We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Wellington Boot Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Havelet, Havelet, St Peter Port, St Peter Port GY1 1BA
+44 1481 722199
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 130: English reviews
York, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent restaurant at a reasonable price. Good food with plenty of choice on the menu. Efficient service.

Helpful?
Thank MikeCJ
pershore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We dined in the Copenhagen which is downstairs to the Wellington at the Hotel Du Havelet. We had an early dinner and a late lunch respectively. Both dining experiences were excellent with sandwiches all round for lunch then a range of proper meals in the evening. The staff were excellent and very accommodating finding us a table and squeezing us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lilypeg
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at The Wellington Boot Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your great comments about our Copenhagen Bar and Grill here on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that you had a most enjoyable dining experience and that you were satisfied with the quality of the food. Your comments regarding team are much appreciated and it will be my pleasure to... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We dined here on 5 occasions while staying at the Hotel. The food and service are of a good hotel standard. We only had one slight disappointment when choosing beef wellington requesting the steak to be medium. Unfortunately it was probably only rare at best. The Manager did change our dishes and the second steaks were slightly more cooked but... More 

Helpful?
Thank BrianMellor
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at The Wellington Boot Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback and sharing it with other site readers! I am pleased to read that overall you had a great dining experience and found the food and service of a good standard. I am sorry to hear that you felt disappointed regarding the Beef Wellington, however I am pleased to hear that this did not... More 

Liverpool
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We thought this the best meal we have had for some time The evening began with a very friendly welcome. As main, I had flammbeed Steak Diane. Theatre in its own right, but the sauce was fantastic! Throughout the meal the staff were attentive but not intrusive. We had several interesting chats with the waiters through the meal. Well done!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Medic_one
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at The Wellington Boot Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your great comments about our Restaurant on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that you had a most enjoyable evening and the food was up to your complete satisfaction. I am also pleased to learn that the staff has left a positive impression and made it a perfect experience for... More 

Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying at the Havelet Best Western on b&b basis and decided to try the hotel's own restaurant on the first evening. The food choice was good and the food well cooked and presented. The service was extremely attentive and we had a very enjoyable meal.

Helpful?
Thank SimonandDenise
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at The Wellington Boot Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your great comments about the Wellington Boot Restaurant here on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that you had a most enjoyable dining experience and you found the food delicious and cooked to perfection. Your kind compliments regarding the service is also much appreciated and I will be delighted to... More 

Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

With the majority of restaurants being fully booked during our visit, we were a bit desperate to find a nicer restaurant for dinner. We went for a random walk up from Victor Hugo's house and came across the Best Western Havelet. Taking a chance, we walked into the reception and found that there was a reservation available. The 3 course... More 

Helpful?
Thank catherineku
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at The Wellington Boot Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking your time to review our restaurant and for sharing your dining experience. I am pleased to read that you had an excellent dinner and the food and the service provided exceeded your expectations. I am also pleased to learn that you found the team professional and efficient and they created a welcoming atmosphere. It... More 

UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016

The staff are so attentive and entertaining, always friendly with fun quips and conversation without being at all intrusive or pushy. Superb food and grand views

Helpful?
Thank Lytia
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at The Wellington Boot Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet. I am delighted to read your great comments and to learn how much you enjoyed your stay, I am also pleased to read that you were impressed with the views form our hotel and that the food was up to your... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

Stayed at the Hotel de Havelet and the restaurant was included on a half board rate. The set menus varied each day and the choice was good. The portions were better than usual, the steak and lamb was especially good, not under or over done. The vegetable choice consisted of four and we had all at each meal. The waiting... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bishopsdown
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at The Wellington Boot Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your perfect rating and recommending our restaurant to other TripAdvisor readers. It was a great satisfaction to read your wonderful feedback. We are pleased that the food and the service provided exceeded your expectations. I can assure you that your compliments are an incentive for us to keep working hard in order to maintain the... More 

Guernsey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016

The Welling Boot Restaurant is excellent. Some tables have views of Castle Cornet with Herm Island in the distance. Food and Service are Excellent. Downstairs has had a big renovation. Now called The Copenhagen. Tables are in the dark and have no view!

Helpful?
Thank StuartGuernsey
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at The Wellington Boot Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your great comments about our Restaurant on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that the Wellington Boot with the magnificent views was up to your liking and you found the food and the service of excellent quality. We appreciate you being our Guest and look forward to your return. Should... More 

Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

Whilst staying at the De Havelet my wife & I ate in the Wellington Boot on two occasions. We had a range of starters from a most tasty ham hock terraine to excellent mussels. We had two steaks & a salmon & a dish of sea bass, all four were great quality.Special mention must be made of the fillet steak... More 

Helpful?
Thank grahamhen
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at The Wellington Boot Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your great comments about the Wellington Boot Restaurant on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that you had a great dining experience and that the food was up to your complete satisfaction. It will be my pleasure to pass your kind compliments on to our restaurant team and chefs. We... More 

Travelers who viewed The Wellington Boot Restaurant also viewed

 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to The Wellington Boot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
European, British, International
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Havelet, Havelet, St Peter Port, St Peter Port GY1 1BA
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Channel Islands  >  Guernsey  >  St Peter Port
  • Phone Number: +44 1481 722199
Description
Dining in the Best Western Hotel in Havelet.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Wellington Boot Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Guernsey, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Wellington Boot Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?