We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arlene's Coffee Shop

Craignure, Scotland
+44 1680 812238
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good23%
  • Average17%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“cakes” (41 reviews)
“parsnips” (7 reviews)
“soup” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Scottish
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Craignure, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Arrived for breakfast before we left Mull, arrived in guddle with 2 children and lots of rucksacks- sat in sun- had breakfast rolls- son had looked forward to bacon roll all holiday (we are veggie family he is not). We found staff really friendly, lady...More

Thank kate c
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Cappuccino was alright, coffee not too good. Unfortunately I got a bit of an unfriendly service. Strict about timing when certain items can be ordered (toasties could not be ordered at 11.30 nor 11.45 since the lunch starts at 12.00).More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Arlene R, Owner at Arlene's Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for the review. I am disappointed that you found our coffee "alright" as we get told everyday how lovely our coffee is. In fact we have had people from half way across the world,who state it is the best coffee they have had...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We expected this cafe to open at 10am, at twenty minutes past we eventually got served by a very abrupt (some may say rude) woman who told me there wasn't enough of what I had asked for (despite only just opening) then continued to batter...More

Thank Rachel D
Arlene R, Owner at Arlene's Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. I am also disappointed that you felt the need to write this. We did not open late, we actually opened early! There are other places in the village open before us. Once we opened (early) we had a queue for...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just back at our cottage after having coffee and cakes at Arlene's, pleasant service lovely coffee brilliant cakes. Will be back soon. The table in the window still reserved, reckon it's for locals. Hand made chocolates look good, maybe next time

Thank Kjc460
Arlene R, Owner at Arlene's Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Although there is not much in craignure the coffee shop is well worth a visit. Value for money and the chocolate products are great valie for money.

Thank James E
Arlene R, Owner at Arlene's Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped in after a terrible meal at Maggregors and so glad we did. Lovely coffee and even better cake. Can highly recommend the like and pistachio! Our faith in Craignure has been restored! Thank you :)

Thank Yvonne F
Arlene R, Owner at Arlene's Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope you do return to us!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Met with a grumpy face, tutted when asked for coffee, and not even goodbye thanks for coming. Only coffee shop when disembarking the ferry, so obviously no need to be nice, customers 10 a penny.More

1  Thank ericamb
Arlene R, Owner at Arlene's Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for making this review. Perhaps you should get your facts right before writing a review. We are NOT the only coffee shop at the ferry terminal. There are 3 establishments here. We have hundreds of customers through our doors every week and our...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came here because of the rave reviews but found the coffee and cake to be perfectly ok but nothing special. Service wasn't especially friendly and there were 2 reserved tables that were empty throughout our visit. Nothing to complain about specifically but nothing out of...More

2  Thank mhm6281
Arlene R, Owner at Arlene's Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I would just like to point out that Tripadvisor is not for "complaining". I'm obviously disappointed you found our coffee and cake just ok. We have around 25 different cakes/tray bakes/biscuits out everyday and are know...More

Reviewed June 19, 2017 via mobile

Visited many times over the years, yes this is a busy restaurant as every wants to point out... But what do they expect when your at the busiest port on the island. It does what it says on the tin, hot drinks lovely sandwiches and...More

Thank DavidBrennan23
Arlene R, Owner at Arlene's Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and your kind words! It's nice to know people don't just use this site for complaining. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed June 3, 2017

Had a great coffee and bacon roll here, tastes fantastic, good cheerful staff, great service, just what was needed on a midge infested morning at the campsite

Thank philbeaumont2004
Arlene R, Owner at Arlene's Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again soon.

Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Arlene's Coffee Shop staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Scottish
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available
Good for
Families with children, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Craignure, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  The Hebrides  >  Isle of Mull  >  Craignure
  • Phone Number: +44 1680 812238
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing