We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Portelet Inn

La Route de Noirmont, St. Brelade JE3 8AJ
+44 1534 741899
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good35%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“fish and chips” (26 reviews)
“salad” (25 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
La Route de Noirmont, St. Brelade JE3 8AJ
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ate here in October we had Family over with Small Children, the Food, the service, the Atmosphere and Play Area were fantastic. and such Good Value for Money we t rebooked for the very Next Day. Well Done Portlet You've got everything a Family need...More

Thank ruthhewitson
ThePortelet, General Manager at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. The staff in Pirate Petes do a fantastic job and I will make sure that I pass on your kind comments. Hope to see you again soon Yolande

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Sorry it’s taken me ages to finally review the Portelet Inn! Myself & my Scout Group were camping in St Brelades in August & we had some leftover food budget to use so we decided to treat the group to a meal out on our...More

Thank Andrew B
ThePortelet, General Manager at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Andrew thank you for your lovely review. I did think you had forgotten about us. You and your young people were an absolute pleasure to serve and I can't wait for you to all come back again!! Many many thanks Yolande

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We wanted some food quickly after a long walk, and were not disappointed here. The service was super fast and efficient. I had the fish platter, which was scrummy, packed with fresh shell fish and plenty of sauce. Just how I like it. Not cheap...More

Thank machinmad
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After climbing back up from the beach, decided to call in for a drink. Very busy but service was quick. Seemed a good place for food what I saw coming from the kitchen.

Thank Grandma48273
ThePortelet, General Manager at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi thank you very much for taking the time to review us. You definitely need a beverage after doing the 125 steps up from the beach. Maybe next time you can enjoy something from the menu also. Hope to see you soon Kind Regards Yolande

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great menu is available here and there was something for everyone in our group of 7. We had booked for an early dinner and service initially was very good. However as other diners arrived, the speed of service slowed down considerably. We tried to...More

1  Thank emmainbrighton
ThePortelet, General Manager at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for taking the time to review us. Sorry that the service slowed down a bit for you. I think you spoke to me and told me about the flights and I went into the kitchen to get your desserts. It can be...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were last here a long time ago, 33 years in fact on our honeymoon. We had some very fond memories of this place, it used to be very busy and quite lively, but that has all changed now. Still fantastic views, but very quiet...More

1  Thank sasimmo64
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were visiting the area and were recommended to visit the Inn. We arrived after a lovely walk around the area. The manager was very accommodating, as we arrived just after 2.30 and thus the food had stopped, but she was more than happy to...More

Thank W H
ThePortelet, General Manager at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much. I remember you and it was my pleasure to make a sandwich for you - only takes 2 minutes! Hope you pop in again next time you visit and you can maybe have a cooked lunch by the chefs. Kind Regards...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We popped in on the off chance for dinner on a monday evening during the October half term. Quite surprised how many people were dining and tables reserved for later. We chose from the Tennerfest menu which was very good value and the kids liked...More

Thank PaulJacqueline
ThePortelet, General Manager at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks very much for your lovely review. I think you covered all aspects of the business. Half term was very busy but we had fun. Kind Regards Yolande

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped here with friends for lunch before a walk around the area. The kids and adults areas are well separated which is great. Had the set menu that was lovely and well priced, although the starter was pretty much a pizza! Recommended for lunch in...More

Thank Katie H
ThePortelet, General Manager at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. Our tennerfest menu has been very well received - we are well over a 1000 dishes sold from this menu. The kids area - Pirate Pete's is very popular as well....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stumbled upon the Portelet Inn on a wild windy night. We was given a very warm welcome and the promise of good food. The food was excellent and the service friendly and helpful. The art exhibition was a talking point. We arrived as strangers...More

Thank Angela B
ThePortelet, General Manager at The Portelet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us so nicely. We do like to make people feel welcome and your comments are very much appreciated. I will make sure the team all see this. Hopefully see you again soon Many thanks Yolande

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Salty Dog Bar & Bistro
1,059 reviews
.94 miles away
The Old Court House
467 reviews
.90 miles away
Muddy Duck
118 reviews
.94 miles away
Seafish Cafe
153 reviews
.96 miles away
Nearby Attractions
St Aubin Gallery and Cafe
141 reviews
.92 miles away
St. Brelade's Bay Beach
1,536 reviews
1.44 miles away
Jersey War Tunnels - German Underground Hospital
4,316 reviews
2.74 miles away
Beauport Beach
108 reviews
1.68 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Portelet Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: La Route de Noirmont, St. Brelade JE3 8AJ
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Channel Islands  >  Jersey  >  St. Brelade
  • Phone Number: +44 1534 741899
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing