We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sam's Steakhouse

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
91 Route 103 S, 1.5 Miles South of Okemo Mountain Road, Ludlow, VT 05149-9777
+1 802-228-2087
Website
Today
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Fri - Sat 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

361 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 360: English reviews
Perkinsville, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Two of us have been to Sam's a few times.Always great. Just this past Thanksgiving we went to Sams another great meal. People working there are very into there jobs.Our best waitress there her name is Mary.Just a great place to eat, and I just love the salad bar ..........

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom05151
ILoveHospitality, General Manager at Sam's Steakhouse, responded to this review

Thank you Tom. We're very proud of our team and we appreciate the review! More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good food, busy bar with good selection and salad bar,, come hungry.. Thanks to Casey our hostess who always has a smile when we arrive and Skye our server,,

Helpful?
Thank db s
ILoveHospitality, General Manager at Sam's Steakhouse, responded to this review

Come hungry is good advice! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with Kasey and Skye! More 

Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2017

I went on an impromptu ski get away with my sons to Okemo Mountain. We went to dinner at Sam's without reservations, mid week, during a non holiday period. We also went fairly early, around 6 p.m. We were seated promptly, and the service and food were great. Both my son & I had two of the restaurant favorites, pot... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank adammax17
ILoveHospitality, Owner at Sam's Steakhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us. We're pleased you enjoyed our customer favorites and that our team served you promptly. We appreciate your patronage! More 

Newtown, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2017

We had the worst experience we have ever had at a restaurant at Sam's Steakhouse on New Year's Eve. We called and made a reservation almost a week in advance however we were not informed at the time of the price fixed menu which I personally felt was very deceptive. We received an email with the wrong last name, wrong... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank MRG246
ILoveHospitality, Owner at Sam's Steakhouse, responded to this review

I apologize for your unpleasant experience on New Year’s Eve. When we realized the reservation discrepancies upon your arrival, including the misspelling of your name and the error in the person count, we tried hard to put together a table for your party of seven. I’m sorry we could not solve the discrepancy quickly enough to accommodate you. More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2017 via mobile

We were greeted very nicely. Salad bar was promising and was nice. From there they bombed it. I ordered the prime rib and crab cake for 32 bucks (small cut) The prime rib was the worst cut I have ever seen and at over 300 pounds I've seen plenty. Not only did I have to stab it to kill it... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Brian D
ILoveHospitality, Owner at Sam's Steakhouse, responded to this review

We take great pride in the meals we serve and both of these items are normally highly acclaimed by our customers. I apologize for not meeting your expectations with our prime rib and crab cakes. More 

Grafton, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2017

My husband and I have frequented Sam's for a few years now and have been big fans. We made reservations with four of our friends, promising them a wonderful meal in a clean, orderly environment... a delightful evening ahead on Christmas night. Needless to say, we left with egg on our faces. We showed up on time and didn't mind... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank MargoAdams123
ILoveHospitality, Owner at Sam's Steakhouse, responded to this review

Dear Margo. Thank you for your honest review. I would like to personally apologize for letting you down during your visit. As you observed, we faced some unanticipated challenges with overwhelming demand over the holidays and with our new reservations system. We were not sufficiently prepared, and we dropped the ball. For that I am truly sorry. Our amazing team... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

On par with Ponderosa. Don't waste your money . Dry aged steak was not good. Waitress would disappear for long periods of time.

Helpful?
5 Thank otoventures
ILoveHospitality, Owner at Sam's Steakhouse, responded to this review

Please accept my personal apology for failing on our committment to deliver outstanding steaks and service. Our restaurant had some overwhelming challenges during the last two weeks of December for which we were unprepared. We have made several operational changes and are prepared to deliver the experience Sam's is famous for. I appreciate your comments and would appreciate if you... More 

Saratoga Springs NY
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2017

I purchased a gift certificate for family members here since they often ski at Okemo. I stopped for dinner after the g/c purchase to see how the food was. It was the Monday after Christmas and thus was quite crowded; although we had called for a reservation (my wife and I) very early in the day. Instead of being seated... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Idjit
ILoveHospitality, Owner at Sam's Steakhouse, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for the poor experience we delivered during your visit. I have no excuse for our failure to respectfully acknowledge and accommodate your quite reasonable seating request. It is far from my standards of excellence and I am embarrassed that your concerns were not handled properly. Please contact me at your convenience as I would like to discuss... More 

South Royalton, Vermont
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2016

32 friends met to join in on fun with an annual Christmas Party, on Dec 10. The staff did a great job, as usual and all had a great time. VT-A, Gold Wing Road Riders Association has been going to Sam's for their annual Christmas Party, for several years, and it Is always a great time. Thanks to all of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Brian T
ILoveHospitality, Owner at Sam's Steakhouse, responded to this review

Thank you BrianT. We're happy that GWRRA was pleased with your party. Let's get next year on the calendar! ~Paul Olson More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2016

Not sure what the hype is all about...we were grateful our Concierge made us a reservation but turned out to be pointless as we had to wait with a ton of other folks; we waited almost 30mins for our table even with a reservation. By 815pm the place was all seated and 1/2 the place was empty - go at... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Bdagal67
ILoveHospitality, Owner at Sam's Steakhouse, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. Your review is fair based on the challenges we encountered over the holiday period, but I regret that we disappointed you. I apologize that your reservation was not honored in a timely manner and that we did not provide the proper service you deserve. We were unprepared for the unusually... More 

Travelers who viewed Sam's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$13 - $33
Cuisine
American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining
Good for
Business meetings, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 91 Route 103 S, 1.5 Miles South of Okemo Mountain Road, Ludlow, VT 05149-9777
  • Location: United States  >  Vermont (VT)  >  Ludlow
  • Phone Number: +1 802-228-2087
Description
Steaks, Seafood and Salad Bar are our specialties. Try dry aged steaks - Porterhouse, Bone-in Ribeye, Bone-in Sirloin, Petite Filet Mignon, Hanger Steak, and of course Prime Rib. Seafood selections from the Raw Bar include oysters and clams, succulent Live Maine Lobster, Scallops, King Crab, Ahi Tuna, Swordfish, Salmon, Shrimp, and Maryland Crab Cakes. Prefer Comfort Foods? How about Pot Roast, Meatloaf, Mac & Cheese, Chicken Teriyaki and Baby Back Ribs. Always a crowd pleaser is the Surf & Turf Combo for those that want a little of everything! We'll help pair the perfect bottle of wine from our extensive wine list to round out your meal, so come on in and enjoy Ludlow's Best Steakhouse!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sam's Steakhouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?