We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Portelet Inn

La Route de Noirmont, St. Brelade JE3 8AJ
+44 1534 741899
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good35%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“salad” (25 reviews)
“fish and chips” (25 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
La Route de Noirmont, St. Brelade JE3 8AJ
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Short trip to Jersey with my husband and 2 daughters, 23 and 27. My younger daughter wanted to revisit Portelet for Xmas lunch and so we booked in advance of our visit, only to be severely disappointed when told there was no turkey. This meant...More

Thank 385gm
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice atmosphere, comfortable, good parking, warm, child friendly and the most perfectly cooked pork belly I’ve ever eaten. Worth a trip for the pork alone. The staff are polite, friendly and helpful. It turns out they have a new chef, so forget any previous experiences.More

Thank Mark W
ThePortelet, General Manager at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Mark Thank you for taking the time to review us so well. I think you came in with your daughter and I had a chat with you. It makes the whole team happy to have such positive feedback and I look forward to seeing...More

Reviewed November 6, 2017

Ate here in October we had Family over with Small Children, the Food, the service, the Atmosphere and Play Area were fantastic. and such Good Value for Money we t rebooked for the very Next Day. Well Done Portlet You've got everything a Family need...More

Thank ruthhewitson
ThePortelet, General Manager at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

Hi thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. The staff in Pirate Petes do a fantastic job and I will make sure that I pass on your kind comments. Hope to see you again soon Yolande

Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile

Sorry it’s taken me ages to finally review the Portelet Inn! Myself & my Scout Group were camping in St Brelades in August & we had some leftover food budget to use so we decided to treat the group to a meal out on our...More

Thank Andrew B
ThePortelet, General Manager at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

Hi Andrew thank you for your lovely review. I did think you had forgotten about us. You and your young people were an absolute pleasure to serve and I can't wait for you to all come back again!! Many many thanks Yolande

Reviewed November 5, 2017

We wanted some food quickly after a long walk, and were not disappointed here. The service was super fast and efficient. I had the fish platter, which was scrummy, packed with fresh shell fish and plenty of sauce. Just how I like it. Not cheap...More

Thank machinmad
Reviewed November 1, 2017

After climbing back up from the beach, decided to call in for a drink. Very busy but service was quick. Seemed a good place for food what I saw coming from the kitchen.

Thank Grandma48273
ThePortelet, General Manager at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Hi thank you very much for taking the time to review us. You definitely need a beverage after doing the 125 steps up from the beach. Maybe next time you can enjoy something from the menu also. Hope to see you soon Kind Regards Yolande

Reviewed October 30, 2017

A great menu is available here and there was something for everyone in our group of 7. We had booked for an early dinner and service initially was very good. However as other diners arrived, the speed of service slowed down considerably. We tried to...More

1  Thank emmainbrighton
ThePortelet, General Manager at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Hi, thank you for taking the time to review us. Sorry that the service slowed down a bit for you. I think you spoke to me and told me about the flights and I went into the kitchen to get your desserts. It can be...More

Reviewed October 30, 2017

We were last here a long time ago, 33 years in fact on our honeymoon. We had some very fond memories of this place, it used to be very busy and quite lively, but that has all changed now. Still fantastic views, but very quiet...More

1  Thank sasimmo64
Reviewed October 30, 2017

We were visiting the area and were recommended to visit the Inn. We arrived after a lovely walk around the area. The manager was very accommodating, as we arrived just after 2.30 and thus the food had stopped, but she was more than happy to...More

Thank W H
ThePortelet, General Manager at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Thank you very much. I remember you and it was my pleasure to make a sandwich for you - only takes 2 minutes! Hope you pop in again next time you visit and you can maybe have a cooked lunch by the chefs. Kind Regards...More

Reviewed October 30, 2017

We popped in on the off chance for dinner on a monday evening during the October half term. Quite surprised how many people were dining and tables reserved for later. We chose from the Tennerfest menu which was very good value and the kids liked...More

Thank PaulJacqueline
ThePortelet, General Manager at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Thanks very much for your lovely review. I think you covered all aspects of the business. Half term was very busy but we had fun. Kind Regards Yolande

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Salty Dog Bar & Bistro
1,062 reviews
.94 miles away
The Old Court House
467 reviews
.90 miles away
Muddy Duck
122 reviews
.94 miles away
Seafish Cafe
156 reviews
.96 miles away
Nearby Attractions
St. Brelade's Bay Beach
1,540 reviews
1.44 miles away
Beauport Beach
110 reviews
1.68 miles away
Jersey War Tunnels - German Underground Hospital
4,329 reviews
2.74 miles away
St Aubin Gallery and Cafe
141 reviews
.92 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Dave-Jersey
September 13, 2017|
Answer
Response from yolande682 |
Hi Dave yrs dogs are now most welcome with well behaved owners ☺ hope to see you soon
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: La Route de Noirmont, St. Brelade JE3 8AJ
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Channel Islands  >  Jersey  >  St. Brelade
  • Phone Number: +44 1534 741899
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing