We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mount Kennedy Inn

Main Street, Newtown Mount Kennedy A63 W884, Ireland
+353 1 201 1703
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good34%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible9%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (6 reviews)
“pâté” (2 reviews)
“coleslaw” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Street, Newtown Mount Kennedy A63 W884, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Was staying in the parkview hotel for the weekend but ate and drank in this pub. Staff were so friendly, great atmosphere and food was absolutely amazing 😊😊 will definitely be back 💗💗

Thank Jenny A
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Worst food I’ve ever eaten lamb stew was reheated and poor in quality with little or no vegetables for a special that included bread and fries on the day I had to ask for the fries and was charged extra for the bread. The lasagne...More

2  Thank dam0d25
ALANCOFFEY, General Manager at Mount Kennedy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi dam0d25 Thanks for taking the time to write your review. You had Garlic fries with your Lasagne, these are dearer than the ordinary fries, and to charge the difference we put it down as bread. Looking at your bill you would think that you...More

Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

We were staying in the parkview hotel just up the road from pub. As we had already had a meal a few nights before in the hotel which was lovely we thought we would try somewhere else. I read some of the reviews before hand...More

Thank traceyandandy17
ALANCOFFEY, General Manager at Mount Kennedy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Tracey and Andy, Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm happy that you found our service quick and friendly and our prices fair. We always want to give value for money to our customers. I DO hope if you are in the...More

Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

Came in here with friends and our two young children. I have a feeling the manager was off on this particular day as the staff were very lacks. We had to approach the 3 waitresses who were standing behind the bar talking to ask them...More

10  Thank GFall88
ALANCOFFEY, General Manager at Mount Kennedy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2018

Hi Geoff Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I want to apologies for the severe drop in our standards you experienced on your visit and for informing me of what goes on when I'm not here. I don't agree that our food...More

Reviewed July 16, 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely evening. An excellent choice of food. Plenty for vegetarians. Food is excellent. Service really friendly and efficient. Everywhere is really clean. A very friendly ambiance. Pool table in excellent condition.More

1  Thank Richard J
ALANCOFFEY, General Manager at Mount Kennedy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Hi Richard Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm glad that you had a lovely evening with us. Thank you for complimenting our food and service. I will pass this on to the staff. Hope you will come back and see us...More

Reviewed June 12, 2018

Lovely local pub with a great menu. All the meals were very tasty and the staff were attentive and friendly.

Thank Jayo75
ALANCOFFEY, General Manager at Mount Kennedy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2018

Thanks Jayo for taking the time to write your review. I'm happy you enjoyed your meal and that you found the staff "attentive and friendly". I hope you will call in and see us again.

Reviewed June 5, 2018 via mobile

We had dinner while passing through town. We ate at the bar, and service was attentive and friendly. The ploughman's lunch was huge and included a tasty potato salad. The side salad my husband ordered came topped with a mound of coleslaw which was a...More

Thank hlsburns
ALANCOFFEY, General Manager at Mount Kennedy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm happy you had a good experience with us and that you would recommend us. Glad you liked our Ploughman's Lunch. Hopefully if you are in the neighbourhood again , you will drop in and...More

Reviewed May 31, 2018 via mobile

Staff member very rude from the time we sat down .We would be regulars and it's not the first time we have experienced the same rude attitude from the same staff member . Can't fault the food but seriously staff need to be checked for...More

7  Thank Fiona S
ALANCOFFEY, General Manager at Mount Kennedy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Hi Fiona. I have spoken to the staff member in question. It seems that we were busy at the time and your lad was running around. The waitress asked him to sit down, this is in keeping with company policy. As a regular, I'm sure...More

Reviewed April 22, 2018 via mobile

Me and my friends came into the pub and was greeted by the most well mannered bar man called Sean Carthy and it’s a really good place to drink

Thank lalakoo
ALANCOFFEY, General Manager at Mount Kennedy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Hi Lalakoo Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I will pass on your comments to Sean. Thanks again.

Reviewed March 20, 2018 via mobile

Have eaten here before. So when we were visiting family in the area suggested that they would like to come out for dinner. They were impressed! We were not dissapointed. Staff were friendly, food was served promptly, and the portions were generous, so much so...More

Thank James S
ALANCOFFEY, General Manager at Mount Kennedy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Hi James Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm very happy that your family were impressed with us and you were not dissapointed either. Hopefully it wont be too long before your back again and the next time, if you can't manage...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
Parkview Hotel
594 reviews
.08 miles away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
2,356 reviews
1.36 miles away
Strand Hotel
40 reviews
2.45 miles away
Glenview Hotel
1,184 reviews
3.60 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Bunter Coffee Shop
31 reviews
.15 miles away
Synnott's Bistro
23 reviews
.07 miles away
The Coffee Place
16 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Vagabond Tours
620 reviews
.54 miles away
National Garden Exhibition Centre
60 reviews
1.31 miles away
Glen Mill Golf Club
5 reviews
1.66 miles away
Druids Glen Golf Course
164 reviews
1.85 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Mount Kennedy Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Television, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street, Newtown Mount Kennedy A63 W884, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Wicklow  >  Newtown Mount Kennedy
  • Phone Number: +353 1 201 1703
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing