We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Lime Kiln

Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Gluten Free
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Almondvale Parkway, Livingston EH54 6QT, Scotland
01506410661
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

494 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 494: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Found this restaurant by accident while visiting Livingston Outlet Mall. Excellent restaurant for good, very reasonably priced food. The decor, hospitality , service etc. is very good.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank ColinJsComments
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review and we sincerely hope to see you again soon More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my wife going out for a meal tonight my wife said how about the lime kiln I said no chance after the last time But she convinced me to give it another chance What a change great meal and service will be back soon 😮😮😎😎😎👍

Helpful?
Thank James R
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Im so pleased that you decided to come back. We are now under new management and working very hard to make our customer experience a great one We look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here with my father and will never be back. Firstly the glass I got with my soft drink was dirty and had a horrible smell. The food it's self was all frozen and just horrible and very poorly presented. Will never go back.

Helpful?
Thank TJP_edinburgh
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Im very sorry you did not enjoy your experience and would be happy to discuss this with you should you wish to contact us directly More 

Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful place, very child friendly, gorgeous food, friendly staff. The Lime Kiln is situated across from the shopping centre so it's ideal place to go with family or catch up with friends. Will definitely be going back !!

Helpful?
Thank Kel M
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review and we look forward to seeing you again More 

Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had lunch here recently and really enjoyed it. Ordered the sizzling steak (which wasnt sizzling at all) and really enjoyed it. Got some cake to take home for later. All washed down with reasonably priced wine. No complaints from me.... see you again soon :)

Helpful?
Thank MissLauraO
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

I am so pleased that you had a great visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Met a friend here for lunch and some drinks, we both ordered burgers which were fine, nothing wrong with them and good value for money. The staff were friendly and the toilets were clean which is very good. Can't really fault the place especially since we didn't leave till 7pm, that was a long lunch.

Helpful?
Thank 252clairec375
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review . Im that you were encouraged to stay for an extended lunch More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my partner came here after shopping and mini golf at the shopping outlet next door. The food was very well priced and had good deals on(as we were offered these at the till by our server). Our server Alistair was very helpful and polite offering us our free desert/starter that we both were entitled to as it was... More 

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank kimbx
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Ally will be pleased to hear them More 

West Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

food was mediocre to bad. husbands chips were still frozen in middle and rest was pretty tasteless. disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank G W
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Im very sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal. You haven't said whether this was resolved in house for you as we would be more than happy to replace any meal if its brought to our attention at the time We would be happy to discus this with you if you wish to contact us direct More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Its just been done up and looks good kids area is handy along with the tvs in the booths. Dont bother orderin chicken as its always sold out seemingly. Staff are all miserable and lack oomph. Waited 1hr for the dinner with a toddler its a bit manic. Tried it again incase they were having an off day ... nope... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura E
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Im not aware of us always running out of chicken, indeed we may run out of some products occasionally but chicken is not one of them, as it accounts for about 50% of our menu but I will investigate this further When we are at full capacity it is not unusual to have up to 40 min wait for... More 

Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I came here last week with my mum and nephew for some lunch having been several times before with no complaints. Wish I didn't bother. This is the first time I've been since it has been taken over by new management, which was evident! My nephew had nachos which were damp, I had the tacos which were also damp and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank yvetter386
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we look into the matter . This was not brought to the attention of the general manager and I apologise for that as it should have been We would be happy to discuss this with you personally should you wish to contact us More 

Travelers who viewed The Lime Kiln also viewed

 
Livingston, West Lothian
 

Been to The Lime Kiln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Gluten Free
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Dining on a budget, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Almondvale Parkway, Livingston EH54 6QT, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  West Lothian  >  Livingston
  • Phone Number: 01506410661
Description
The Lime Kiln is a child- friendly licensed restaurant, right across from Livingstons designer shopping outlet. We have a large capacity dining area, a bar area, outside dining area,a childs outdoor playarea, and Tots TV room to keep the kids happy. Our menu has a wide and varied selection of meals to suit all tastes, as well as a number of deals to suit all budgets! These include: 2 main meals for £9.95 all day every day, Fish night on a Wednesday, Grill night on a Thursday, Fajita Friday and our popular Sunday Roast deals.We can cater for large parties- if you have an occasion coming up then please contact us about our special occasion tables or if you would like to organise a set menu or a buffet.We look forward to seeing you soon!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Lime Kiln and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
9 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Lime Kiln staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?