We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Lime Kiln

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Almondvale Parkway, Livingston EH54 6QT, Scotland
+44 1506 410661
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

590 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 590: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Lovely clean Restaurant and Bar area, good choice of Beers, lovely Kids area , Five Stars for me , plenty of room for wheel chair access

Helpful?
Thank John M
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Went to the lime kiln on a Tuesday afternoon and I really enjoyed it. Food was lovely with friendly staff.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank ioanaa949
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

The service was great and food came pritty quick also our waitress was lovely and also came to see if our meal was okay and if we needed any more drinks. So meal was good.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank M8147LPtinam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Good value for food and money, great service and an amazing kids play area for people with children anyway.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank allysha h
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

I enjoyed my visit, the fish was cooked perfectly and would have it again! My partner loved her steak sizzler and wants to come back for it again!!

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank D955NX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I haven't been here for some time as my last experience was awful. Not enough staff, food awful and took ages to come out. Would not recommend for food.It does have great potential to be amazing .

Helpful?
Thank Jeanmckenzie
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi You haven't stated when you were last here as we have now been rebranded also under new management since June We are working very hard to improve the service and standards that failed before and have been very successful in doing so We hope that you pop in and have another go to see the difference we have made More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Lime Kiln is a very good eating place. We were unfortunate in as much as we didn't wait for a table in the adults only space and ended up in the middle of a children's birthday party! Not as bad as it maybe sounds and the food was very good.

Helpful?
Thank Birkenshaw1
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your visit with us We hope to see you again soon More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food cold, dirty carpet, tables & chairs, wait times a complete joke and staff/management rude even when making a complaint they become defensive and can not take any form criticism esp when is the truth Avoid at all costs if you want to enjoy your meal

Helpful?
Thank Carol F
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

I have noticed that this review has also been made by another member of your party so with this in mind our response remains as per the previous review Thank you for your comments again More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I ( five people ) decided to go to the Lime Kilns to celebrate my daughters Birthday. What can I say, right from arrival I should have guessed it wasn't going to be a happy experience.We were told to ind a table and order at the bar. It was busy, however we found a table near the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosanna C
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we may address this with you When you approached the bar and asked if there was a table for 5 we were extremely busy and had a lengthy queue of people at the bar. You were advised to find any tables that were available and at this point you were also advised of approx.... More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went with friends to celebrate my birthday in December. We chose the Festive Menu and we were certainly not disappointed. Was excellent value for money and the meals were all delicious. Also the food was at the correct temperature. Staff were all very friendly and professional. Ally was especially efficient. Would thoroughly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Thank yo or the great review and we look forwad to seeing you again soon More 

Travelers who viewed The Lime Kiln also viewed

Coatbridge, North Lanarkshire
Livingston, West Lothian
 

Been to The Lime Kiln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Almondvale Parkway, Livingston EH54 6QT, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  West Lothian  >  Livingston
  • Phone Number: +44 1506 410661
Description
The Lime Kiln is a child- friendly licensed restaurant, right across from Livingstons designer shopping outlet. We have a large capacity dining area, a bar area, outside dining area,a childs outdoor playarea, and Tots TV room to keep the kids happy. Our menu has a wide and varied selection of meals to suit all tastes, as well as a number of deals to suit all budgets! These include: 2 main meals for £9.95 all day every day, Fish night on a Wednesday, Grill night on a Thursday, Fajita Friday and our popular Sunday Roast deals.We can cater for large parties- if you have an occasion coming up then please contact us about our special occasion tables or if you would like to organise a set menu or a buffet.We look forward to seeing you soon!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Lime Kiln and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Lime Kiln staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?