We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sweetwaters

120 Church St, Corner of Church and College Sts, Burlington, VT 05401-8401
+1 802-864-9800
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good42%
  • Average17%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“bison burger” (17 reviews)
“salad” (62 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
120 Church St, Corner of Church and College Sts, Burlington, VT 05401-8401
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We had a good lunch here. It was busy, but the staff was not too friendly. The nachos and beer were OK.More

Thank jackm0use
Terri M, Owner at Sweetwaters, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

I'm sorry to hear that about our staff. I wish you had something when you were here- we take that kind of feedback very seriously and consider it a teachable moment. As for the food, we are voted Best of for our nachos and have...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Hadn't eaten at Sweetwaters in years but joined some friends there for dinner on Friday night. I always remembered it being more upscale but now it seems like a good mid-range bistro with a good menu choices. We started with Buffalo Chicken Nacho's. You do...More

Thank Betsy W
Terri M, Owner at Sweetwaters, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Yes, good to hear. We love it when guests want to come back.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice patio on the Church Street pedestrian mall. Seared Tuna was superb, nachos ate original, mussels and frites just fine. Good service. Extensive menu

Thank FilmGuyTO
Terri M, Owner at Sweetwaters, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you so much for the favorable​ review.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited on July 4 2018 . What a Pit ,Beer was warm , Mussels were full of sand and most were dead . The flies enjoyed the mussels more than we did . Bartender was a pig . No service No Bra . DISGUSTING Don’t...More

Thank maplesyrupman
Terri M, Owner at Sweetwaters, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Maplesyrupman, I am not sure where we want wrong with you but clearly, there were some opportunities. As is evident from our other reviews, your experience is not the norm. If you would be so kind as to contact us, ask for David, we would...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice Bartenders, dirty restaurant, dusty, paint chipping on walls, water damaged ceilings. dirty dessert and beer menus. I sense that they don't care or they don't have any $$$ to upgrade. Restaurant looks like it did when 1st opened in the 80's. I only ordered...More

Thank manonsteel
Terri M, Owner at Sweetwaters, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Manonsteel, I'm sorry to hear that we missed the mark in a few areas on your visit. I assure you that we do care and is evident by the vast majority of our reviews, we have good food and service and a clean restaurant. We...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On a sunny weekday evening they accommodated us a group of 11 inside and the service was very good, food and beer choices abundant and knowledgeable staff Food was excellent and reasonably priced, beers too many to choose from, but fun to work through we...More

Thank james101bos
Terri M, Owner at Sweetwaters, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the shout out, we appreciate it.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We sat outside as did most others that afternoon, but the inside is beautifully decorated, comfortable looking and inviting. The hard cider and the Sweetwater Burger on gluten free bun was one of the best I’ve had in a long time. My friend had a...More

Thank Janice P
Terri M, Owner at Sweetwaters, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are up for Best Nachos for the "7 Days Best of" so you definitely need to give them a try on your next visit! I guarantee they don't​ disappoint. Thank you for your business, Terri

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So much fun to sit outside and enjoy people-watching, along with terrific food and drink. Service was good and prompt. Maybe not the cheapest place around (it's not fast food!), but it was definitely worth it.

Thank Paul T
Terri M, Owner at Sweetwaters, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

And the patio is pet-friendly! Thank you for the review. Best, Terri

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for dinner last week - between us we had 3 portions of Fish & Chips, and one person had the Chicken Nachos. Huge pieces of fish and large portions of chips (or fries!!), and the nachos were delicious with huge chunks of chicken. Too...More

Thank rsa1009
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Some of us were dressed up, others were very casual and we all felt comfortable, had a great meal and enjoyed our night out together.

Thank wjsmatsis
Terri M, Owner at Sweetwaters, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

So nice to hear. Thank you for choosing Sweetwaters.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in Burlington
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
846 reviews
.15 miles away
Hilton Burlington
1,777 reviews
.29 miles away
Hotel Vermont
820 reviews
.30 miles away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
809 reviews
.32 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Leunig's Bistro
1,347 reviews
.02 miles away
Stone Soup
164 reviews
.06 miles away
Honey Road
80 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Burlington Farmers' Market
148 reviews
.06 miles away
Flynn Center for the Performing Arts
94 reviews
.08 miles away
Frog Hollow Craft Center
93 reviews
.08 miles away
Mad River Distillers
22 reviews
.10 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Heather R
August 9, 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Linda B | Reviewed this property |
Yes, I see many families there.
0
Votes
Jane M
September 23, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Terri M | Property representative |
Hi Jane, sorry for the delay in my response but it looks like you got great support from the community. We do not take reservations for groups of that size on Saturday evenings.
0
Votes
gailmath
March 26, 2016|
Answer
Response from Terri M | Property representative |
Yes we are from 11 am - 11pm.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$8 - $20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover
Good for
Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 1:00 AM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 1:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 120 Church St, Corner of Church and College Sts, Burlington, VT 05401-8401
  • Location: United States  >  Vermont (VT)  >  Burlington
  • Phone Number: +1 802-864-9800
  • E-mail
Description
Sweetwaters is an American Bistro with an unique twist on your favorite eats. For over 30 years, we've been serving fantastic cuisine with local ingredients in a family-friendly atmosphere in the heart of Burlington, on the corner of College and Church Streets on the charming Church Street Marketplace. Architecturally interesting, Sweetwaters is housed in what was the original site of the Burlington Trust Company. Built in the 1880s, the building retains its original mouldings, cornerstone, clock and architectural appointments. With a full bar, extensive menu, unique interior, and plenty of indoor and outdoor seating, Sweetwaters certainly has something for everybody. We serve lunch and dinner daily, with a late night menu for all you night owls out there.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing