We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The rusty windmill

) #1 of 16 Restaurants in Leongatha $$ - $$$ Cafe, , Gluten Free Options
45 McCartin St, Leongatha, Victoria 3953, Australia
+61 3 5662 5878
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good34%
  • Average6%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible0%
2 days ago
“A local beauty”
1 week ago
“Vibrant and friendly!”
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Australian, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
45 McCartin St, Leongatha, Victoria 3953, Australia
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Up here on a work trip and stumbled across this eatery. Food is tasty and fresh with huge servings. The taste of gippsland platter was delicious and the coffee is made to perfection. Highly recommend a visit if you are passing through!

Thank Di_Australia1302
Reviewed 1 week ago

Disappointing experience. Overpriced food with absolutely no taste and was soggy from being microwaved. People were friendly and decor was lovely but won't be back.

Thank laurenoneill
TheRustyWindmillCafe, Owner at The rusty windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Lauren, Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our food at The Rusty. Could you please let us know what meal you order so we can have a look at it. Regards, Michael & Krisha

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My family and I were super excited to spend a day together on a nearby rail trail with my lovely dog Piper. We wanted to find a nice place to eat lunch after and pretty much accepted that we would be eating on a rickety...More

Thank catecatecate93
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A very tasty morning tea. Actual Peppermint Tea with leafs and Gluten Free Cheese Cake. Will be back and will recommend.

Thank Ellen F
Reviewed May 16, 2017

Had a pleasant lunch here recently. Prices seemed reasonable and it was quite busy which is always a good sign.

Thank Jo M
Reviewed May 11, 2017 via mobile

Leaving Melbourne early to avoid traffic means NO coffee. We have found the perfect little nook- it hides just a little. Fabulous coffee, lovely in house made goodies. Delightful owners. An absolute winner.

Thank shosh22
Reviewed May 7, 2017 via mobile

I arrived here after a less than pleasant night accommodation and was delighted by the warm welcome and then one of the most superb breakfasts I have enjoyed - very fresh free-range eggs, good sourdough bread with salmon that had real flavour. A fantastic breakfast!...More

Thank Carolyn A
Reviewed April 22, 2017

The food, atmosphere and ambient were absolutely first class. Easy to find and the staff were very courteous. Thoroughly recommend dining here. We will be back.

Thank Norm N
Reviewed April 9, 2017

Hi there, We went there thinking it looked like a nice atmosphere. After Driving to Toora from Diamond Creek. (North east subs of Melbourne) To pick up a car. Anyway My kids where hungry, and not much open, we went to the hungry windmill. Four...More

Thank Ross S
TheRustyWindmillCafe, Owner at The rusty windmill, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2017

Hi Ross, Sorry the hear that you did not have a enjoyable visit to The Rusty Windmill. To start off i would like to say that in no way do any of the staff have any issue with people with disabilities. We are and always...More

Reviewed March 21, 2017 via mobile

We stopped for lunch on the way back to Melbourne after a beach getaway and the sight of bonsoy after three days without coffee was beyond exciting. Choosing lunch was difficult as everything looked divine, but I went with a risotto cake and my partner...More

Thank Liz L
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Number 9 Dream Cafe
57 reviews
.14 miles away
McCartin's Hotel Bistro
41 reviews
.14 miles away
Leongatha Rsl
35 reviews
.20 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Lucinda Estate Wines
18 reviews
1.34 miles away
Coal Creek Community Park and Museum
118 reviews
6.58 miles away
Mossvale Park
5 reviews
7.98 miles away
Stony Creek Go Karts
13 reviews
9.02 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
veronica c
Is there a liquor license?
October 13, 2015|
Answer
Response from TheRustyWindmillCafe | Property representative |
Hi Veronica, Thanks for contacting us. Unfortunately at the moment we do not have a liquor license but we are working on getting one in the very near future. Kind Regards, Michael & Krisha
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$5 - $17
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Waitstaff, Reservations
Good for
Families with children, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 45 McCartin St, Leongatha, Victoria 3953, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Gippsland  >  Leongatha
  • Phone Number: +61 3 5662 5878
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing