the best in the country. Minna & Michael Brandt- Proprietors Cassandra Bender- General Manager Cliff Cooper- Executive Chef Reservations are suggested.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing