We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rock Inn

Dartmoor National Park Haytor Vale, Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9XP, England
+44 1364 661305
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good23%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“ribeye steak” (5 reviews)
“scotch egg” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Bar, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Dartmoor National Park Haytor Vale, Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9XP, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 162 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2017

Lovely location close to Haytor. A popular haunt but with limited parking. Sunday lunch was good quality but portions were medium at best - only two slices of meat. Not a place I'd frequent regularly but probably good for a special occasion. Probably a greal...More

Thank Bob B
Reviewed October 11, 2017

There is a choice of Al la Carte or a fixed price menu. All options were catered for on the days we were there. The fish was excellent. When we only wanted a light meal on the Sunday evening, I think the staff would have...More

Thank LittleEarn
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile

We allied in recently for a quick bar snack at lunchtime and opted for the roast beef sandwich which was delicious as were the accompanying chips. We had a dog with us who was made very welcome and provided with water straight away. I would...More

Thank pandmg
Reviewed September 30, 2017

We thought we would start an evening on Dartmoor with a drink early evening. It was empty at 6pm but we could not sit at any of the tables in the main bars because they were all reserved even though we paid almost £10 for...More

Thank Jan D
RockInn, Manager at Rock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you had a bad experience when you popped in for a drink recently and please accept my apologies. Dinner service starts at 6.30pm so it is likely that many of our bar tables were set ready for...More

Reviewed September 27, 2017 via mobile

The Rock Inn in Haytor Vale a great place to stay for a few days in the moors. A good breakfast included & a great place to have dinner. The staff are first class & take care of all your needs & offer help &...More

Thank Esquimalt2
Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile

Lovely place - excellent food - and lucky to be two minutes walk from our holiday let. A perfect place to go lunchtime or evening ..... Highly recommend

Thank Tony S
Reviewed September 7, 2017

I had not visited the Rock Inn for over 30 years, when it was mainly a pub and serving bar meals. It now has an excellent upmarket restaurant menu and a great choice of locally brewed beers and ciders. With friendly and efficient service, for...More

Thank TheGrumpyBear
RockInn, Manager at Rock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

Thank you for your review. The current owners took over the Inn 34 years ago so your initial visit would have been early on in the ownership. It is interesting that in 2 visits you have witnessed the development of the Inn and the transition...More

Reviewed September 4, 2017

We have to say this is one the best places we have eaten in for a long time!!!, the menu has a great selection and caters for all tastes. And yes the Tampa prawns are amazing, the staff are very attentive and polite, we ate...More

Thank gkl2427
RockInn, Manager at Rock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are glad you enjoyed eating with us recently and thank you for your kind comments. We very much look forward to seeing you back again in the future.

Reviewed August 24, 2017 via mobile

The food, atmosphere and general presentation are great (5/5) but the service is so slow that it really detracts (hence the lower rating). Such a shame for such a lovely place.More

Thank GenericTravelerUK
RockInn, Manager at Rock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2017

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the food and atmosphere here but we are sorry that you felt that our service was too slow. The type of food we serve is not easy to produce extremely quickly but guests...More

Reviewed August 16, 2017

Tucked away, parking is if you are lucky along the street either side of the pub depending how far you are prepared / able to walk / how much you value your wing mirrors ! Cute on lazy summers day - not quite so welcoming...More

Thank chasler2016
RockInn, Manager at Rock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are sorry you didn't like the feeling and ambience of our Inn. Our team will always try to make everyone welcome and our menus try to meet all tastes and requirements as much as possible. We are...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Home Farm Cafe
332 reviews
.50 miles away
Brookside Tea Rooms & Gardens
278 reviews
.06 miles away
The Dolphin Hotel Restaurant
144 reviews
.00 miles away
Nearby Attractions
House of Marbles
687 reviews
.64 miles away
Devon Guild of Craftsmen
196 reviews
.18 miles away
The Jolly Roger
31 reviews
.12 miles away
Bovey Tracey Heritage Centre
11 reviews
.10 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jan H
November 13, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RockInn | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry and sorry to hear you have broken your leg. There are not too many places up here on the moor where I would recommend going before lunch in your wheelchair. You could have a look around the famous... More
0
Votes
Barbara C
May 4, 2015|
Answer
Response from RockInn | Property representative |
Hi Barbara. Yes we are open every evening and many of our dishes are gluten free or can easily be adapted to be gluten free.
1
Vote
Barbara C
May 4, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RockInn | Property representative |
We are open all day for drinks. Lunch is 12-2.15pm and dinner is 6.30-9pm (we sometimes finish earlier in the evening depending on bookings due to our rural location so booking is recommended). Gluten free options are not a... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$187
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dartmoor National Park Haytor Vale, Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9XP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Dartmoor National Park  >  Bovey Tracey
  • Phone Number: +44 1364 661305
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing