We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$10 - $30
CUISINES
Cajun & Creole, American, Seafood
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveler rating
162
127
56
31
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
162
127
56
31
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red snapper seafood shrimp bread fresh fish rice blue water house dressing surfside beach sour cream an appetizer large portions charbroiled bayou texas waitstaff
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago

I tried this restaurant for the first time this past week. The atmosphere is just ok. it is dark and a bit outdated. It also does not have a patio and during the pandemic is usually a must for us. However, the food and service...made it all worth it. From the starter of Crab Claws in a Garlic Chili butter sauce to the whole snapper meal that my husband and I shared with amazing home fries and the best homemade ranch dressing we will be sure to visit again! We had Gwen as our Server and she was on top of it as far as service. She knew all about the dishes and everything she recommended was top notch! We have not eaten out much during COVID, but this is a place that will definitely pay a return visit!More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife ordered the grilled shrimp and mushrooms. The shrimp seemed to lack any sign of grilling such as oil or butter, perhaps because they were in a sauce. The sauce hid the grilling. She wouldn’t order it again. I had the Red Snapper with...mushrooms, artichokes and brown sauce. The dish was fine but in opinion would have been much better if the fish had been grilled and not breaded and the brown sauce cut back on. I too would not order this again. Having said all of that, with all the awards and great reviews the restaurant has received, we will probably give them another try while we are in the area for vacation. The highlight was dessert. My wife and I shared the 6 layer carrot cake. Now I am a chocolate lover and would not normally order carrot cake. This carrot cake, however, was exceptional and I highly recommend it.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed November 21, 2020

After tasting the food and the quality of the service, we know why this is #1 eatery in Surfside. Covid - everyone with face masks, once ordered, food and payment done at our car. Large portions and MILITARY discount. Will gladly eat here again.

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed October 18, 2020 via mobile

Really tasty fish dishes, the flounder with olives and artichokes was excellent. The red snapper “bayou teche” seasoning was a bit spicy and uniquely delicious. Large portions, great service.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
19linb, Owner at Red Snapper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2020

Thank you for your great review. I am especially grateful for your response for I was out of town and the staff performed above and beyond expectations. I will definitely share with the staff for a job well done. Thanks again for the review. Look...More

Reviewed October 6, 2020 via mobile

I'd heard some good things about this place and we decided to go. Everything was good and met most of the expectations we had. A few things stood out. The gumbo was excellent. There's a caveat. Gumbo is a art and subtle variation of ingredients...and change the entire gumbo. If you order it if possible get them to give you a tiny taste before ordering. The snapper was good also but I have never had it before so ¯\_(ツ)_/¯. The service was good and the atmosphere was pleasant.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
19linb, Owner at Red Snapper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2020

Thank you for your great review. We appreciate your candor and willingness to let others know about your experience. Will definitely share with the staff today. Thanks again for your patronaged.

Reviewed September 12, 2020 via mobile

The staff and the food were outstanding!! We drove down from Houston for a beach day and picked up delicious salads with the freshest shrimp ever‼️‼️ They have our highest recommendation!! Z+TMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
19linb, Owner at Red Snapper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2020

Thank you for your excellent review! Positive reinforcement for our staff is why we do what we do. We are thankful that the fruits of our labors were seen and shared by you both. Thank you for sharing your positive experience. We look forward to...More

Reviewed September 8, 2020

We visited this place on 09/04 to get carry-out lunch. Besides food being quite below average (flavorless red fish, soggy burger and tasteless chicken fried steak), I was appalled at the discourteous behavior of the staff. When I walked in, I was told to 'stand...over there' and wait for the girl to take my order. I'd expect the waitress to explain where and how the food will be brought out and when was I supposed to make my payment. She didn't have the etiquette to have any of those conversations. After waiting in my car for the specified time when I started to walk towards the door, she came out looking for me. I ignored my past experience and tried to ask cheerfully if she was looking for me and to that she said, "next time, park right in front of the door" without caring to find out if there was indeed any space left. Well, after I paid for my food, she points me towards a table and says "there's your food". If they were trying to avoid contact with their customers (like many other businesses), a civil way of doing that would be to hand over the food on a tray or atleast walk upto the table where the food was kept. I'd have completely ignored sub-standard food had I not experienced such an unacceptable behavior from the staff.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
19linb, Owner at Red Snapper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2020

We apologize that you did not enjoy your experience at our restaurant. From your comments I assume that you ordered a to go order. It is unclear because it states your food was on the table but more than likely your to go items had...More

Reviewed August 6, 2020

From the time we walked in the door, the service was near perfection. Latacia, our server, was top notch. We will definitely be returning!

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
19linb, Owner at Red Snapper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2020

Thank you for your excellent review. We appreciate your candor and for pointing out Latacia as a top flight server. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Reviewed July 30, 2020 via mobile

The staff was very attentive and our waitress was great. We were shocked at how quickly we were served (and they were busy) based on other experiences in surfside! The food was pretty good... I thoroughly enjoyed the asparagus appetizer and my husband enjoyed his...baked snapper. The portions were big... too much...and we were hoping for more pizzazz in the food. But we would eat here again and try new dishes based on the exemplary service...it shows a care for the customer! Much appreciated!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
19linb, Owner at Red Snapper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2020

Thank you for your review and the compliments to the waitstaff. We are known for Lin's Favorites, our appetizers, and the Fried seafood. The baked snapper was added for those with dietary restrictions. There is little seasoning so gluten free, salt free, and dairy free...More

Reviewed July 10, 2020 via mobile

Must of been off night..blacken Snapper was dry..calamari greasy ..did love New Orleans plate. .if you ask for home fries. .just know they are chips.. the manager asked me sarcastically if I were a Texan.. i do know the difference between a potato chip and...home fries...wont go backMore

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?3  
19linb, Owner at Red Snapper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2020

We apologize you did not like your snapper or calamari. If I had been informed I would have gladly replaced. I am the owner and the manager on duty that evening and I would never ask someone if they are a Texan, so I do...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Ocean Village Hotel
386 reviews
.18 miles away
Cedar Sands Motel
26 reviews
.60 miles away
Anchor Motel
35 reviews
.85 miles away
Motel 6
2 reviews
4.55 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Kitty's Purple Cow Cafe
180 reviews
.03 miles away
Seahorse Bar & Grill
287 reviews
.18 miles away
Beach Front Bar and Grill
34 reviews
.51 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Surfside Beach
331 reviews
1.90 miles away
Surfside Jetty Park
75 reviews
1.27 miles away
Quintana Neotropical Bird Sanctuary
9 reviews
2.15 miles away
Fling Charters
23 reviews
4.24 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
OutB7
September 4, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from sherrie b | Reviewed this property |
yes I do believe so as our group are all drinkers of assorted choices
0
Votes
378robing
January 25, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from sherrie b | Reviewed this property |
yes it was when we were visiting
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing