We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YE OLDE TAVERN

5183 Main St, Route 7a, Manchester, VT 05255-9772
+1 802-362-0611
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good24%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“pot roast” (105 reviews)
“apple butter” (120 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5183 Main St, Route 7a, Manchester, VT 05255-9772
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We are rapidly making YOT our go-to place for a nice dinner when visiting Manchester. This time we went for my birthday. Lobster tails and lasagna. Bisque and the great ale-laced onion soup. The cranberry fritters and maple butter. Too full for dessert! Thanks to...More

Thank sullific
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

"Our go-go-to-place", now that is what I like to read!!! We are really pleased we helped make your Birthday Dinner a special one Your comments about the food will make the Chef and his team feel very proud of the dishes they create for our...More

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

The tavern was built in 1790 so that was cool. The menu includes its history. Service was friendly and quick. They bring a small plate of cranberry fritters and maple butter when you first sit down. They were cold and cooked really early that day....More

Thank dapphil
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for spending the time to share your regarding your evening at our tavern. I am thrilled you enjoyed the historic atmosphere and the friendly quick service. I am so sorry to hear of your displeasure regarding your meals. I wish you had mentioned...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We chose this place for dinner based upon its charm. The staff was so-so and the food was mediocre. It has a small bar, which can only accommodate about 4 people and the restaurant itself only has a few tables. My advice, save your money.More

Thank ElsaSnyder
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

The AMBIANCE at Ye Olde Tavern is evident with each step you take and each time you look around. Ye Olde Tavern is housed in a 1790 building that has gone through many uses including hotel, stage coach stop and restaurant. The building has been...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Dined here recently on our stay in Manchester. We both ordered fish dinners and the meals were well prepared.,and the waiter was tops. We were seated in a room in front off to left which had a little bar in it. Conversation got a little...More

Thank RPL302
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive TripAdvisor review about your visit to our Tavern. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your food, the service and the ambiance. We continuously strive to deliver great products and service to all...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were staying in the area with another couple and always seek out high rated restaurants since we are into fine dinning . We enjoyed the ambiance but were disappoint with both the service and the food . To be fair we were there on...More

1  Thank Richard A
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Richard, Thank you for your feedback and dining with us. Please allow me to apologize regarding the slow service and that the turkey was not to your liking. I can only wish you had said something while dining with us, so we could have corrected...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A warm inviting restaurant, it was like walking back in time looking at the decor in the furnishings. Wide pine board floors. The food was excellent, complimentary cranberry fritters with maple butter to start. A nice menu that almost everyone can enjoy, though I don't...More

1  Thank James M
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

James, ‘Woohoo’... you dined with us 2 times and you’re our 1100 review! Thank you for all the wonderful compliments and we look forward to your return. Cheers, Michael P.S. we do offer 3 vegetarian options, 1 being Vegan.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This trip to Ye Olde Tavern was our best ever. One of us has a Gluten-allergy. The owner of the restaurant was VERY, VERY accommodating. When we explained the gluten-allergy the Owner and the Waiter were very familiar with the Gluten allergies, and went over...More

Thank Frank W
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Frank, Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderfully detailed review and dining with us 2x during your visit to Manchester. Just because there’s a Gluten Allergy, the food has to be boring. I am happy we could make the evenings special and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I picked this restaurant from the trip advisor reviews. We were pleasantly surprised from the atmosphere to the service and the food, it was all awesome. The cranberry fritters with the maple butter are to die for. My husband had the pork...More

Thank Janie W
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Janie, I am thrilled you listened to the TripAdvisor family and dined at our historic tavern. It is wonderful knowing we lived up to expectations and look forward o your return. Cheers! Michael

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you visit Manchester you must dine at at The Ye Olde Tavern! This restaurant is like stepping back in time. It is tastefully decorated and so cozy. The food is excellent. From appetizer to main dessert, you will not be disappointed. So fresh and...More

Thank Rosanna10930
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Rosanna, On behalf of everyone at Ye Olde Tavern, I would like to thank you for your review! We continuously strive to deliver great food and service at reasonable prices. I am delighted that on each of your visits, we have 'nailed' that goal. We...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very romantic and homey atmosphere in a building with a very rich, long history! Oh, and the food was delicious too! Staff was attentive and friendly even though they were very busy. They had a menu of "old timey" drinks, some that predate prohibition, a...More

Thank AgentBadgerQ
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your recent visit and for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback for the TripAdvisor community. We are lucky to work in such a beautiful and historic setting with such a great team who pride themselves on delivering the...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Manchester
Palmer House
353 reviews
.15 miles away
Aspen at Manchester
119 reviews
.43 miles away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
169 reviews
.62 miles away
Casablanca Motel
237 reviews
.67 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Mrs. Murphy's Donuts
134 reviews
.29 miles away
Zoey’s Deli & Bakery
122 reviews
.38 miles away
Up For Breakfast
762 reviews
.24 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Comollo Antiques
6 reviews
.47 miles away
Tilting at Windmills Gallery
5 reviews
.43 miles away
Backroad Discovery Tours
138 reviews
.32 miles away
Northshire Bookstore
256 reviews
.31 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
roadtrip815
January 15, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from TheTavernCrier | Property representative |
Thank you for the inquiry about shipping our maple butter. Unfortunately we do not ship it, do the fact of the weight and that it would have to be next day air. If you are ever in the area and it is before opening time, we... More
0
Votes
Amy E
September 10, 2017|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from TheTavernCrier | Property representative |
Thank you for the inquiry about the historic Ye Olde Tavern. Our Early Bird Menu is offered Sunday-Friday from 5:00-5:59pm (you just need to be in the building by this time). It is not available during peak periods, such... More
1
Vote
NewtownBobby
October 19, 2016|
Answer
Response from TheTavernCrier | Property representative |
We just got your message. As we focus our energy to our guests, we check TripAdvisor every other day and do not accept reservations or table requests via online websites. I just looked in the reservation computer and did... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$19 - $34
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5183 Main St, Route 7a, Manchester, VT 05255-9772
  • Location: United States  >  Vermont (VT)  >  Green Mountains  >  Manchester
  • Phone Number: +1 802-362-0611
  • E-mail
Description
Ye Olde Tavern is open daily... Cocktails start at 4:30pm and Dinner is from 5:00pm with last seating at 9:00pm. Reservations are always suggested. Our Tavern is handicapped accessible and attire is casual neat. Ye Olde Tavern has private rooms for meetings and special events, such as Brunch, Lunch, Dinner and Cocktails. We can serve up to 90 people in the entire circa 1790 Colonial Inn.The State of Vermont has recognized our circa 1790 Colonial Inn as a 'Green Restaurants'. Wine Spectator & Wine Enthusiast Magazine have recognized our Wine List as one of the best in the country. Minna & Michael Brandt- Proprietors Cassandra Bender- General Manager Cliff Cooper- Executive Chef Reservations are suggested.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;