We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

South Street Original Crab Shack & Authentic Dive Bar

#375 of 1,694 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
American, Bar, Seafood, Barbecue, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
907 20th Ave S, Nashville, TN 37212-2134
+1 615-320-5555
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 1:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 203: English reviews
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The pulled pork is great and they have a good brew selection. The location isn't bad at all. Situated in Music Row, it's one of many bars to stop in while doing a "crawl". The ambience is a little cozier than most and the staff are very friendly. Definitely recommend if you're in the area.

Helpful?
Thank JJSteel1
Justin S, Marketing at South Street Original Crab Shack & Authentic Dive Bar, responded to this review

Hey, JJSteel1, Thanks for the feedback! We're glad you enjoyed your time at South Street and we appreciate the recommendation! - Justin More 

Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying overnight in Nashville, wanted seafood for dinner and saw this on TA. We were not disappointed. Great dive bar near Vanderbilt University with some great character inside. The food was great and the service just as good! The sweet potato casserole and the grits were huge hits!

Helpful?
Thank Jim H
Justin S, Marketing at South Street Original Crab Shack & Authentic Dive Bar, responded to this review

Hey, Jim! We're so glad you chose to stop by while in Nashville and that you enjoyed the grits and the sweet potato casserole. Those are some of our favorites as well. Thanks so much for taking the time to give us this feedback! - Justin More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife ordered the combo platter for 17 dollars, 3 shrimp and 3 oysters... 17 bucks for 3 shrimp and 3 over steamed oysters? The little amount of food we received was ok, nothing special... This place is a joke.

Helpful?
Thank Brett n
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2017 via mobile

This was a pretty cute little place. It was pretty busy Saturday around lunch so we sat at the bar, service was okay. We had breakfast, and it was a lot of food for only $9 and it was pretty good! And they had $2 mimosas also. The walls of this place are garage doors which I assume they open... More 

Helpful?
Thank Whitney L
Justin S, Marketing at South Street Original Crab Shack & Authentic Dive Bar, responded to this review

Hey, Whitney! Thank you so much for giving us this feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your brunch! Please come back and see when the weather gets warm more consistently and we will have the doors up! - Justin More 

Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2017 via mobile

This place is awful!!! Worst food I have had in a long time. Uneatable. I have no idea how their rating is so high. Veggie burger was decent, but the queso dip was the worst thing out group ever tried. The atmosphere was average and the service was good. Wouldn't be a bad place to have a drink, just don't... More 

Helpful?
Thank CaptainJacknCrew
Justin S, Marketing at South Street Original Crab Shack & Authentic Dive Bar, responded to this review

Hey CaptainJacknCrew, Thank you for saying that we would be a good place to have a drink and the service was good. We're sorry to hear that the veggie burger wasn't your favorite and that your experience with our queso dip was enough to warrant a one star review. But we do really appreciate your feedback. We always want our... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2016

We were scheduled to eat here with a meeting I was attending. We were a group of about 20 and we were there at primetime for the dinner crowd. Food was good, service was outstanding. I had a half rack of ribs, they were moist and meaty without too much sauce.

Helpful?
1 Thank Weather27712
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
285 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2016

Judging by the scene outside, part of me was expecting sort of a Joe's Crab Shack vibe, but there was surprisingly little vibe of any kind to speak of. It's basically just a combination of unpainted shiplap and red brick, with not much else in terms of decor. They have a Smokehouse Trio combo plate available, but I went all-in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TheBarbecueFiend
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2016

We were pleased with our visit to this restaurant. It seems to get mixed reviews, but we found the staff welcoming and attentive. The barbeque was enjoyable and seemed authentic.

Helpful?
1 Thank jkwilmingtonde
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

I have been going to South Street since the late 90's and will never set foot in the establishment again. Terrible service - bad staff - and the food is pitiful. I'm hoping a new restaurant can come in and salvage the tree house - it's a great venue.

Helpful?
Thank JRM37027
Bamberg, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2016 via mobile

It has been many years since I have been back to Nashville and many things have changed but the food and staff at South Street is still great.

Helpful?
1 Thank apollo1down

Travelers who viewed South Street Original Crab Shack & Authentic Dive Bar also viewed

 

Been to South Street Original Crab Shack & Authentic Dive Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$20
Cuisine
American, Bar, Seafood, Barbecue, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Full Bar
Good for
Bar scene, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 1:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 1:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 907 20th Ave S, Nashville, TN 37212-2134
  • Location: United States  >  Tennessee (TN)  >  Nashville
  • Phone Number: +1 615-320-5555

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of South Street Original Crab Shack & Authentic Dive Bar and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Elk River, Minnesota
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from South Street Original Crab Shack & Authentic Dive Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Near South Street Original Crab Shack & Authentic Dive Bar