We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Riverfront

Main Street, Virginia, Ireland
+353 49 854 7561
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good24%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“burger” (14 reviews)
“chicken” (11 reviews)
“bread” (11 reviews)
Open Now
9:00 AM - 11:30 PM Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Street, Virginia, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had dinner today food was fantastic, service was second to none our waitress was absolutely brilliant,she couldn’t do enough for us,service with a smile all thanks to our waitress Nicole :)

Thank joee123123
paulO6725GO, Public Relations Manager at The Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Delighted to receive this TripAdvisor 5 Star review. Thank You so much Joe. The Riverfront team.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a very happy 2 hours having lunch in this main street restaurant. The food was great, reasonably priced, and the staff were very friendly. I can recommend the Guinness!

Thank Suzanna L
paulO6725GO, Public Relations Manager at The Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you, Suzanna, for a fantastic review of The Riverfront.We hope to see you again soon Best Regards The Riverfront team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

€17 is a bit rich for a beer burger with lettuce, tomatoes and cheese and a tiny portion of chips. Toffee pudding was ordered. What came out was a muffin with old cheap almonds and drizzle of caramel sauce on top. Worst sticky toffee pudding...More

2  Thank MichaelD8G
paulO6725GO, Public Relations Manager at The Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you, Michael, for taking the time to review The Riverfront. Sorry, our sticky toffee pudding did not live you to your exceptions. We feel €17 euro for a main course is average, but we do take your comments on board. Delighted to hear the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We dined here on a Sunday afternoon. We had a nice seated area up the back the only bother was getting the waitress attention once our food was served. The pork dish the meat was a bit tough. Our desserts were ok.

1  Thank 631niamhk
paulO6725GO, Public Relations Manager at The Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Niamh for your review of The Riverfront I have passed your comments to the restaurant manager. Best Regards, The Riverfront Team .

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called this evening for main course about half past six after a busy day in Dublin. The fish was disgusting greasy oily. It is now three and a half hours later and I can still taste the oil repeating on me. I have been to...More

1  Thank Storyteller798189
paulO6725GO, Public Relations Manager at The Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of The Riverfront, Sorry we seem to have fallen short of your expectations. Your comments have been sent to our head chef. Hopefully, you will try us again in the future. The Riverfront team.

Reviewed October 2, 2018

We were there with family and friends for a small private afternoon party for a christening. The food was excellent, good value for money and the willing and friendly service couldn't have been better. They made us all feel very special.

1  Thank 242valerie
paulO6725GO, Public Relations Manager at The Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Thank you, Valerie, for your 5-star review of The Riverfront. We are delighted with your comments and look forward to serving you again in the not so distance future. Best Regards, The Riverfront team.

Reviewed September 26, 2018

As soon as I went in to the building to look at menu, I was greeted by very friendly young staffmember who answered my questions. Returned later for dinner - very attentive, efficient staff who made the venue appear relaxed and comfortable. Decor and furniture...More

Thank SergeantMajorMammy
paulO6725GO, Public Relations Manager at The Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2018

Thank you so much for our 5-star review. We hope to see you again soon. The Riverfront team

Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

Stopped off here on way through earlier with my wife and daughter. It really was very impressive. Huge servings of Quality fresh made food. Fish was cooked to perfection with mushy Peas, Tarare and perfect chunky chips. My daughter had the burger, 2 large burgers...More

1  Thank 737brendanm
paulO6725GO, Public Relations Manager at The Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2018

Wow, what a great review of The Riverfront. We agree our Fish with Mushy Peas, Tartare sauce with perfect chunky chips is one of our most popular dishes. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal & we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank...More

Reviewed September 10, 2018

We visited twice, once for a snack and had club sandwiches filled to the brim and very tasty! Went back for sunday lunch and weren’t disappointed it was very tasty too! Lots of roast meat and fresh vegetables. Service is very friendly and quick too....More

Thank Citiestraveller63
paulO6725GO, Public Relations Manager at The Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Riverfront on TripAdvisor

Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely meal tonight- food was top class would recommend the steak sandwich- only reason I gave 4 was due to untidy toilets. Would definitely eat there again 💙💙

1  Thank L9538OTclairem
paulO6725GO, Public Relations Manager at The Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2018

Our apologies regarding untidy toilets, but delighted you enjoyed the steak sandwich.Thank you for your review and er look forward to seeing you again soon. The Riverfront Crew

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Park Hotel
3 reviews
.49 miles away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
658 reviews
1.58 miles away
The Bailie Hotel
110 reviews
7.26 miles away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
447 reviews
8.70 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Willow's Cafe
60 reviews
.07 miles away
Mason's Apron
110 reviews
.06 miles away
Indian Tandoori
8 reviews
.17 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Cavan County Museum
203 reviews
5.34 miles away
Loughcrew Megalithic Cairns
272 reviews
6.35 miles away
Bailieborough Castle Forest Walk
6 reviews
7.12 miles away
Kells Monastic Site
91 reviews
11.09 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Phoenix0612
August 6, 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from paulO6725GO | Property representative |
100% Family friendly ,high chairs are on site .Best Regards
0
Votes
Phoenix0612
August 6, 2016|
AnswerShow all 14 answers
Response from 19BeachBum75 | Reviewed this property |
I would have to say yes, when I visited for Sunday dinner there were lots of families in
2
Votes
mrssallen
July 23, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 1969Traveller | Reviewed this property |
It is just five minutes up the road in Virginia (the hotel is on the outskirts of Virginia) Unless you like a long walk you would need to drive to it. It is a very nice walk however if you are feeling energetic.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 2:30 AM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 2:30 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street, Virginia, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  County Cavan  >  Virginia
  • Phone Number: +353 49 854 7561
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing