We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
100 E Swordfish St, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6975
19567618463
Website
Today
7:00 am - 3:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Mon - Thu 7:30 am - 3:00 pm
Fri - Sun 7:00 am - 3:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

531 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 522: English reviews
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Went in for lunch and the service was spectacular. Food was very good and served quickly. We will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Neil C
Douglas K, Manager at Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

Neil, this is excellent! Thank you for sharing your experience, and I'm overjoyed that we could give you the lunch you were looking for. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in, and until then, take care! Sincerely, Doug Krawczynski, General Manager More 

Van Buren
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to eat breakfast or lunch. Coffee was amazing, the coffee beans are roasted on site and fresh brewed. Friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank rlong56
Douglas K, Manager at Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

There's nothing more refreshing than a perfect cup of coffee, and I'm so happy we could prepare that for you. Hopefully the rest of South Padre treated you just as well, and we'll always be here for your next visit. Until then, safe travels! Sincerely, Doug Krawczynski, General Manager More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food was bland and greasy. Service staff was rude. Took forever to get our food and it wasn't even that good. When it came time to pay the check you would think they didn't want our money with how long it took to get it and process it!

Helpful?
Thank SGDaigle
Douglas K, Manager at Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

To know that we left this impression with you is incredibly disheartening. We take a lot of pride in the dishes we serve up, especially since we make every dish in-house to suit the preferences of our guests. With that, we're consistently working to provide the best service on the island, and I wish your visit had reflected that. I... More 

South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went Brunchtime on a Sunday and had to wait to be seated (about 15 minutes?), but we're used to that given where we live, so it wasn't a problem for us. They were clearly packed, but friendly and attentive regardless. As soon as we were seated we were given menus and they took our drink order. Husband and I... More 

Helpful?
Thank pookypants2016
Douglas K, Manager at Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

Dang, I'm excited that we could serve up the first order of French toast for your son! That's a pretty big moment, and we've gotta make sure to serve it up perfectly. I know it can sometimes be a little longer wait, and I appreciate your patience throughout. We'll be happy to share more of our coffee menu with you... More 

Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Over the past month we've given this cafe 4 chances... every time we left extremely disappointed. Out of 4 visits, we had 4 incorrect plates come out. The first 3 times we sent the food back and waited almost another 30 minutes for the correct plate. This last time we just stomached the incorrect food, informed the server and vowed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sunny S
Douglas K, Manager at Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

Sunny, I hate reading this -- knowing that you've consistently been underwhelmed is not something I love hearing. As you start your day, you should have the perfect breakfast in front of you, especially the one you were expecting when you ordered. We're working hard to fine-tune our kitchen communication, and I assure you that we'll be speaking about this... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came here with friends to brunch before hitting the beach and it was awesome. My fiance and I shared a Supersized taco with eggs, beans, chorizo and cheese. It was definitely enough for both. Next time we definitely want to try the cafe options as well!

Helpful?
Thank Claudia L
Douglas K, Manager at Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

Claudia, our lovely beaches require a hearty start, and we love sending you on your way with the best food in mind. You picked out some awesome options, and I do hope we get the chance to serve up drinks from our coffee menu as well. Until next time, safe travels! Sincerely, Doug Krawczynski, General Manager More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Far from good eggs Benedict which tasted like a dirty grill. The shrimp and grits were watery. The bacon was good, but a restaurant shouldn't be able to mess that up. Worst part was feeling the gruel in my stomach an hour later.

Helpful?
Thank Cinerco
Douglas K, Manager at Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

We take a lot of pride in our breakfast, especially our famous eggs Benedict and shrimp and grits. It's honestly surprising to hear this, especially when so many of our guests love those two specific dishes. However, we always welcome feedback, and it sounds like our restaurant just didn't match up with what you were looking for. I hope the... More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a very relaxed restaurant. The food was okay and so was the service. We went here because of the reviews on here but I wasn't really impressed. It was okay and cheap.

Helpful?
Thank JessaLynn82
Douglas K, Manager at Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

It's disappointing that our restaurant didn't stand out to you -- I always want our food and service to create a bright spot on the island. Hopefully we'll get another chance to show you the dishes and service that we're famous for, but regardless, I wish you the safest of travels. Cheers, Doug Krawczynski, General Manager More 

El Paso, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great food, great atmosphere. Stopped at the Grapevine twice, loved it the first time. Our second visit was just as good. It was super busy (as expected) on the 4th, but the service was still great. If it's busy it takes a bit to get your coffee and food but it is worth the wait. Everyone is so friendly you... More 

Helpful?
Thank SIN_D79
Douglas K, Manager at Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

I really love hearing this, especially from someone who was visiting to enjoy the holiday weekend. It's our job to make your experience special, and it makes my day to know that you were surrounded by friendly faces throughout your breakfast. We can't wait to welcome you back in -- hopefully you'll be back in the area very soon. Until... More 

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

When we first got there we had no no greeter or anyone to take out names. The staff seemed disorganized. Food was bland and disappointing. Eggs over cooked, pancakes dry and the coffee was like hot water. Very disappointing!

Helpful?
Thank Ashank63
Douglas K, Manager at Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

This is pretty shocking to read -- after opening our doors years ago, we've worked hard to implement excellent service and serve up delicious food as soon as you walk in. Our coffee house is well-known on the island as the place you can go to coffees roasted in-house daily, and with that, our eggs are one of our more... More 

Travelers who viewed Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$11
Cuisine
Mexican, American, Cafe, Gluten Free
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Parking Available
Good for
Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 am - 3:00 pm
Monday
7:30 am - 3:00 pm
Tuesday
7:30 am - 3:00 pm
Wednesday
7:30 am - 3:00 pm
Thursday
7:30 am - 3:00 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday
7:00 am - 3:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 100 E Swordfish St, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6975
  • Location: United States  >  Texas (TX)  >  Texas Gulf Coast  >  South Padre Island
  • Phone Number: 19567618463
Description
Established in 1999, Grapevine Café’s original owners created a simple restaurant offering breakfast and lunch favorites from traditional Mexican and American recipes. Under new ownership since 2006, the Grapevine Café has grown considerably in concurrence with the beautiful and surrounding city of South Padre Island, Texas. In many ways, we are still that casual eatery that serves delicious, simple and affordable food. Today, our menu boasts a greater variety of choices. We have added healthier menu items that are vegetarian and gluten free. We also offer a full line of gourmet, freshly ground coffee drinks and teas from our popular espresso bar. We take great pride in serving food that is made in-house, fresh and daily from proprietary, authentic recipes.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?