We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1-5 Bridge Street, Girvan KA26 9HH, Scotland
+44 1465 715261
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 70: English reviews
Irvine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Popped in here this afternoon to the now called Flynn's Boat Yard...new owner took over today. A beautiful day it was too....but that was the weather. The former Roxy was a fav place for us in Girvan but omg what have they done to the lounge/bar area? GONE! We ordered our drinks and food then sat out in the "... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda C
Level Contributor
113 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016 via mobile

Having visited this pub/restaurant for 3 years I have to say it's getting worse each year. This visit they had ran out of Guinness, no limes, limited availability on the menu, no Sky TV, poor cloud wifi and extremely slow staff I'm not sure what it has going for it. Maybe the leery chavs that frequent the place are keeping... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MrMarkBennettcom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014 via mobile

When ordering fajitas I expect fajita flavouring . When mentioning this concern I don't expect to be patronised. Though thank you for taking my hard earned money without question.

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We went to Roxy on a hot day and sat outside the staff were all very nice the food was great kids had plenty to choose from would like to wish mark and staff all the best with the refurbishment we will defiantly be back

Helpful?
Thank Joan H
Gloucs
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Friendly welcome when we walked in. Food good, but not much choice for vegetarian. Tables could be cleaner bit sticky.

Helpful?
2 Thank BevGloucs
Roxy B, Owner at The Roxy, responded to this review

We would like to thank you very much for your review. We are in the middle of creating our new menu's for our relaunch after the Refurbishment, I have today spoken with the chef and asked him to include more vegetarian options in his menu. The tables are being replaced during the refurbishment. If you come in before the refurbishment... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Poor food, poor service not the same place since new owners have took over. Not in a hurry for pub of the year

Helpful?
3 Thank kgreame
Roxy B, Owner at The Roxy, responded to this review

Hi Thanks very much for your feedback. We were wondering if you would take the time to call The Roxy and speak with Mark as your review is a little vague and we would like to understand this better. Many Thanks More 

Girvan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

avoid this place if its tasty food you are after brcause they fail to cook it . Food was bland and tastless side salads had seen better days . its a shame because it used to be a lovely place to eat. Tables were sticky feeling to them Service was pleasent but afraid the need for a good chef is... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank browntom50
Roxy B, Owner at The Roxy, responded to this review

Hi we are extremely sorry to hear about your experience. We always look to improve on our customer experience and would love the chance to speak with you. It would help us enable to establish when you were in and what you had for eating as we encourage all staff to quality check the table. We had no complaints on... More 

Girvan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Pub food at 5star prices and a long long long wait for that waitresses are nice but that's about it used too be a lot lot better

Helpful?
3 Thank Mrdwvine
Roxy B, Owner at The Roxy, responded to this review

Hi I would just like to thank you for your review. We are disappointed to see that you had long wait for your meal. We were extremely busy as it was such a warm day, Although not an excuse. We will moniter the waiting times when it is busy and thank you very much for your feedback and hope it... More 

Cedar Park
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Allows for half orders on most items. ..a little pricey but tasty. Tended to not get the order right on details, like no onions, bring tartar sauce etc

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy G
Roxy B, Owner at The Roxy, responded to this review

Hi thanks very much for taking the time to review The Roxy. We offer a 2 and 3 course Monday-Friday £8.25 and £10.25, A Sunday Roast on for £6.50 and have an express menu with all items under £5. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal. More 

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The food was fine (pub grub really) but the service, although friendly, was very slow. Not the staffs fault as far as we could see. Looks like too small a kitchen to cater for the number of seats. One of our party waited over an hour for his meal. Pleasant outside seating area looking over the harbour.

Helpful?
Thank Ian M
Roxy B, Owner at The Roxy, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to place this review, we would like to express our apologies for your wait and will take you comments on board. Once again thanks very much. More 

Travelers who viewed The Roxy also viewed

Girvan, South Ayrshire
Girvan, South Ayrshire
 
Girvan, South Ayrshire
 

Been to The Roxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Cuisine
British
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Seating, Television
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1-5 Bridge Street, Girvan KA26 9HH, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Ayrshire  >  South Ayrshire  >  Girvan
  • Phone Number: +44 1465 715261
Description
The roxy is now under new managment.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Roxy staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?