We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
15 Main Street | The Old Inn, Crawfordsburn, Bangor BT19 1JH, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9185 3255
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

378 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 375: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

Excellent throughout! 30 of us turned up for my father in laws 90th Birthday. Great ambience, really helpful friendly staff and great range of food available for the several vegetarians in our group. The organisation was very easy and efficient and all made for a memorable day. No hints of complaint from me.

Helpful?
Thank Tony S
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tony S, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit with us for George's 90th birthday. We are equally delighted to see that the combination of service, ambiance and food, came together to give you a most memorable occasion. We look forward to seeing... More 

Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2016

We had a couple evening meals during out stay at The Old Inn and could not have been more pleased. The service was impeccable, the food delicious.

Helpful?
Thank rjbrooks
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear rjbrooks, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. Thank you for your kind words on your recent visit. Your support is very much appreciated. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn. More 

Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2016 via mobile

Great experience, the location and ambience from you walk in the door is fantastic, the atmosphere in the bar and staff set the tone for a great night. Everyone loved the decor in the restaurant, the menu and food was brilliant, relaxed dining, 2 of my guests had been before and were delighted to hear that this was my choice,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeffhayes1970
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jeff, Thank you for posting such a great review on Tripadvisor. we are delighted that you enjoyed yet another terrific visit. We are equally pleased to see that those in your party that had not been here before were wowed by the experience. We look forward to seeing you for a return visit. Kind regards, the team at The... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2016

We loved the atmosphere as we all enjoyed a beautiful lunch in your cosy restaurant. The staff were polite and helpful and the food totally delicious. The price was very good value for money and I have no complaints at all. In fact, I am thinking of staying at the Old Inn on my next trip to Northern Ireland next... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marian F
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear Marian, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed Sunday lunch in the restaurant with us, so much. Thank you so much for your kind words on the helpfulness of the team and on the quality of the food. We look forward to seeing you when you... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

After our previous visit (when we found our father has been overcharged over £200) we opted to give the Crawfordsburn another try. Unfortunately neither the food nor the service lived up to our expectations.l think we waited over 30 minutes for the main courses two of which were the "slow roasted sirloin".Now maybe I was wrong but I thought slow... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear anonymous reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to see that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us. Unfortunately we do not have a record of your complaint lodged with our management team - which we are guessing refers to yesterday (3rd October). We hope that your experience... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

We had a one night stay in the Old Inn with a fantastic meal. One of the waiters recommend a bottle of wine which was really lovely. The staff are great, the location (beside Crawfordsburn Country park and St Helens Bay) is lovely and the room extremely comfortable. I would definitely recommend both the hotel and the restaurant. We had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mairead L
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mairead L, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were thrilled to see that you had such a fantastic stay with us. Thank you for your kind words on the food and the interaction with the staff. It's really lovely to see. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, the... More 

West Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2016

The staff were very friendly, the atmosphere relaxed and comfortable and the meal nicely presented and well cooked.

Helpful?
Thank Patsy B
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear Patsy B, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. Thank you for kind words on the friendly staff and on the quality of the food. We look forward to welcoming you back again, very soon. More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2016

My wife and I have eaten several times in the restaurant and the bar. The food and service is always been excellent. Get in early as the restaurant quickly fills up particularly at the week end. Recommend that you book a table.

Helpful?
Thank drbill3
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear drbill3, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We very much appreciate your continued support as competition gets tighter every day. We look forward to seeing you gain, very soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile

Service was amazing, and I am in love with the building and decor. Food was amazing, with a fairly fast service; it's my lunch break so not much time for waiting about. Will say the bread with the prawn starter was a little too oily, but everything else was amazing.

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca D
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca D, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit with us very much. Thank you for your kind words on the amazing food and amazing service. We look forward to welcoming you back again, very soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old... More 

Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2016

We visited The Old Inn for a celebratory meal and were very disappointed with the cuisine. We chose to have an a la carte evening meal in the restaurant but our meal had all the hallmarks of deep fat frying and pub grub. This was a shame because the whole ambiance of the room, the lovely music and attentive, good... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayEnthusiast38
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear HolidayEnthusiast38, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were disappointed to see that there were aspects of your visit that did not meet your expectations. You will see from previous reviews that it is our normal form to respond to all feedback both positive and negative. We have fed back to the kitchen... More 

Travelers who viewed Lewis at The Old Inn also viewed

Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 
Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 
Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to Lewis at The Old Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$11 - $56
Cuisine
Bar, European, British, French, Irish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 15 Main Street | The Old Inn, Crawfordsburn, Bangor BT19 1JH, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Down  >  Bangor  >  Crawfordsburn
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9185 3255

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Lewis at The Old Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Belfast, Maine
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lewis at The Old Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?