We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lime Kiln

Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Almondvale Parkway, Livingston EH54 6QT, Scotland
01506410661
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

533 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 533: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited today with my father and sister. We had a beautiful lunch which was freshly prepared and tasted amazing. My dad couldn't eat it all so took some home in a goody bag as he enjoyed it so much. We will definitely be back. Staff were really lovely as well. Top marks

Helpful?
Thank Joolss1964
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments and they will be passed to the team We hope to welcome you again soon More 

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited here last Thursday and we when arrived we were pleasantly greeted by the bar staff and told how we were to order etc. There was a lot of food to chose from. I ordered the sweet and sour chicken and it was delicious. Chicken was cooked nicely, rice was well flavoured, prawn toast was thick and soft, spring roll... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bryce D
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review and I will feedback to the team . We do wipe the menus regularly and hope that this was just a one off that you experienced as we are very proud of our standards. We hope that manage to visit us again soon More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Before we even entered the restaurant we were told by customers who were leaving that the food and service was terrible. On entering the restaurant we were not greeted by any staff and the available tables were all full of dirty dishes that still hadn't been cleared by the previous customers. When we went to order food we were told... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Carole-anne1
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi I'm sorry that you had a disappointing visit We do strive to deliver excellent service to all of our guests and take feedback very seriously You don't say what day you visited which makes it difficult for us to investigate I can say that Monday was extraordinarily busy for us and we were short staffed and did indeed have... More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had lunch today with my grandson can highly recommend the steak and ale pie and chicken balmoral . lunch for two with soft drinks for under £12. food excellent and service really good. had to ask for table to be cleaned but other than that very impressed.

Helpful?
Thank jaffacake65
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments which I will pass to the team . We look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean and friendly place. Meals are large so bring a healthy appetite. I had the enchilada and chips - the enchilada was a meal in itself. My son had the large curry and he was very impressed with the serving and flavour. Great place to start a night out.

Helpful?
Thank Leilah K
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

We are so please that you enjoyed your visit with us but hope you don't bill us for going up a size !! the portions are huge aren't they We look forward to welcoming you back soon More 

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We hadn't been to the Lime Kiln since it's refurbishment and as we didn't enjoy a previous visit we were a tad apprehensive but shouldn't have been From the moment we entered the building we were pleasantly surprised with the new look. Staff were on the ball. Place was very clean. Food was better. Price wise unbelievable value for money... More 

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank HaggerstonMac
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi we are so pleased to read such a positive review. Your comments will be passd the team who will be delighted More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our first visit to the Lime Kiln and probably our last. Starter and Burger Main were both over cooked and verging on frazzled. Balmoral chicken managed to be served swimming in a watery sauce but dry in the middle. We ordered 3 mains in our group and everyone left a substantial part of their meal. Made to pay up front... More 

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank David C
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Im sorry that you had a negative experience with us. We are more than happy to replace any meal that is not up our customers expectations as we want all of customers to leave feeling happy with their visit If you would like to discuss this any further then please do not hesitate to contact us directly More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Come here nearly every week with my mum and my 2 children The kids love it! Love the play area! They love the food too so always a bonus! The food is lovely! We often get 2 meals for £8.99 which is a bargain! Today we got 2 adult meals 2 kids meals and a sharing dessert for £15! Which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lilmisslee
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

So pleased that you have had an enjoyable visit. There are some great offers out there at the moment. I will pass your comments onto Laura who will be delighted More 

west lothian
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's not a place I would visit meals were not very warm not like it use to be better places to eat in livingston

Helpful?
1 Thank pregis
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Im sorry that you had a negative experience with us. We would be more than happy to replace any meal that's not up to standard as we want all of our guests to leave feeling happy If you wish to discuss this further with us then please contact us directly More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for Sunday lunch. I had heard bad reviews about the place so wasn't really expecting much. However when we arrived we found it to be comfortable and very family friendly. We were impressed with the kids zone. Everything you needed was easy to find and also seen an adult only area at the compleat other end of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank naurice
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. We are trying very hard to ensure that we deliver a positive experience for our guest small and big !! We look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Travelers who viewed The Lime Kiln also viewed

Coatbridge, North Lanarkshire
Livingston, West Lothian
 
Livingston, West Lothian
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
 

Been to The Lime Kiln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Almondvale Parkway, Livingston EH54 6QT, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  West Lothian  >  Livingston
  • Phone Number: 01506410661
Description
The Lime Kiln is a child- friendly licensed restaurant, right across from Livingstons designer shopping outlet. We have a large capacity dining area, a bar area, outside dining area,a childs outdoor playarea, and Tots TV room to keep the kids happy. Our menu has a wide and varied selection of meals to suit all tastes, as well as a number of deals to suit all budgets! These include: 2 main meals for £9.95 all day every day, Fish night on a Wednesday, Grill night on a Thursday, Fajita Friday and our popular Sunday Roast deals.We can cater for large parties- if you have an occasion coming up then please contact us about our special occasion tables or if you would like to organise a set menu or a buffet.We look forward to seeing you soon!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Lime Kiln and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Lime Kiln staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?