We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Laois Shopping Centre | James Fintan Lalor Avenue, Portlaoise, Ireland
+353 57 866 6675
Friday
Closed
Hours:
Mon - Wed 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Thu - Fri 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 104: English reviews
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I go in here all the time for the best ever baked potatoe! So filling and delicious 😆 the ham and cheese one with side salad will keep you full all day no joke! A regular visit is a must 😊

Helpful?
1 Thank Staceyb007
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice place to eat very central in the shopping centre. Quite busy spot and a bit pricey but the food was very nice. Worth a visit

Helpful?
1 Thank Mugshot40
County Laois, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staff are lovely. Service is good. Loyalty card great idea. Food is good,could shake up the menu for regular customers.

Helpful?
Thank Ann S
Trish C, Owner at Rafters Cafe, responded to this review

Hi thank you for you kind review. I presume you are referring to everything except the lunch menu is it's changed every day. We are always nervous about changing menu items as something that may be a slow seller may still be someones favorite. Notwithstanding this we plan to change some of our menus in the new year and should... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food is okay but unless you order off the menu then you will be disappointed because the portions are very small! I ordered a coffee and it was stale! It depends on the day I think but still disappointing

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle996
Trish C, Owner at Rafters Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Michelle thanks for your review. If you don't mind I will deal with your comment about the coffee first. We were baffled by the suggestion that your coffee was stale as the coffee is ground fresh through out the day for both our espresso machine and our filter machine. When we looked closer at it we discovered that over... More 

Portlaosie
Level Contributor
122 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2016

Rafters is fine for a quick lunch but it is not going to set the dining world on fire. The staff is friendly and the food is good. Watch the cutlery, it is often not well cleaned?

Helpful?
Thank Dain96
trish c, Owner at Rafters Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Dain96, Thank you for your review and for your compliiments in relation to both our customer service and food. We will most certainly keep an eye on the cutlery, I do apologise if a piece of cutlery during your visit was not 100% clean, that is not acceptable. We will ensure this does not happen again. But thank you... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

While in Portlaoise for a visit we decided to pop into the 1st cafe we saw to grab a bit to eat. When we can across rafters there was a small que at the door, which moved fast. We were then grated greeted by an extremely polite, friendly and helpful waitress. The rafters ordering system is pretty cool and very... More 

Helpful?
Thank NollaigOCeallaigh
trish c, Owner at Rafters Cafe, responded to this review

Dear NollaigOCeallaigh, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review during your recent visit to Rafters. Its great to hear that you were very well looked after by one of our girls and that the food you ordered was well presented and very tasty. We really appreciate customers taking the time to review us on this... More 

Co.laois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile

I have reed faith in this restaurant. ..a while back I posted a review from a visit to rafters...it was not a nice review . However I have great faith in this restaurant as the manager got intouch and apologised . Firstly I was amazed that a manager would pay attention to the reviews and then offered a free lunch... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yan C
trish c, Owner at Rafters Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Yan C, Ah im so glad that you took a chance to visit us again. Sometimes in this business (like any business) things do go wrong-we try to minimise this, but sometimes things happen. I am delighted that you found your second experience much better, but do you know what I am more happy with, I am thrilled with... More 

Tipperary, Ireland, Europe
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

Hello. Visited recently, firstly staff on the grand scheme of things were good, two girls serving at tills were friendly and helpful one appeared to be training but was still very efficient and polite. Food was very poor, everything on the plate was cold, our drinks from the dispenser were like water, clearly a problem with the machine. Finally please... More 

Helpful?
Thank JRJB1981
trish c, Owner at Rafters Cafe, responded to this review

Hi JRJB1981, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant during your recent visit.I thought your review was very fair. You mentioned a very annoying noise with a door banging at the back of the restaurant. You were quite correct in saying that staff can become immune to it- and that is exactly what... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2016

my favourite place for coffee in portlaoise,staff very friendly and helpfull,as a vegetarian not a lot of options for me so im limited but everyrhing is fresh and to a high standard,its not wildly expensive but its not cheap either well worth a visit

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne G
trish c, Owner at Rafters Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Anne G, Thank you for your lovely comments recently regarding our food and coffee. I will take on board your comments about vegetarian options- and see can we offer a few more options. Its great that you would say we are the best place for coffee in portlaoise- we spend a lot of time sourcing the best coffee-indeed we... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2016 via mobile

For the price you spend in rafters you expect decent service and unfortunately you don't always get it. For the amount of staff that's working you wonder how they make these mistakes, little things like only buttering one side of a filled roll, leaving out fillings or not cleaning a dirty table when clients move dirty crap to the clean... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Erick C
Trish C, Owner at Rafters Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Eric firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take customers reviews and comments very seriously, especially if they are negative!!! I do apologise for your disappointing experience at Rafters Café and would appreciate if you could email me at info@rafterscafe.ie so I can send you a voucher to, in some way make up for... More 

Travelers who viewed Rafters Cafe also viewed

Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 
Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 

Been to Rafters Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Irish, Cafe, European, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Takeout, Reservations, Waitstaff
Good for
Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Monday
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Laois Shopping Centre | James Fintan Lalor Avenue, Portlaoise, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Laois  >  Portlaoise
  • Phone Number: +353 57 866 6675
Description
124 seater day time restaurant, with outdoor seating and scenic view. Rafters has a modern, chic, and cosmopolitan feel to it and serves everything from Breakfast, sandiches, panini's, wraps, ciabatta's, wide selection of carvery items, kids menu, coffee's, tea's, lattee's etc...

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rafters Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?