We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Wine and Beer, Live Music
Reviews (882)
Filter reviews
862 results
Traveler rating
408
268
102
51
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
408
268
102
51
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak and ale pie fish and chips salad pizza ribs sea bass lobster portelet bay play area the pub the cliff the bus sunday lunch lovely location outside seating sunny day an evening meal
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago

Fabulous food good choice ,service was excellent really nothing to fault very enjoyable also down stairs dog friendly so our dog was made very welcome 🐾🍾🥂🫶⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Cohen, Owner at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your 5 star review which I will pass onto the team.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at 2.35 looking forward to having lunch only to be told food stopped at 2.30 & resumes at 5 o’clock., We had got the bus here from St Helier to have lunch in their beautiful garden, as we had seen the menu & it...looked delicious. We were very disappointed to be told no food now & I think the fact they stop food should be put on their web site so as others don’t have to find out as we did and have a wasted trip. We had a drink & unfortunately left. I have given 4* as the place looked lovely & there were plenty of seats inside & out and the garden was very pretty & well kept.More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Cohen, Owner at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Anne, I am sorry to read your concerns and have checked the web site that reads correct to date, I am not sure if there was a miss communication with this at the time and I would like to offer my apologies regarding this...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent family dinner. Great atmosphere , friendly professional staff, delicious food. Our whole party loved all their meal choices: meat platter, pie, prawn curry. Children's meal went down well. Thanks Hazel and team. We will back soon 😃

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Cohen, Owner at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Langtry, Thank you for your kind words which I will pass on to Hazel and the Management team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent meal. Lovely staff don't be put off by previous reviews about attitude of staff. It is great and fabulous bay.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Cohen, Owner at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Margaret, Thank you for pointing out how friendly and efficient the staff at the Portelet are.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

very unfriendly bar when we arrived. we had to take our bottle of fizz and glasses outside being old we then went inside to our table and was spoken to so rudely

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Cohen, Owner at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your feed back which we do take on board as this seems very out of character for the Portelet management and team.

Reviewed May 12, 2024

Sunday roast beef was absolutely gorgeous highly recommended Tracey and Steve.. we will be back here again its a gem of a location too.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Cohen, Owner at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Tracey, Thank you for your 5 star review

Reviewed May 10, 2024 via mobile

The service was absolutely awful waited 45 minutes for a salad and a meat dish, then when the food finally arrived the salad was missing items and the food was lukewarm, will not be going back

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 2, 2024

Came for dinner with family (4 of us). Quite an extensive menu, so there should be something to suit most tastes. We all had starters and mains, and they were all absolutely excellent; hot, tasty and filling. The only downside to the evening was that...we found some of the staff to be a bit 'aloof' - sometimes more interested in each other than the customers. One in particular was very rude when we asked for the code to exit the car park, I think his reply was 'it's on the receipt, can't you see it?' Would I come here again?....... PossiblyMore

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Cohen, Owner at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your 4 star review and taking time to feed back to us.

Reviewed April 14, 2024

An unusual trip for us. If we're on holiday, we don't usually fancy the traditional stuff, we're normally stuffed to the rafters by hotel breakfasts. But I wanted to come to Portelet Bay, so timed it to come on a Sunday and have a Sunday...roast too. Was it my favourite Sunday roast, no. However, was it a great Sunday roast, good value and in a great location? Oh yes, very definitely. The beef we had was very tasty and the potatoes and Yorkshires good quality. The veg selection was not quite to my taste (though it was to Mrs Mooke's), but still good, and I loved the Apple Pie .... But to have a Sunday lunch on a sunny day in such a beautiful location? Yep, that made it .......More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Cohen, Owner at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Mooke, Thank you for your feed back which I will pass on to the management team at the Portelet.

Reviewed March 5, 2024

I’ve been to your pub for Sunday lunch with a few friends and I must say from the start to finish we had the best dinning experience we received in years . We were greeted by the Portuguese lady at the door that made us...feel very welcome . We all had the roast that was absolutely perfect . The place was very busy but the service provided by the same lady was absolutely outstanding, always smiling , and very knowledgeable about the whole menu , the very best we had in years . She is a big asset to your company and seems to “run the show “effortlessly. Just a little constructive criticism, the variety of your menu is a bit boring now, it’s been the same in years , a little change would be good . We will be back .More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Cohen, Owner at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2024

Thank you for taking the time to review us and I will make sure the team get to see your comments, with regards to your feed back on the menu we now run lots of specials and promotions which has been implemented by our new...More

Reviewed February 18, 2024 via mobile

Great, traditional pub grub…..probably the best chocolate brownie that I’ve ever eaten, next time I might just have two!

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Cohen, Owner at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2024

Hi Sandra, Thank you for your feed back which is much appreciated

Reviewed January 14, 2024 via mobile

Came here for a drink today and possible lunch but was completely put off by the totally unhelpful and rude staff! While I waited to order my drink at the bar I was being completely ignored (just some recognition that they could see I was...waiting would have been helpful), despite 2 of the bar staff seeing me. I ended up having to call to get their attention, but once I did they served me quite reluctantly. We got our drinks and decided that it was probably best that we ate somewhere else, as just getting the drinks seemed too much bother for them, despite the pub not being overly busy and witnessing them being quiet rude to another table because they were looking at the menu by the fire, to which one of the staff rudely said that “you can’t eat there, it’s not the restaurant“ (they knew this but were just looking at a menu that had been left on the table). We finished our drinks and asked one of the staff for the car park exit code, to which he shouted out without bothering to look our way, something my wife and another couple that noticed found laughably rude. In the past we always enjoyed the food here, but the last couple of times we have been here for a drink it seems the staff have completely forgotten anything about customer service.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Cohen, Owner at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2024

I am sorry to read that your visit to the Portelet fell short of our usual high standards of service, we would never want a guest to leave feeling uncomfortable or dissatisfied in any way. We do intend to fully investigate this matter further and...More

Reviewed November 22, 2023 via mobile

Excellent meal at The Portelet Inn, St. Brelade, Jersey. Food quality was top class, menu offers great selection of choice.

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nigel Godfrey, Owner at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2023

Thank you for your positive feedback, we look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed October 26, 2023

This is a lovely pub with a range of drinks on offer and a varied menu. We only stopped off for a drink, very good local beer, but a meal was an option too. There is good outside seating and direct access to a bus...stop.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 24, 2023

The menu has something for everyone to enjoy. Great selection of appetizers for one or to share. The dinners were also substantial and verry filling. The drinks were great too.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Somerville Hotel
2,424 reviews
.89 miles away
Bon Viveur
184 reviews
.99 miles away
Biarritz Hotel
765 reviews
1.03 miles away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
2,985 reviews
1.20 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Tides Restaurant & Voyager Lounge Bar
711 reviews
.89 miles away
Muddy Duck
437 reviews
.92 miles away
Salty Dog Bar & Bistro
1,491 reviews
.94 miles away
Eastside
13 reviews
.85 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Portelet Bay
134 reviews
.11 miles away
St Aubin's Fort
74 reviews
.91 miles away
Battery Lothringen
179 reviews
.47 miles away
Ouaisne Bay
17 reviews
.58 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Dave-Jersey
September 13, 2017|
Answer
Response from yolande682 |
Hi Dave yrs dogs are now most welcome with well behaved owners ☺ hope to see you soon
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE PORTELET INN, St. Brelade - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Portelet Inn

The Portelet Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4