We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
508 Mt Dandenong Tourist Road, Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia
61397511003
Website
Today
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Mon 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Tue - Sun 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Fri - Sun 6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 265: English reviews
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went as a group of 4 (2 couples) for Christmas in July lunch! The atmosphere was ambient, however thhe food was lacklustre at best. The entirety of the meal is a buffet smorgasbord. We started with entrees of cubed cheese with saladas and soup. The soup was tasty and overall the entrees were adequate. They also had seafood such... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richgym30
ManagerAtCuckoo, Guest Relations Manager at Cuckoo Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Richgym30 and thank you for taking the time to write. We are a buffet restaurant but set menu options are available as highlighted on our website for those who might prefer that. The meat carving comment has come up twice this week and is being addressed as this is not acceptable to customer nor management. The beer, as shown... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and l visited the Cuckoo on Thurs 14 July; it has been one of our favourite haunts since we were courting.. We have no complaint about service, cleanliness or ambience, l had a great singalong also. I have had a better meal. Yes it was supposedly Christmas in July. The meat was good the vegetables ordinary.. There was... More 

Helpful?
Thank clairetennant1101
ManagerAtCuckoo, Guest Relations Manager at Cuckoo Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Claire and thank you for taking the time to write. I am glad to hear that there were elements of your experience that are up to our and your expectations. Your main point is value for money and overall we consider $42 for an adult $38 for a senior) for a 4 course buffet plus live entertainment and the... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A warm and family friendly restaurant. The buffet is plentiful and such a cosy place to dine on a cold winter day. We had a lovely table for four right by the fireplace and near the live band. Happily the band is not so loud that you can't talk with your fellow diners. Christmas in July meant that not only... More 

Helpful?
Thank FAinsley
ManagerAtCuckoo, Guest Relations Manager at Cuckoo Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you FAinsley for taking the time to tell us of your experience and we are so glad you enjoyed your visit here at the Cuckoo. The staff here are tremendous and we are thrilled that all their efforts came together to give you a delightful memory. Cheers! More 

DeLand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The pumpkin soup was delicious but, in general, the atmosphere was better than the food. The only choice for lunch was a buffet.

Helpful?
Thank KathyDeLand
ManagerAtCuckoo, Guest Relations Manager at Cuckoo Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Kathy, the Cuckoo has been famous for its buffet for over 58 years but we do now have set menu options (as per our website). We are not a fine dining restaurant and the recipe here is about decent food, lovely staff in traditional costume and themed live music and Bavarian floor show. Cheers! More 

Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The ambiance to this restaurant is fun and welcoming. We went during the Easter break and the kids found an Easter egg each to take home, which they were wrapped about. There was a lovely selection of food which catered for the adults and children. There wasn't an abundance of seafood. Each table received a pot of soup and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grsani
ManagerAtCuckoo, Guest Relations Manager at Cuckoo Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Grsani and thank you for taking the time to write of your experience here at the Cuckoo. We are not a seafood restaurant but have some seafood on the entree buffet plus hot fish on the main buffet. The pancakes are made daily and your comment suggests that the staff member had stepped away for a short period while... More 

Melbourne,
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been coming to the Cuckoo restaurant since I was a little girl and it has not changed one little bit. It's always a fun day out with the family, we all eat too much, sing silly songs, ring cow bells and just generally enjoy it for what it is - it's not the greatest food I've ever had but... More 

Helpful?
Thank KLM3199
ManagerAtCuckoo, Guest Relations Manager at Cuckoo Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks KLM3199 for your review and we are very glad you enjoyed your revisiting :) I have brought to the attention of our Assistant Manger the two points you have raised on the buffet/pancakes so this can be addressed and thank you for mentioning this. See you next year! Cheers from the team at the Cuckoo More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I used to go here as a kid with my family, and had wonderful memories of it. For that reason, I've been looking forward to visiting Cuckoo again with my own family. The atmosphere and surroundings were as I remembered. Although you feel like you have stepped back in time, it didn't feel dated and old to me, just quirky... More 

Helpful?
Thank ShaAndOllie
ManagerAtCuckoo, Guest Relations Manager at Cuckoo Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi ShaAndOllie and thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed the atmosphere and appreciate the efforts of our great staff. New management is working with the Head Chef to address the concerns you have raised to make sure the buffet experience is always special. I can assure all that the desserts are replenished many times throughout each... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I as well as our daughter and four grandchildren attended the Christmas in July buffet lunch on Tuesday 5 July. Whilst the setting was Christmassy and the staff were very polite and helpful unfortunately the food left a lot to be desired. The soup which was tasty was luke warm and the beef was tough or perhaps... More 

Helpful?
Thank disco9469
ManagerAtCuckoo, Guest Relations Manager at Cuckoo Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Disco9469 and thank you for taking the time to write of your experience. You will be happy to know we have new management that is working hard to introduce new branding, new ideas, improvements to the building, buffet, floor show and entire experience here at the Cuckoo. It will be an incremental adjustment so as not to put off... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not fine dining but plenty on buffet, can't leave hungry - we thought we were in Bavaria! Fun, complete with live music and beer. Beautiful setting in Olinda.

Helpful?
Thank tildix2016
ManagerAtCuckoo, Guest Relations Manager at Cuckoo Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your review - we have captured the nostalgia of Bavaria just so you can enjoy it - glad it was a success :) More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have been to the Cuckoo every year in July for my husbands birthday for the last 18 years. Sadly I think it will be our last. We've always loved this place but as soon as we walked in, we noticed a difference. The entire restaurant on both sides used to be FULL, with a wonderful ambience regardless of the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank vbop
ManagerAtCuckoo, Guest Relations Manager at Cuckoo Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi vbop and thank you for taking the time to write. You are correct in noting that things have changed and that we have new management who have had to make changes to counter the increased cost of goods and services that are necessary to run a restaurant the size of the Cuckoo. We are sorry that you were not... More 

Travelers who viewed Cuckoo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cuckoo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$20 - $49
Cuisine
German, Fast Food, European, Gluten Free
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 508 Mt Dandenong Tourist Road, Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Olinda
  • Phone Number: 61397511003
Description
THE CUCKOO RESTAURANT Wunderbar! Situated in the stunning Dandenong Ranges, just 50 minutes from Melbourne, the Cuckoo is close to popular tourist destinations like Puffing Billy Railway and Healesville Sanctuary. This buzzing 400 seat restaurant offers a delectable smorgasbord in a warm and welcoming family atmosphere. Convenient set menu options are now available Tuesday to Friday. Decorated in the style of a Bavarian chalet and with staff dressed in traditional costume, The Cuckoo has been attracting locals and visitors from all over the world for nearly sixty years. With an abundance of food to satisfy all, the delicious international smorgasbord is prepared by first class chefs and the amazing range of cakes and pastries are made fresh daily. Most dietary needs can be catered for. The set menu changes monthly and offers Soup of the Day with a selection of German breads, a choice of 4 mains, a dessert and includes a glass of wine, beer or soft drink. Live entertainment at each session includes music and a floor show, cow bell ringing and yodelling equal to any in Bavaria The Cuckoo also offers wedding celebrations with receptions planned and staged beautifully with views of the surrounding mountain ash forest. For getaway couples, a family day out or large festive party groups the Cuckoo Restaurant offers the beauty of the Dandenong's, sumptuous and generous meals plus entertaining events throughout the year at very competitive rates. Bookings are essential

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Cuckoo Restaurant and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Cuckoo Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?