We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Smuggler's Inn

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Weymouth, Osmington Mills DT3 6HF, England
+44 1305 833125
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

818 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 813: English reviews
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

A low key visit to mark my Dad's 85th birthday. The service was excellent to begin with but slightly slower as the evening progressed. Good was good All round. +ite generous portions and well prepared. Fresh salad and chips clearly cooked in fresh clean oil. Everything was very tasty although coffee was a little weak for our taste. Could do... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helene E
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed visiting us. We hope you can visit again soon. More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 3 nights. The food was delicious. Would highly recommend the vegetarian breakfast, so different. Staff very friendly. Only one recommendation have some spare electric heaters for winter as there were issues with lack of heat for one of the nights in the pub itself. The rooms were heated fine.

Helpful?
Thank A K
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We have taken your comments on board and do hope you will visit us again. More 

England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

What a lucky Find . Set down a windy Road and overlooking a fabulous View . Roaring fire with cozy nooks and sofa/seating areas . There were about 20 of us and already this was a busy little pub, it seems to be popular with walkers . The Staff are friendly and attentive and the food was fab., although on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne_uk
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. More 

Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful views, pretty exterior but scratch just beneath the surface and it's just another chain pub with food no doubt supplied by Brakes or the like. Can't say anything we ate was likely to have been produced on the premises from scratch but we were all hungry for a hearty pub meal and it was borderline sufficient to feed our... More 

Helpful?
Thank BAWMCC
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We have taken your comments on board and do hope you will visit us again. More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Today we visited the Smugglers Inn and we were all very disappointed in our meals. We have usually had delicious meals but not today! Our food order arrived at the table incorrect, We ordered 3 vegetarian squash burgers with different variations but they all arrived incorrect. A rump steak was ordered medium but arrived very well done and we had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 1Donna1982
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the name of the Public House and date of visit and email us at: anthony@hall-woodhouse.co.uk More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's clear to see why smugglers frequented this place! Seriously old pub but deceptively large inside. Superb Badger Beers available and hearty sandwiches (my girlfriend and I stopped by for lunch). Lovely views over the sea from the car park.

Helpful?
Thank mct77
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed visiting us. We hope you can visit again soon. More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night on our way home from our honeymoon. Lovely place nice room and garden. We had an evening meal and the tomato soup tasted of cinnamon not basil, and my wife's lentil shepherds pie tasted the same . We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and attentive staff and drinking in front of the fire with our dogs .... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wayne k
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We have taken your comments on board and do hope you will visit us again. More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2016

We were travelling from Christchurch to Weymouth for an afternoon Remembrance service. Having lived in Weymouth we decided to stop at the Smugglers Inn for lunch. It was a beautiful day and not having been there for...probably almost 40 years, it would be nice to refresh the memory. It used to be a lovely smart place on the cliffs overlooking... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank C0zyP
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the name of the Public House and date of visit and email us at: anthony@hall-woodhouse.co.uk More 

Bridgend
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2016

The lanes lead you to the cove and some nice views, the pub looks everything it should do tucked down into a tiny cove. The pub was busy and we expected the food to be a little slower than usual. The food was good and came within a reasonable time, just not good enough and quick enough for a higher... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MROYAL
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We have taken your comments on board and do hope you will visit us again. More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

Me and my husband with another couple came here on 12 October while we were on holiday . It was a lovely evening so we came dinner and I was so shocked on the whole evening . We ordered two starters garlic bread with cheese and a prawn cocktail to which 20mins later the prawn cocktail came to the table... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa L
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the name of the Public House and date of visit and email us at: anthony@hall-woodhouse.co.uk More 

Travelers who viewed The Smuggler's Inn also viewed

 
West Lulworth, Dorset
 
 

Been to The Smuggler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Weymouth, Osmington Mills DT3 6HF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Osmington Mills
  • Phone Number: +44 1305 833125

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Smuggler's Inn and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Harlow, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Southampton, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Smuggler's Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?