We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Rowardennan
Post
Inbox
Search

The Rowardennan Hotel Restaurant

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
View all details
meals, features

Location and contact

Improve this listing
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
53
68
57
34
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
53
68
57
34
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips pizza west highland way rowardennan hotel ben lomond the pub stayed here first class one night lovely staff room views walk dog clansman rain morning
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 241 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2019 via mobile

We came as a group of 4 from Glasgow on this dreich winter day, Unsure of what was in store for our dining experience on the bay. Alas we were not disappointed, in fact quite the opposite, For we rearranged the furniture, and by the...More

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Vkay4
Reviewed November 8, 2019 via mobile

I walked into the pub after climbing Ben Lomond for a late lunch. Walked up to the bar and the bartender was on her phone for a good 10 seconds before she acknowledged us. She clearly didn’t want to be there by her tone of...More

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Amber C
Reviewed November 1, 2019

The hotel and the hotel pub are both grand, but they have recently contracted Civil Enforcement Ltd to impose parking charges in the hotel car park. This is one of the private parking companies that use video to film the car park. I was parked...More

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank OJDr
Reviewed October 26, 2019 via mobile

Stopped in for coffee, small and pricey at 2.80. Looked at the menu as we considered a light lunch but 14.50 for a chicken burger with fries and no salad garnish we decided not to bother. Poor show guys..

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank 47tim
Reviewed October 14, 2019

I stayed at Rowardennan hotel during my west highland way walk. It was a very pleasant and walker friendly place. The only problem I had was that I got the feeling the owners didn't know which type of clientele they were serving. As a walker...More

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Captain-slog10
Reviewed October 7, 2019

I didn't think that this little pub was bad at all. We had a bit of lunch after climbing Ben Lomond and the 2 of us plus the dog were made to feel very welcome. The food was decent if not spectacular and all in...More

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank john s
Reviewed September 21, 2019 via mobile

According to the menu no food the provide is gluten free. When asked staff gave conflicting information. Staff very unhappy and very unhelpful. When tried to complain no one was available!!More

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank rhooseboy_11
RowardennanHotel, General Manager at The Rowardennan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your experience with us and the confusion about the gluten free option on the menu. The soup is gluten free with the option of gluten...More

Reviewed August 7, 2019 via mobile

Was staying in the hotel (which is very good btw) and due to there not being much else nearby, decided to eat in the bar on a Saturday evening. During the day the bar is busy with a good through fare of walkers and campers....More

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank 816TomB816
RowardennanHotel, General Manager at The Rowardennan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Reviewed July 25, 2019

We stopped in here for lunch while on a trip around Loch Lomond. It was awful. Very expensive, tiny bowl of watery lentil soup and a half frozen bread roll, accompanied by poor service from surly staff, getting the wrong meal delivered to our table...More

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank ShirleyValentine484
RowardennanHotel, General Manager at The Rowardennan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so saddened to read about your experience with us. This is not our usual standard. We hope you come back again and we are confident you will enjoy your visit.

Reviewed July 21, 2019

One thing you can normally expect from hotels like this is a good hearty meal with home made soup. Unfortunately they seem to have gone a bit to modern rather than good Scottish staples. The haggis bites were way too greasy to be enjoyed. We...More

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Brian7392
RowardennanHotel, General Manager at The Rowardennan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Lodge on Loch Lomond
3,140 reviews
3.12 miles away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
917 reviews
3.38 miles away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
1,013 reviews
4.59 miles away
Claymore Hotel
1,817 reviews
5.25 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
The Village Rest
1,347 reviews
3.36 miles away
Tarbet Tea Room
149 reviews
4.66 miles away
Coach House Coffee Shop
765 reviews
3.34 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Ben Lomond
210 reviews
2.84 miles away
Cruise Loch Lomond
377 reviews
3.29 miles away
Loch Lomond Leisure Scotland
584 reviews
3.29 miles away
Luss Pier
332 reviews
3.29 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
tammy1454
October 11, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Donna D | Reviewed this property |
Hi - the outdoor company looks like it is based on hotel land, very close to the hotel, but I am sure that the hotel would be able to put you in touch with the company. I did walk straight past it while walking part of the... More
1
Vote
Teresa G
May 1, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from mags1941 | Reviewed this property |
Don't remember seeing any dogs,but as it is the type of hotel that caters for walkers I'm pretty sure they will do. Better check with the hotel to be sure.
0
Votes
Rosemary H
October 1, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Logo4 | Reviewed this property |
They have lots of hikers and are very tolerant of people in walking gear, so I don't think you need to worry.
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing