We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Heol Maengwyn, Machynlleth SY20 8AE, Wales
(01654) 702941
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 119: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

We'd been turned away by Plas Dolguog because they'd double booked us. Luckily, the lovely staff at Wynnstay came to the rescue. We had a lovely big room – and were upgraded after hearing our terrible story about the unhelpful staff at Plas Dolguog Hotel! The evening meal and breakfast were absolutely fantastic – and we had a particularly nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cukoo1
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

The pizza's were great and would recommend . However not much choice of drinks and the place could do with a good make over as tables and chairs look like they belong in a greasy spoon and slate floor gives a cold feel to the place . As for the car park , this is a real mess and needs... More 

Helpful?
Thank cliff d
Perchennog, Owner at Wynnstay, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Sheila and I have only very recently take over The Wynnstay from the receivers. We have embarked on a program of renovation and refreshment. We are having work done to the cellar of the Pizzeria to offer more drinks - draught lager, bitter and cider and single state wines on tap. Sorry you don't like... More 

Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

Just stopped in for lunch today - didn't look very appealing from the outside and I actually only went in because the pub around the corner was too busy with queues at the bar. Good real ale and interesting menu and staff very attentive and friendly. Barman wasn't really "on the ball" and was a bit clever for his own... More 

Helpful?
Thank Monty028
Perchennog, Owner at Wynnstay, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have only very recently taken over and are still getting everything order - which includes tidying up the exterior. However, we feel that the inside is more important to get right first. There is so much to do but we are on our way. Charles & Sheila More 

Anglesey Wales
Level Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2016

Called here in mid-Jan to find signs saying "closed until further notice". That was a shame as it was a good stop on the long journey north to south or vice versa. Its now reopened and we managed to get a table calling on speck in the pizzeria on a Friday night. Apart from us being happy that it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frances J
Perchennog, Owner at Wynnstay, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are very happy to have re-opened The Wynnstay. there is lots to do but we have made a start. Charles & Sheila. New Owners More 

Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2016 via mobile

Dropped in for a coffee and stayed for lunch as we waited for the clouds and rain to clear from the Welsh coast. The place has character, no doubt about that. The staff are obliging. But the olives with roasted peppers and artichokes is worth avoiding! Very bland. If I hadn't shared mine with my wife and mixed our 2... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob S
Perchennog, Owner at Wynnstay, responded to this review

Thank you. We have only just taken over The Wynnstay (second half of March) and re-opned it after it was closed at the end of last year. There were no staff in place and a massive cleaning job to be done. Sorry the food disappointed, we should have preferred to sort something for you at the time. We were very... More 

Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,003 reviews
414 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 545 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2016

I note a previous reviewer commenting re this place struggling for business and being up for sale. I don't know if those observations were accurate, but based on the evidence of our attempted visit I can see how he might have come to that conclusion. On a one night stopover in Machynlleth I indulged in my usual passion of visiting... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnhouston2
Perchennog, Owner at Wynnstay, responded to this review

Hello, The Wynnstay was closed by the previous owners just after Christmas and out in the hand of receivers. We were granted a tenancy the week you visited, with just 24 hours notice. We had no staff. But we have now. We are up and running and business is growing. We have two chefs going to join our brigade in... More 

Fairbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2016

I've spent many a happy Christmas party in the Bistro and taken breakfast alone in the restaurant and can highly recommend for singles, families and travellers. The ambience is perfectly satisfying

Helpful?
Thank Julia W
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2016

The standard of food at the Wynnstay is truly excellent. Lots of quality local produce (including game) imaginatively treated with a real eye for quality. Cosy snug with fire or more formal dining room. The building generally looks in need of a little TLC but you won't notice when you tuck in!

Helpful?
Thank Alifosbury251
Llanon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

We didnt stay here but we did have lunch here, The menu read well but slightly disappointed with the food when it arrived. Average is the best description I can offer, the service was good but a jug of water served with no drinking glasses.led me to believe that the sudden influx of diners caused minor panic...Could be so much... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LlanonGilly
Perchennog, Owner at Wynnstay, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. Sadly the Wynnstay closed soon after your visit but we, as new owners, have re-opened the dear old place and standards are rising all round - especially with the food. We hope you will call in again. Charles & Sheila More 

Bordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

We did not stay in the hotel, just ate Sunday lunch. One's choices in Machynlleth out of season on a Sunday are certainly limited, but we were here for a family gathering and famished; I chose this hotel because I used to visit Machynlleth regularly but had never eaten here. We arrived at 10 minutes to 2 o'clock and were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kevinfff
Perchennog, Owner at Wynnstay, responded to this review

Sadly, not long after your visit, The Wynnstay was closed by the previous owners. We took over in late march and re-opened. We have give the place a massive clean and are working hard to really provide the sort of offering `The Wynnstay deserves. We have new chefs coming in. Sunday lunch has improved already and more improvements are planned.... More 

Travelers who viewed Wynnstay also viewed

Machynlleth, Powys
 
Machynlleth, Powys
 

Been to Wynnstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Pizza, British, Welsh
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Highchairs Available, Full Bar
Good for
Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Heol Maengwyn, Machynlleth SY20 8AE, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Powys  >  Machynlleth
  • Phone Number: (01654) 702941

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wynnstay staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?