We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Metung Hotel

1 Kurnai Avenue | Avenue, Metung, Victoria 3904, Australia
+61 3 5156 2206
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good43%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“flounder” (17 reviews)
“flathead tails” (23 reviews)
“seafood” (37 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, Pub, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Kurnai Avenue | Avenue, Metung, Victoria 3904, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

A huge menu which is anchored by many seafood dishes from the daily catch on the Gippsland Lakes. Wonderful food and the view across the Lakes is magic. As the sun sets you can gaze across the water with a drink in hand and say,...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank John C
706DavidS, Owner at Metung Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks John C, you are a fine judge haha cheers.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not sure how there is a single negative review for this venue. Based on the loacal seafood we had this would have to be one of the best dining experiences we've had.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank thatlocalguy
706DavidS, Owner at Metung Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks thatlocalguy we really appreciate your review. We serve approx. 3000 meals per week sometime in summer up to 900 per day. We get a few grizzles and I guess that's to be expected with the share volume of customers. We try to be something...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Huge portions, terrible ambience. Mainly fried and quite greasy. Canteen like nature. Was our only option as other main restaurant in town had burnt down

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Anth0ny999
706DavidS, Owner at Metung Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry you feel this way. I dispute the mainly fried comment we have over 35 dishes on our menu and only the fish and chips is fried.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for lunch and had the flathead tails. I asked if they could crumb them and they said no. I got served 5 very small pieces of fish that looked big because two thirds of it was the oily batter that I had to...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 521jonw
706DavidS, Manager at Metung Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

JonW, our flathead tails are of commercial size and we do not buy undersize fish. If you don't like batter maybe try the tempura fish which is light batter or one of our 4 other options of grilled, fresh, oven baked or chargrilled fish available....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place has an awesome selection of meals available to suit any taste. You wont get many better views while eating your meal or having a beer then looking out the front through the glass onto the water. Sunday Sippers on a fine day it...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank R8544ZYmatthewg
706DavidS, Manager at Metung Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thankyou really appreciate the nice words.

Reviewed November 6, 2018

We went with no Booking on a Friday night that was packed to the rafters and was looked after really well every effort was made to make us comfortable while waited on a table. the food was fantastic and the patrons a lot of fun

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Marven6667
706DavidS, Manager at Metung Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2018

Thanks

Reviewed November 6, 2018

The food is very good on a par with a good restaurant but pricing for drinks is very high.The atmosphere and ambiance is excellent if you are close to the windows overlooking the water .The staff are very good we found on the night.But you...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank jestyv
706DavidS, Owner at Metung Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2018

Thanks Cheers

Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

For some reason I just don’t like this place. My first experience was poor, but not their fault: I turned up without a booking and was turned away. I studied the reviews, and I am always impatient with management responses saying “you should have told...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Alecmcq
706DavidS, Owner at Metung Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2018

Thanks Alec

Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

Picture perfect location with good food but a lack of service makes for an average experience. Worth going for the setting but only the once.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank myles241
706DavidS, Owner at Metung Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2018

Thanks Myles, was one of our busiest days of the year and I am sure our staff did their very best. Pleased you liked the food and amenity. Cheers.

Reviewed November 2, 2018 via mobile

We called in for lunch- last order 1.45pm! Ordered a Tempura Seafood Platter $35.90 to share. At this price we expected a little more seafood, however it was crispy and the sauce was good with the mountain of shoe-string fries that occupied most of the...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank SueDen27
706DavidS, Manager at Metung Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2018

The Tempura Platter is for one person there is an option for two available as well.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Esplanade Resort & Spa
646 reviews
6.60 miles away
Lakes Entrance Heyfield Motel & Apartments
232 reviews
6.76 miles away
Banjo Paterson Motor Inn
111 reviews
6.79 miles away
Comfort Inn & Suites Emmanuel
166 reviews
6.81 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Nautica restaurant & bar Metung
306 reviews
.05 miles away
Bancroft Bites
251 reviews
.06 miles away
Effloresce Flowers
48 reviews
.09 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Riviera Nautic
59 reviews
.82 miles away
Culinaire Cooking School
12 reviews
5.32 miles away
Raymond Island
285 reviews
7.13 miles away
Norm Neilson Fine Art Photography
9 reviews
.90 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Metung Hotel staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$9 - $25
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Bar scene, Scenic view, Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Kurnai Avenue | Avenue, Metung, Victoria 3904, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Gippsland  >  Metung
  • Phone Number: +61 3 5156 2206
  • E-mail
Description
Situated on the shores of Bancroft Bay in the heart of Gippsland Lakes, Australia's largest inland waterway, the village of Metung has been a premier resort area for nearly 100 years. Metung Hotel is located on 4644 sq mt land on the magnificent waters of Bancroft Bay in the Gippsland Lakes. Lunch served 12-2 and dinner 6-8 daily (8.30 holiday season). Bar opens at 11am. We only close Christmas Day. Come and visit us for a drink, something to eat and or watch the Pelicans being fed everyday at 12.00 noon sharp. If its a nice day, why not have a drink on the boardwalk, right on the water. Maybe bring your boat and tie up. If you don't have a boat you can hire one locally.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing