We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal an Lochan Restaurant

$$ - $$$
Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Shore Road, Tighnabruaich PA21 2BE, Scotland
+44 1700 811239
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 88: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2014

I have had many trips to Tighnabruaich this year and finally this week my friend and I decided it was time to have a meal in The Royal. We popped into the shinty bar for a drink one afternoon and enquired about the menu.....two nights later and we were booked for dinner. The dinner was amazing! I had mussels to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alison M
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review. We hope you will return soon, our menu changes seasonally, although The Royal Scampi and Chips will be staying on for a little while longer as it is so popular. Best wishes. Christine More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely meal here last night. We hadn't booked but received a warm welcome on arrival, we were shown to a nice lounge area to enjoy a drink while choosing from the menu. We had a table in the restaurant looking out over the loch and my scallops and langoustines were fresh, tasty and well presented. It's not cheap... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robllewellyn
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We do pride ourselves in sourcing good quality, fresh produce, however, unfortunately that does not always come as cheap as others expect, but I think the taste of our food, the way you were greeted and the views make it all worth while. From myself and all the... More 

Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

We had just finished a wonderful fishing trip on the Norah ( see DC Marine) and wanted some well cooked seafood. Found this place on the village and went into the shinty bar. I ordered the langoustine and my wife the scallops. Kids had burgers and gouging of chicken. The burgers looked good. The chicken portion was small and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigelandsusan
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan Restaurant, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not feel you got value for money eating in our bar. Our menus in both the restaurant and bar describe the langoustines to be simply poached in their shells in white wine and lemon juice and this is how most seafood restaurants will serve them, all the local eateries are competitive on pricing their dishes... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

“You’re not just a number, you’re a person” is the slogan of this hotel, which on this evidence they might like to express the other way round. Let us start with their alleged dinner service. Remember the ‘Waldorf salad’ episode of Fawlty Towers, where the American guest reacts with outrage to being told after a five-hour drive that dinner stops... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank 350JCM
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan Restaurant, responded to this review

I have chosen to take my time in responding to your review. I wish I had the time to go into each detail of everything you have mentioned and explain to the rest of our readers that it was not really so. The only thing I will apologise for is the time taken to get your bar food to you,... More 

goole
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

we visited the royal on friday evening with myself and a group of friends who visit tighnabruaich every year. Having not eaten in the royal for a couple of years we booked in and were kindly greeted by the staff. Upon arrival we were sat in a cosy lounge area and left to settle before quickly being served our drinks.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank foodforager1
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan Restaurant, responded to this review

Gosh we had some real foodies in your group. Can I just mention we still don't have any Cranberry Sauce, sorry! (private joke) We take on board your comments about the langoustine although you will find they are competitively priced with all the local restaurants and yes we do get some monster langoustine but we also get mediocre ones. With... More 

ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Booked a surprise birthday night away at this hotel as my wife's family originated from Kames. The drive round was as usual spectacular as the weather was good. We had upgraded to a loch facing room and was given the to of the house. Spectacular views, as we were sitting enjoying the view the paddle steamer Waverley passed by. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cab23
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Unfortunately, old buildings like this were never designed to have showers let alone give us the water pressure we expect in the modern day. We are going through a process of replacing some of the gravity fed showers for electric ones but this takes time and is more complicated than... More 

Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Called in here for a drink & something to eat after a long drive with two families, host was totally unwelcoming ushered us quiet rudely from a residence lounge (even though empty) to a dingy bar area- forget whatever is on location location had a drink & left quickly

Helpful?
5 Thank Claire H
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan Restaurant, responded to this review

As always there are two sides to a story and below are the facts:- Yes you did come in to our hotel one lunch time and ask about having some drinks outside, to which Keith took your order and said he would bring them out to you. As Keith was taking them outside he found your large group in the... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We enjoyed the cosiness of the bar and the bar food. The staff members were very helpful. We had read trip advisor before we went to Tighnabruaich and we were not disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am sorry it has taken me so long to reply. We are glad you were not disappointed in the Shinty Bar and maybe we can suggest next time you are in the area that you book for dinner in the Restaurant with its lovely views across the Kyles... More 

SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Popped into The Royal last weekend whilst staying at Portavardie Marina during a wet damp visit to Tignahbruaich . Decided to pop in for some drinks and maybe Sunday Lunch depending on first impressions plus I am always on the look out for a hidden gem for future outings... Sadly never got that far. Being a party of ten adults... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank SMEESHScotland
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is unfortunate that you have not seen Tighnabruaich at its best, it is a beautiful village. With regard to your visit at our hotel, as you pointed out, our 'residents lounge' is as it states for residents and with a few rooms checking that afternoon our manager made to... More 

Inverkip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Loved all of the three course meal. From starters to pudding we couldn't fault it. Great food and great service.

Helpful?
Thank Gaz267
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a lovely review. We try very hard to make your dining experience a good one, right from the moment you walk through the door to when we offer you your coats and say goodbye. We look forward to welcoming you back. Many thanks, Christine More 

Travelers who viewed The Royal an Lochan Restaurant also viewed

Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Royal an Lochan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Scottish
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shore Road, Tighnabruaich PA21 2BE, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Argyll and Bute  >  Tighnabruaich
  • Phone Number: +44 1700 811239

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Royal an Lochan Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?