We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Picture House

24-26 Princes Drive, Colwyn Bay LL29 8LA, Wales
+44 1492 535286
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good41%
  • Average14%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible11%
Travelers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
24-26 Princes Drive, Colwyn Bay LL29 8LA, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called in for breakfast had large breakfast and partner had small breakfast, both were just about warm, went to the coffee machine... out of coffee. The man came and filled it so i went for the second time this time the machine was out of...More

Thank Samantha J
picture h, Manager at The Picture House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello Samatha, We are terribly sorry about your negative experience with us. Along with the convenience of the new coffee machines comes a learning curve for us which we clearly did not have mastered on your visit with us, which led to a delay in...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had initially said first and only visit, as it was a very poor experience in July I did try to contact the manager but couldn't get an answer at the time. Anyway we have been in 3 times since to give it a good...More

Thank Steve P
picture h, Manager at The Picture House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are certainly glad you came back to try us again and hopefully that bad experience you had remains a one off. Unfortunately we are unable to change the serving spec of meals such...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we always visit a wetherspoons when we are away we just visited Colwyn bay for a few hours as the weather was not very good for walking around so we nipped in for a quick coffee the picture house was very nice staff are very...More

1  Thank dave777qq
picture h, Manager at The Picture House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad you are impressed with the new refillable coffee offer. I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to the team.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As with most (not all) spoons I've been too the food was hot and of a good quality. Service when we called was good and very efficient. Will be back for breakfast again.

1  Thank Swob T
picture h, Manager at The Picture House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'll be sure to pass your kind words on to the rest of the team. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Cottage small like Morrisions value customer service skills shocking waited half hour , staff shocking not Recommended . Don’t even get tarter sauce with fish and chips or salt vinegarMore

1  Thank coolmaty
picture h, Manager at The Picture House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

I deeply apologise about any issues you may have with our staff during your recent visit to our establishment. From looking at our in comprehensive reports available on food delivery times, I have no record of any meals taking more than 15 minutes between order...More

Reviewed November 26, 2017

Visited here for a beer and early evening meal before a concert. Only negative I can think of was that Weatherspoons don't seem to have much of a choice of guest ales nowadays. We went in early, just after 5pm on a Saturday afternoon, as...More

Thank Llanarmonlass
picture h, Manager at The Picture House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Extremely glad to hear you enjoyed your recent trip to The Picture House. One of our key focuses at the moment is increasing the range of beers we have available at any one time by using at least seven of our eight lines at once....More

Reviewed November 23, 2017

It's standard 'spoons, so nothing out of the ordinary, but staff here were particularly helpful and pleasant.

Thank ChrisBartram
picture h, Manager at The Picture House, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2017

Hi Chris Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'll be sure to pass your kind words on to the rest of the team. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future

Reviewed November 4, 2017 via mobile

These Wetherspoons used to be cheap & cheerful, now they’re dearer and downright miserable! Never, ever eat here - 4 of us did and me & my mate were sick the next day! Funnily enough we thought the meat (curry) tasted a bit odd, but...More

2  Thank Andyhailsfromwales
Jason C, Manager at The Picture House, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2017

Hi Andy I'm sorry to hear that your last visit with us was not up to our usual standard. We serve hundreds of meals a week and take any complaints about our food making people sick very seriously. Out of the 100+ curries we sell...More

Reviewed October 30, 2017

We wanted some cheap good drinks.. wetherspoons always fit this bill . ordered some food too . used the app and never left the table.. Great surroundings. friendly staff food fitted the bill too. and obviously prices were good.More

Thank maccavvy
Jason C, Manager at The Picture House, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2017

It's always great to hear back from our happy customers. I'm glad to hear that on your recent visit you had a chance to try out our new App. Hopefully you found it easy to use and much more convenient. With having quite a few...More

Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile

A once busy pub is now just a poor shadow of it's former self,You are greeted if that's what you call it by arrogant rude staff who have no real interest in serving anyone that's if you are lucky enough to find someone to serve...More

2  Thank phil j
Jason C, Manager at The Picture House, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2017

Hi Phil I'm sorry to hear that your recent visit with us was not up to our usual standard. I will be sitting down with the staff and management team over the next few weeks to work with them on our front of house service...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Colwyn Bay Hotels
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
559 reviews
.28 miles away
Bryn Holcombe
159 reviews
.46 miles away
Marine Hotel
36 reviews
1.01 miles away
Lyndale Hotel & Restaurant
58 reviews
1.55 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Virgilio's Pizzeria & Portugese Grill
405 reviews
.05 miles away
The Station
420 reviews
.11 miles away
Flat White Cafe
112 reviews
.05 miles away
New China Garden Chinese Restaurant
173 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bayview Shopping Centre
48 reviews
.17 miles away
Bay Gallery
13 reviews
.07 miles away
Pwllycrochan Woods Local Nature Reserve
13 reviews
.35 miles away
Colwyn Bay Library
8 reviews
.21 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Picture House staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
8:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 24-26 Princes Drive, Colwyn Bay LL29 8LA, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Conwy County  >  Colwyn Bay
  • Phone Number: +44 1492 535286
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing