We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Squeeze

$$$
Swiss, European
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
215 North Highland Avenue, Across From The Presidio County Courthouse, Marfa, TX 79843 (Lincoln St / P.O.Box 1457)
+1 432-729-4500
Website
Improve this listing
Today
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Good for: Families with children
Description: Squeeze Marfa is a Swiss Cafe offering delicious coffee, juices, swiss...
Squeeze Marfa is a Swiss Cafe offering delicious coffee, juices, swiss chocolate, and more in Marfa, Texas. Squeeze Marfa was founded in October of 2004 as an idea for a simple juice bar. Over the years it has developed into a sandwich shop offering juices, smoothies, creamsicle sodas and shakes with customized vitamin supplements. Squeeze Marfa carries Vollenweider chocolate from Switzerland. Vollenweider chocolate was started in 1943 by the father of Squeeze Marfa's owner, Verena Zbinden. Her brother and his wife continue to run the family business in Winterthur and Zürich, Switzerland sending handmade chocolate to Marfa directly from the source. Squeeze Marfa is the sole US distributor of Vollenweider chocolatier. Our menu includes a daily vegetarian soup, bratwurst, hummus with pita bread, garden salads and breakfast options including Birchermüesli - a hearty Swiss recipe of oats, fruit and yogurt, a vegan granola dish with açai, waffles and freshly baked croissants. In 2009 Squeeze Marfa added a new, state of the art, Espresso machine and began serving Espresso, Cappuccino and Café Latté. Squeeze Marfa is proud to present Third Coast Coffee as our new House Blend coffee. Third Coast Coffee is an Austin, Texas based brand known for their Fair Trade and Organic blend coffees. We our proud to service delicious local coffee. With a focus on fresh, healthy offerings, it's an eclectic menu sure to cater to almost any palate. It's a great place for groups, take out, catering, and outdoor seating. We look forward to seeing you soon at Squeeze Marfa.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 127 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 43
    Excellent
  • 49
    Very good
  • 19
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Breakfast!

Nice little breakfast nook at the center of Marfa. Enjoyed my breakfast sandwhich from here tremendously since it was the first non-gas station food I was able to enjoy in Marfa due to weird holiday hours.

4 of 5 starsReviewed January 4, 2016
Marie R
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
338 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had lunch, soup and sandwich at delightful Squeeze. Very cute, helpful staff, and charming patio.

Helpful?
Thank smthibs
Verena Z, Owner at Squeeze, responded to this review

Hearing that you had such a delightful time with us has certainly put a smile on our faces! Anytime you're back in Marfa, we'd love nothing more than having you back again. Safe travels, Squeeze Marfa More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

Nice little breakfast nook at the center of Marfa. Enjoyed my breakfast sandwhich from here tremendously since it was the first non-gas station food I was able to enjoy in Marfa due to weird holiday hours.

Helpful?
Thank Marie R
Verena Z, Owner at Squeeze, responded to this review

We're glad to hear you enjoyed a reprieve from all that gas station food at our place, Marie! Anytime you're back in Marfa, you know we'd love nothing more than hosting you for another sandwich -- hopefully sometime soon! Until then, Squeeze Marfa More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

Came in here because everything else was closed. The women taking the orders seemed very overwhelmed- I guess it had been a very busy morning for them. Anyways it took a while for my order to be taken, and for the food to arrive, but I get it they didn't expect a rush on a random Tuesday morning. I ordered... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vera E
Verena Z, Owner at Squeeze, responded to this review

The last thing we'd ever want is for you to feel like a burden here, Vera. We can assure you that certainly wasn't the case, and as you mentioned, it really had been a bad day for her. Experiences like this certainly aren't the norm for us, and when you're back in our neck of the woods, we'd love another... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015

The place was funky and generally unfriendly. The counter-gal was very unknowledgable and much more interested in being bossy. An entire family walked out (unserved) as we walked in. I didn't feel like fighting her. Ordered our teas and left. Clean the tables (not ONE table was clean), do your job or go home.

Helpful?
Thank Joseph D
Verena Z, Owner at Squeeze, responded to this review

It's disappointing to hear you left with this impression of us, Joseph. Rudeness isn't something that flies around here, and we sincerely apologize that's how you left feeling about us. First impressions can be hard to shake, but we know all it would take is a second chance to show you the top-notch experience we're more known for! Sincerely, Squeeze... More 

new york, new york
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2015

They were short staffed and ran out of greens when I went there. The wait was entirely too long for sandwich orders but the staff was apologetic and nice. Food was ok, nothing spectacular.

Helpful?
Thank bunkerz
Verena Z, Owner at Squeeze, responded to this review

It's a shame to hear you left feeling this way. We sincerely apologize for the issues with the greens, and while first impressions are hard to shake, we know all it would take is a second chance to wow you! Hope to see you again, Squeeze Marfa More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015

We were 7 people at this restaurant. It requires you to order at the counter and sit down. when we paid our bill - at the counter- they added 18% as we were a party over 6 people. this was outrageous ! Especially when we ordered at a counter and then sat down. Food not great. Hummus tasteless, roast beef... More 

Helpful?
Thank LindaToronto_8
Verena Z, Owner at Squeeze, responded to this review

It's disappointing to know you left feeling this way, Linda. We have it written on our menu that groups of five or more will automatically be added a gratuity of 18%, so we apologize if you didn't notice that, but ultimately we have to stick with our policy. As far as the food itself, we're sorry to hear you didn't... More 

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

They just weren't doing juice the day we visited. Food was OK but if your a juice bar/cafe you kinda have to serve juice when you are open. And SMILE.

Helpful?
1 Thank LT1298
Verena Z, Owner at Squeeze, responded to this review

It's disappointing to hear you left with this impression of us. If we recall the day in question, we ran into a bit of an issue and only had one employee on hand and couldn't put out any juice that day. While this is no excuse, we hope you could forgive us for this unforeseen issue. We'd love nothing more... More 

Murphy, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

We stopped by here for a mid-week lunch. Terrific frappe, tasty panini sandwiches, and a sunny outdoor patio. The chocolate bars are pricey, but after tasting the one with bits of chewy orange, I bought two bars!

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
Verena Z, Owner at Squeeze, responded to this review

Suzanne, glad you enjoyed the frappe and the paninis. Hope to see you back for those as well as some tasty chocolate bars soon! Best, Squeeze Marfa More 

Longview, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2015

I cannot attest to the quality of the food because I didn't have any - but it was worth a visit for the delectable hot chocolate! It is out of this world.

Helpful?
Thank shortstack1
Verena Z, Owner at Squeeze, responded to this review

Hearing the words "out of this world" used to describe our hot chocolate is like music to our ears! We can't thank you enough for the kind words, and here's hoping we'll get a chance to earn the same stamp of approval for our food someday, as well! Until next time, Squeeze Marfa More 

Greenwell Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

While visiting Marfa I decided to stop here for lunch. I was the only customer there on my visit. The young lady that took my order was very helpful as I an vegan. I decided on the hummus panini which was good and huge. There is a variety of things to eat on the menu for everyone. Great place to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sinarta C
Verena Z, Owner at Squeeze, responded to this review

We're so glad you decided to give us a shot, Sinarta! The hummus panini is definitely one of the house favorites, so you've got some great taste! Here's hoping we'll be seeing you back in our neck of the woods again soon. Much appreciated, Squeeze Marfa More 

Travelers who viewed Squeeze also viewed

 

Been to Squeeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 215 North Highland Avenue, Across From The Presidio County Courthouse, Marfa, TX 79843
    (Lincoln St / P.O.Box 1457)
  • Location: United States  >  Texas (TX)  >  Marfa
  • Phone Number: +1 432-729-4500

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 30 - 30
  • Cuisine: Swiss, European

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Casual Dining
  • Good for: Families with children

Description

Squeeze Marfa is a Swiss Cafe offering delicious coffee, juices, swiss chocolate, and more in Marfa, Texas. Squeeze Marfa was founded in October of 2004 as an idea for a simple juice bar. Over the years it has developed into a sandwich shop offering juices, smoothies, creamsicle sodas and shakes with customized vitamin supplements. Squeeze Marfa carries Vollenweider chocolate from Switzerland. Vollenweider chocolate was started in 1943 by the father of Squeeze Marfa's owner, Verena Zbinden. Her brother and his wife continue to run the family business in Winterthur and Zürich, Switzerland sending handmade chocolate to Marfa directly from the source. Squeeze Marfa is the sole US distributor of Vollenweider chocolatier. Our menu includes a daily vegetarian soup, bratwurst, hummus with pita bread, garden salads and breakfast options including Birchermüesli - a hearty Swiss recipe of oats, fruit and yogurt, a vegan granola dish with açai, waffles and freshly baked croissants. In 2009 Squeeze Marfa added a new, state of the art, Espresso machine and began serving Espresso, Cappuccino and Café Latté. Squeeze Marfa is proud to present Third Coast Coffee as our new House Blend coffee. Third Coast Coffee is an Austin, Texas based brand known for their Fair Trade and Organic blend coffees. We our proud to service delicious local coffee. With a focus on fresh, healthy offerings, it's an eclectic menu sure to cater to almost any palate. It's a great place for groups, take out, catering, and outdoor seating. We look forward to seeing you soon at Squeeze Marfa.
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Squeeze staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?