We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Lime Kiln

Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Almondvale Parkway, Livingston EH54 6QT, Scotland
01506410661
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

518 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 518: English reviews
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I ate here once with a group of friends. The decor was good and first impressions were also. They do cheap meals but it soon became evident as to why they were cheap. It is clearly a "frozen meals" menu. I wouldn't rush back but it may be ok for some people. I would imagine families with children may enjoy... More 

Helpful?
Thank HowieMac
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just had a great meal at a great place value for money. Great comfortable place and very relaxing would recommend

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank eileenm216
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your visit to us, and we are more than thrilled that we exceeded your expectations More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We visited here on Tuesday 9/8 at my son's request. He had just received his exam results and we were going for lunch to celebrate. As it was on a Tuesday your Special Big Plate Deal was on. My son chose the sausage n mash in a giant Yorkshire pudding. It was so large he couldn't finish it. My husband... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jumpingjacs001
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Its great to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you again soon More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Popped in for the all day breakfast, what a plate full! We were served in minutes! Ally's service was spot on and Dory gets the thumbs up, as the meals were cooked to perfection. We will definitely be back!

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank tommK8563UH
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review and we look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This is our 2nd visit to this restaurant and was still impressed.....this time I had my 14 year old with us... Mainly a family pub with an adult section, we sat here the last time but due to my son being under 18 we couldn't sit here and opted for a booth no 10 in the corner. Although geared up... More 

Helpful?
Thank donnamclean565
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I will pass them to,the team who will be delighted. We look forward to welcoming you again when you are in the area More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We often pop in for a cheap and cheerful quick lunch. Nothing noteworthy but the homely welcome and accommodating service makes up for it.

Helpful?
Thank Polyana63
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

I would like to thank you on your feedback, we are glad you enjoy the service and that we make you feel homely. but if you have any suggestions on what we might be lacking, I'd be glad to accept that feedback as well to help us improve More 

scotland uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Used to go here a lot but the amount of football fans hanging around outside smoking is a bit off putting if your going in with children,it's a shame as the foods nice and the service is good

Helpful?
1 Thank bertaneilscotland
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

I am disappointed that you feel this way, I do however ensure you that our children and family section is still available and not disturb in anyway with the football fans who are within the premises. they are not in the slightest unruly. we do welcome all guests. I do hope you will still continue to come and enjoy the... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

First time I went to this restaurant I went with a few of my friends and we all got served our food at different times. I thought this was a once off so I came back the next again month with my friend. Again we got served at different times(15 minutes apart).. After this the football got turned up through... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenna M
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Jenna Im sorry you have felt disappointed with your visit. You don't say if you ordered at the same time or separately? If you order at different times then there is a chance that meals will not come out together as they may be separated by other people ordering at other tills. If this is not the case then... More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well but of mixed reviews to be honest. I had fish and chips nothing to bad 're this hot tasty and plenty the mushy peas were a bit dried. My wife had gluten free chicken Korma. Slight issue with whether she could have the mango chutney and popodom even though it's in the GF menu. Eventually sorted it she could... More 

Helpful?
Thank sai69chan
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi im sorry that you were not completely satisfied with our meals. I will pass these issues to our kitchen manager to investigate Thank you for bring this to our attention as we always look for ways to improve the customer experience More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The first time we tried to go we phoned up and booked and when we went we were told the kitchens were closed for maintenance. The second time we went the food was ok but the service wasn't great as the waitress forgot to give us cutlery and sauces.

Helpful?
2 Thank sean_donohoe27
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi I'm sorry that service let us down by forgetting your cutlery . I will feed this back to the team as this is a basic service requirement that shouldn't have been overlooked I'm not sure about the kitchen maintainence issue as we have only recently taken over and this has not happened during our time here. Thank you for... More 

Travelers who viewed The Lime Kiln also viewed

Coatbridge, North Lanarkshire
East Kilbride, South Lanarkshire
 
Livingston, West Lothian
 
Livingston, West Lothian
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
 

Been to The Lime Kiln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Almondvale Parkway, Livingston EH54 6QT, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  West Lothian  >  Livingston
  • Phone Number: 01506410661
Description
The Lime Kiln is a child- friendly licensed restaurant, right across from Livingstons designer shopping outlet. We have a large capacity dining area, a bar area, outside dining area,a childs outdoor playarea, and Tots TV room to keep the kids happy. Our menu has a wide and varied selection of meals to suit all tastes, as well as a number of deals to suit all budgets! These include: 2 main meals for £9.95 all day every day, Fish night on a Wednesday, Grill night on a Thursday, Fajita Friday and our popular Sunday Roast deals.We can cater for large parties- if you have an occasion coming up then please contact us about our special occasion tables or if you would like to organise a set menu or a buffet.We look forward to seeing you soon!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Lime Kiln and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Lime Kiln staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?