We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
$4 - $15
CUISINES
Cafe, American, Pizza
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
37
13
5
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
37
13
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunch scones pastry sandwich pizza baked goods cappuccino
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A wonderful experience for sweet treats and great lattes! A short walk from the Dorset Inn and worth the steps!

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed January 23, 2021 via mobile

PHENOMENAL! Everything is good – you can’t go wrong with any of the menu items regardless of the meal. The homemade soups and take out pizza are particularly good. Overall, probably the best food in the area.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed July 16, 2020

Stopped in for a quick pastry and espresso. Unfortunately do to covid, things take a bit longer. The staff was doing their best managing the number of customers and trying to get people their morning buzz.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed March 7, 2020 via mobile

Make sure to stop here ! You won’t want to miss the delicious baked goods from scratch with a great cup of coffee

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed November 3, 2019 via mobile

Expensive over rated bakery worst croissants I think I had. Bought four (outrageous price) all different sizes and shapes and I disposed of them. Local landmark but I have been told baker turnover. You might catch it on a good day. Will maybe try again.

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Dorsetbakery, Manager at Dorset Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2019

Hi, thank you for your feedback. We did experience a period of turnover, but feel that our croissants are now better than ever. Should you decide to give us another try, please mention this review for a coffee of us.

Reviewed October 18, 2019 via mobile

Friendly Staff, extensive variety of baked goods, but the food was very expensive and just so-so. Maybe I’ve lost touch, but nearly $40 for a salad, a sandwich, a scone, and two bottles of water was absolutely not what we expected. The roast beef sandwich...had perhaps two tablespoons total of beef. No chips, just the sandwich. The salad was delicious and well prepared. The place was very clean and the tables were comfortable. We did not dislike the place, but feel no reason to return.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed October 18, 2019

My first impression when I walked in here was calm. Bright eating area (indoors and outdoors), very charming, simply decorated, homey. The staff was darling. All the baked goods are made in-house. I also got an autumnal salad which was great, and an almond milk...cappucino, both of which were delicious. There were gluten free and dairy free options available for lunch.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed October 8, 2019

So many choices of all my favorites for lunch. Ate the Vermont BLT. It was amazing. Such a nice day. I ate out on the patio in the sun; it was delightful. Looking forward to next time.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 6, 2019 via mobile

We stopped here on the way back from Hildene, as we were in need of a sweet snack and hot drink. This cafe is perfect, delicious treats too many to mention.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed September 27, 2019 via mobile

We had driven past this restaurant many times and always wondered what it was like, so we stopped in for breakfast. The parking lot was quite full which ordinarily is a good sign. You order your food yourself at the main counter which eliminates a...server waiting on you. You also self serve your own coffee, water, and pick up your silverware and napkins. There are 2 and 4 seater tables in the dining area and we selected a 2 seater. The only problem was that the tables are so close together that we couldn't have a somewhat private conversation and we learned about the travel plans of the folks at the adjacent table. There was no problem with the food other than it being a little pricey for breakfast. After finishing our breaking we had to pick up our dishes, utensils, napkins etc., and place them in a bus pan. All in all. We were disappointed.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Four Winds Country Motel
233 reviews
4.99 miles away
Olympia Lodge
333 reviews
5.00 miles away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
453 reviews
5.07 miles away
The Manchester View
952 reviews
5.14 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Dorset Inn Restaurant
265 reviews
.14 miles away
Chantecleer Restaurant
196 reviews
4.87 miles away
Inn at West View Farm Restaurant
61 reviews
.32 miles away
Barrows House Restaurant
137 reviews
.09 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
H.N. Williams General Store
46 reviews
.50 miles away
Merck Forest & Farmland Center
44 reviews
3.69 miles away
Mad Tom Orchard
19 reviews
4.54 miles away
Dorset Union Store
43 reviews
.13 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Dorset Bakery staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing