We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hare Inn at Scawton

Scawton Village, Scawton, Helmsley YO7 2HG, England
+44 1845 597769
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent91%
  • Very good5%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“tasting menu” (53 reviews)
“mackerel” (16 reviews)
“beef” (24 reviews)
Closes in 12 min
All hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Scawton Village, Scawton, Helmsley YO7 2HG, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate here for the first time, previously having eaten at the Star and the Black Swan. We alos ate again at the Star on this trip. However this is now our firm favourite! It was a quite wet mid week night but we (4...More

Thank Brasser T
Reviewed 1 week ago

My title is probably misleading as it isn't really a meal but a taste bud experience, Liz who runs the front of house so brilliantly along with her very talented husband Paul and just one other in the kitchen continue to blow us away with...More

Thank foodyYorkshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went there having seen the reviews on trip advisor as we were going to Yorkshire for a quick overnight visit. The restaurant is in the middle of nowhere, but the food would be quite at home in the best restaurants in any city. This...More

Thank Mike F
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just had a wonderful meal here, 9 fabulous courses, all great ingredients done in quite complex ways, fully justified by the resulting taste and texture combinations (and they looked great too). Three beautiful fish courses (based on stone bass, razor clams/crayfish, and mackerel), two meat...More

2  Thank john m
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had the tasting menu with the wine flight and although the menu looked as if we would not like an item it turned out to be delicious. The wines fitted in well and we were well attended by the staff. It was very relaxed...More

Thank marklC1768VE
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I were given a gift voucher recently. When booking our Friday evening meal, I failed to inform the staff that I was vegetarian until the afternoon before our reservation. Despite it being a set taster menu that evening, the staff did everything...More

Thank DriffEater
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

Visited for a joint birthday celebration with friends. The staff were excellent ,friendly and informative..They explained the dishes and wine selections in uncomplicated terms. We had the 6 course taster menu with wine and could not fault any of the food or wine selections. All...More

Thank RCSB
Reviewed August 12, 2017

Bit out of the way, but well worth the trip for blow-out meal. Tasting menu highlights include dexter beef with salty bits, stone bass and lamb (two ways). Very welcoming and knowledgable staff, excellent wine. For us, the food and overall experience knocked the socks...More

Thank mrbantam
Reviewed August 11, 2017

The best dining experience we have ever had. Warm and welcoming, completely unpretentious and world class food served by smiley and knowledgeable Liz and Roxanne. Every dish on the nine course tasting menu was special in terms of taste, texture and presentation. The wine pairings...More

Thank Paul556
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

I've reviewed this restaurant before so won't say much now other than that it is superb. Absolutely fantastic. This is fine dining at its best! Thank you.

Thank Wrecktor
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Black Swan at Oldstead
855 reviews
2.45 miles away
The Forresters Arms
95 reviews
3.21 miles away
White Horse Inn
195 reviews
3.52 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Byland Abbey
174 reviews
2.76 miles away
National Centre for Birds of Prey
1,012 reviews
3.37 miles away
Ampleforth Abbey
206 reviews
4.22 miles away
Rievaulx Abbey
1,009 reviews
1.99 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
nudger1
April 3, 2017|
Answer
Response from Liz and Paul J | Property representative |
Hi Thankyou for your message. Unfortunately not. We do have a small bar currently where you can dine in however it is not as comfortable as in the restaurant. If you wish to find out more do email us direct or call us on... More
1
Vote
Oliviajburnsxx
October 9, 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Liz and Paul J | Property representative |
Hello, Thanks for the question. Yes we can accommodate Gluten free and Coeliac. We ask that if you do have any dietary requirement including vegetarian, nuts, Gluten free, coeliac etc that you notify us at the time of... More
0
Votes
rubyandviolet
August 12, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Karen G | Reviewed this property |
I wouldn't think so because it is a smart restaurant. However, they may allow them at lunchtime. Perhaps you might give them a call to ask - they are lovely people - and they would be best placed to answer your query.
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$74 - $95
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating
Good for
Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Open Hours
Wednesday
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Scawton Village, Scawton, Helmsley YO7 2HG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Helmsley  >  Scawton
  • Phone Number: +44 1845 597769
  • E-mail
Description
13th Century Inn, 21st Century Restaurant, The Hare is tucked away in the very south of the Moors. We offer Tasting menus, each dish is individually designed to showcase our team's ability, local produce at its finest and to incorporate different cooking techniques including both modern and traditional methods. Our personalities are reflected on each individual plate.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing