We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Merchant House Brasserie

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Weighbridge, St. Helier JE2 3NF
+44 1534 510069
Website
Today
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Mon 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tue - Sat 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

311 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 297: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We came here whilst on a mini break, and whilst visiting the museum next door all we could do was smell the lovely food. We booked on the day and glad we did as it quickly filled up after arrival. The food was delicious, in my opinion best of British I had the Falafel, Pork and my husband the poached... More 

Helpful?
Thank stampme_kb
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely meal in a lovely establishment. The place was very quiet for a Friday evening, which I thought was a bit unusual. Service was efficient and polite. Can't remember what I had but I know that I didn't have any problems on the night.

Helpful?
Thank flynn1812
Alex D, Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear Flynn1812, First and foremost thank you very much indeed for your great review. We're absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your meal, the establishment and the service. I've passed on your kind comments to the team. We must say that we're a bit confused about when you dined with us as we have had only 1 Friday in the past... More 

St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A friend & I visited here for lunch, there was a great atmosphere and lovely menus, with plenty of choice. The only slight drawback was we were on our lunch break and found the service a little slow, however the brasserie was busy and we didn't get into too much trouble for being a little late back! Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Nicki I
Alex D, Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this review

Der Nicki I, First and foremost thank you very much for your excellent review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your meal, the menu and the atmosphere! In regards to the timings we understand that the 1pm-2pm slot is crucial - which is why we offer the opportunity to pre-order and have take away cakes and coffee's on hand for... More 

Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
564 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 624 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited Merchant House Brasserie for the first time in many years. On a warm evening it would be delightful to sit outside in the atmospheric courtyard for a meal and some drinks. Unfortunately, last night was wet so we took a window table inside. Service was very pleasant and we ordered wine by the glass that was reasonably priced.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob1949
Alex D, Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear Bob1949, First and foremost thank you very much indeed for your great review and we cannot say how thrilled we are that we appear to have improved on your last visit with us! We're very happy that you enjoyed your scallops but my apologies if they were a little gritty. We always clean and remove the roe from our... More 

carlisle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

Just had dinner here and the food was amazing, delicious and the presentation was outstanding, you would of thought you were at Masterchef.From the mixed breads, fruity, spicy and plain to the excellent food and the real shock was the price! A absolute bargain in beautiful surroundings and quality service. All 6 in the mixed party were agreed on how... More 

Helpful?
Thank STR11KER
Alex D, Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear Str11ker, First and foremost thank you very much for taking the time to post your amazing review. We are absolutely thrilled that you and your party enjoyed the food, the bread, the surroundings, the service and the price! When you are next back on the island we will be sure to serve up more of the same. Many thanks... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

Had a lovely meal here. I am a coeliac and I was able to have a very tasty main course and excellent dessert. Such a treat.

Helpful?
Thank B2AGR
Alex D, Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear B2AGR, First and foremost thank you very much for your great review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your meal and that you were able to find something that you enjoyed which also fitted in with your gluten free diet. We have tried to include far more gluten free options this year so we are thrilled to... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

The Merchant House Brasserie offered market price menu which was reasonably priced for a tourist area and had varied choices. Food was delicious and well presented, Pea and Mint soup was excellent, as was the lobster Thermidor. There was also a bread basket of generous proportion with several varieties. Free wifi also available which is handy for travellers.

Helpful?
Thank Ben R
Alex D, Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear Ben R, First and foremost thank you very much for your great review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the food and the prices (as well as the home made bread!). This is a difficult balance that I am happy to say we appear to be hitting the mark on! I am also thrilled to hear that... More 

Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

Popped in for much needed cup of tea before visiting the Museum, staff were helpful and thats where it ends! The tea was weak and tasteless, the whole place smelled of fat, (our clothes still smelt awful hours later) and overpriced.

Helpful?
Thank jinjer777
Alex D, Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear Jinjer777, First and foremost thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and my apologies for your displeasure with your tea. Despite this thank you for you kind comments regarding the service. I will say, this is the first time that I have received any such comment about our tea as we serve it in... More 

south wales
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

Having decided to get married on the island at the museum , the merchant house was always going to be our first choice for a reception. We have eaten there on several occasions and always been very very impressed with all aspects of this restaurant , from the food to the excellent service. ... We were not let down !... More 

Helpful?
Thank cornwall21
Alex D, Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear Cornwall21, First and foremost thank you very much indeed for your excellent review and congratulations once again! Sorin, Alex and I are absolutely thrilled to hear that your special day went well. There are so many compliments in this review that I'm just going to have to say a great big thank you to all of them or I'll... More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

A short walk from Liberation Square is Merchant House Brassiere offering a wide range of well presented meals. Not the fastest service, but the large number of local islanders who frequent this brasserie attests to its popularity.

Helpful?
Thank CabbieBlog
Alex D, Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear CabbieBlog, First and foremost thank you very much for your great review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and enjoyed the range of choice. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the team. My apologies however if your found the service to be a little slow. As you mentioned... More 

Travelers who viewed Merchant House Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Merchant House Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$7 - $33
Cuisine
European, British, Gluten Free, French
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Weighbridge, St. Helier JE2 3NF
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Channel Islands  >  Jersey  >  St. Helier
  • Phone Number: +44 1534 510069
Description
Making use of the finest homegrown produce from Jersey and the British Isles, Merhcant House Brasserie offers an eclectic seasonal menu, fine wine list and varied children's menu. Enjoy dining in the intimate dining room, or out on the quaint al fresco terrace, surrounded by some of St Helier's most picturesque architecture.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Merchant House Brasserie staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?