We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clockhouse Inn

) #2 of 3 Restaurants in Chideock $$ - $$$ , British,
Main Street, Chideock, Bridport DT6 6JD, England
+44 1297 489423
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good24%
  • Average10%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“sundae” (3 reviews)
“onion rings” (6 reviews)
Open Now
6:00 pm - 11:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Street, Chideock, Bridport DT6 6JD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome received and the attention of staff given to my 7 year old American granddaughter and all the family. The range of drinks was very pleasing with a good selection of different ales and ciders as well as other types...More

Thank Ian D
mike l, Owner at The Clockhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Ian, Thanks very much for your time in writing this review and for your kind words. A warm welcome and a thank you for coming is number 1 on our to do list so glad to hear this is what you received. Also pleased...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We met some friends there and the staff were very friendly and helpful. It was spotless. The food was good for lunch - quite a small menu but perfectly adequate. It's in a lovely location and I would recommend it to anyone.

Thank Jan A
mike l, Owner at The Clockhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Good afternoon Jan. Thank you very much for your kind words they are greatlt appreciated. Really nice to hear that you would recommend us to anyone and hope to see you again some time. Cheers for now. Mike

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were staying in Seatown as we have for the last five years, and were looking forward to checking out the Inn after reading about the fire and refurbishment. We sat in the beer garden which was very nice and ordered Broccoli Bake and Cauliflower...More

Thank Jane M
mike l, Owner at The Clockhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jane, Sorry that we did not meet your expectations but please allow me to clear up a few points in your review. Firstly, your husband did not speak to Phil, in fact we dont even have a Phil in our team, he did however...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went as a family, and was pleased how quickly our order was served. Fair prices for a decent meal. We were on holiday, so doubt we will ever be in the area again, but would recommend.

Thank EssexGardener
mike l, Owner at The Clockhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Essex, great county being a Harlow boy myself. Thanks for visiting and thanks for your review. Hope to see you again if ever down this way. Cheers. Mike

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful and friendly atmosphere food was great and freshly made lovely outside area child friendly if needed would definitely recommend

Thank Virginia V
mike l, Owner at The Clockhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Virginia. Chhers for taking the time to write us a great review, it really is appreciated. Until next time. Thank you. Mike and the Team.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Looking for somewhere to stop and have a bite to eat and a comfort rest on the way to Torquay and what a stroke of luck stopping at The Clockhouse Inn. The place is clean, the staff are friendly and helpful and the food is...More

Thank martinjharrison
mike l, Owner at The Clockhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Martin. So glad to hear that everything was to your liking and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks for your kind words. Mike and the Team.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited here on the last night of our holiday. What a shame we didn't find this earlier. After so many pubs/restaurants offering just about everything with chips, this came as such a nice change to see many of the dishes being offered with fresh...More

Thank Kelly F
mike l, Owner at The Clockhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Kelly, well, what can I say other than thank you very much for your time in writing a lovely review for us. Really glad everything was to your liking, really glad you enjoyed your visit and always pleasing to hear that people will return...More

Reviewed June 12, 2017 via mobile

Ate there on our anniversary good food wine pleasant staff give it a go. Spend time to get the locals there a friendly bunch. Take a look at the photo book as the place had a horrible fire and its stage refurbishment.

1  Thank 173roym
mike l, Owner at The Clockhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Cheers Roy, So glad everything was to your liking and thanks for joining us on your big day. Best wishes from all at The Clock.

Reviewed June 11, 2017 via mobile

Great refurbishment since the fire , great home cooked food , at the right price , in a very competitive area , nice outside seating and easy parking

Thank steveblakesley
mike l, Owner at The Clockhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Cheers Steve for your kind words and your time in writing this review for us. Your words are what we claim to be and aim to be and I am glad we hit the target. See you soon. Mike and the team.

Reviewed June 3, 2017 via mobile

Looking at the history and tragedy of the beautifully restored inn, we had to visit, after being to the Anchor, The George, The West Bay Hotel and the Standard in Lyme, our expectations were high with the superb competition we had visited. I must say...More

1  Thank George and Mel B
mike l, Owner at The Clockhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi George Hi Mel, may I take this oppurtunity to return the thanks. Thanks for coming and giving us a try and thanks for your very kind words, they are most greatly appreciated. I am glad everything was to your liking. Hope to see you...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The George Inn
586 reviews
.23 miles away
The Five Bells Inn
17 reviews
2.05 miles away
Hell Barn Japanese
8 reviews
.78 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The George Inn at Chideock
36 reviews
.22 miles away
Church of Our Lady Queen of Martyrs and St. Ignatius
7 reviews
.39 miles away
Golden Cap Estate
232 reviews
1.09 miles away
West Bay Fishing Trips
7 reviews
2.82 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Clockhouse Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$7 - $26
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Good for
Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street, Chideock, Bridport DT6 6JD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Bridport  >  Chideock
  • Phone Number: +44 1297 489423
  • E-mail
Description
We have re-launched on 15th July 2016 following our fire. We look forward to welcoming you to our new look pub very soon and we would ask for your patience during our teething period. Michael and Helen Long, Eric and Barbara Arnold and all of the Clockhouse Team
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing