We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The New Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
35 Easton Street, DT5 1BS, England
+44 1305 821232
Website
Today
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:30 am - 6:00 pm
Tue - Thu 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:30 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

396 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 394: English reviews
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Book the accommodation so we could enjoy the New Year Eve 5 course Dinner & fireworks then stay overnight. Food was amazing, along with friendly professional service. Not your usual pub grub at all. Loved our room and relaxing overnight stay. We decided to stay for a cosy afternoon in the pub on New Years Day, again food excellent with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim C
stacey c, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your glowing review. Great that you enjoyed your New Year's Eve dinner and overnight break. Lovely comments to pass to our team. Great you keep returning and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes The New Inn Team More 

Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our food; the local goats cheese was amazing but were perplexed when our main courses were served on breadboards! My steak was a bit overdone but I had no chance to enjoy the juices as they soaked away. The hand cut chips were more like oddly shaped roast potatoes; I love fat chips but these didn't make the... More 

Helpful?
Thank janethewebbs
stacey c, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Great you found our goats cheese starter amazing. We do feel slightly disappointed to get an average rating, and do take your comments on board. Our menu has just changed again, with our steak being served with rocket, Parmesan and pear salad. Hand cut chips remain, we also offer skinny fries which you may prefer... More 

London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We moved to Portland fairly recently and wanted to find somewhere to spend New Years Eve. The New Inn is within easy walking distance and looked lovely from the outside. We had checked out the menu and it looked great! However, we were told that they were full that night but would put us on the reserve list. That has... More 

Helpful?
Thank garryandevshols
stacey c, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your excellent review. So pleased to welcome you to our Inn. We look forward to welcoming back soon. Best wishes The New Inn Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Once again, amazing time had when we stayed.. The family and I booked a few rooms for new years eve. We had the 5 course meal and it was all mouth watering, all for only £40 per head, great value and fantastic food. The place had such a buzz in the afternoon, then in the evening there was an acoustic... More 

Helpful?
Thank Blanny1
stacey c, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Wow thank you so much for your review & so pleased you enjoyed your New Year's Eve dinner & stay so much. Look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards The New Inn Team More 

Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We had the seafood platter today and it was delicious. We regularly eat there and we think the food is always excellent, service brilliant and lovely ambiance. We shall continue to eat there on a regular basis.

Helpful?
Thank kannlucas
stacey c, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Your review is such a delight to read, thank you so much for posting. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best wishes The New Inn Team More 

Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Much better than we had anticipated from a "pub" with a restaurant attached. The BEST chips ever. Children friendly with access to the garden for a good informal atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank andypayne23
stacey c, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you again soon. Why not pop by for our new lunch offer or foodie evenings we have new for 2017. Best wishes The New Inn Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went into to this very busy Resturant, we ordered scallops to start, arrived 3 well cooked in a lovely purée sauce, on a bed of mixed leaves, one had little florets of cauliflower the other didn't. We order the sea food platter for two, with chips and crab cakes. HUge portion of beautifully cooked , clams, langostine, and the best... More 

Helpful?
Thank cleveland16
stacey c, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and your feedback is appreciated. We always use feedback to better ourselves and hope you decide to visit us again in the future. Best wishes The New Inn Team More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Husband had the fish and chips but said fish was dry . I had the venison burger asked for it rare but was told only cooked medium. After finding a hair in my burger I left half of it . Should have complained but after a busy week didn't have the energy .

Helpful?
Thank Diane O
stacey c, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time post your review. We will investigate thoroughly and are sincerely sorry for the issues you had. Best wishes The New Inn Team More 

Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2016

Three courses for £18, very good value for money. I had crab cakes, fish and chips and chocolate brownie. Lovely pub, highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Linandmike2014
stacey c, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We hope you visit us again soon. Best wishes The New Inn Team More 

Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2016 via mobile

I visited the new inn for the first time last weekend. What a gem! It was a joy from start to finish. I was greeted by a lovely waitress who immediately recommended a pint of local ale from Cerne Abbas brewery. Right from the start showing how much they care about high quality local produce. After demolishing my AMAZING seafood... More 

Helpful?
Thank thehamish_johnstone
stacey c, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Great comments hear and we have passed on to our lovely team. We hope you visit us again soon. Best wishes The New Inn Team More 

Travelers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

Isle of Portland, Dorset
 
Isle of Portland, Dorset
Isle of Portland, Dorset
 
Isle of Portland, Dorset
Isle of Portland, Dorset
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$5 - $22
Cuisine
Seafood, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 6:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 35 Easton Street, DT5 1BS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Isle of Portland
  • Phone Number: +44 1305 821232
Description
Eat, Drink, Relax... Enjoy our Inn. With proper food, cooked by proper chefs. A lovely & friendly team ready to welcome you. Seasonal & Dorset sourced menu. Foodie offers: Lunch 2 courses £15 or 3 courses £18 Tuesday - Sunday. Locally farm sourced Sunday Roast. Tuck in Tuesday - Burger, fries & drink £10 - Curry Night Wednesday £10, Woodfired Pizza Oven every Thursday (May-September) Artisan Bar Snacks & Sharing boards served all day. Featured in CAMRAS Good Beer Guide 2017 for our well kept local cask ales & ciders. Please take a look at our website for our seasonal menus, taster evenings & offers.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The New Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The New Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?