We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Bar-B-Que House

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1205 Highway 17 N, Surfside Beach, SC 29575-6007
18434771801
Website
Today
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Fri - Sun 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 182: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Dry brisket, cold pulled pork, and a very long wait for food (about 45 minutes confirmed by timestamps on sent text messages). The mens bathrooms was gross with slippery floors and my wife said the ladies room was so dirty she did not use it and left the restroom. Not sure what the problem was tonight. I will say the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
Krissy W, Manager at Bar-B-Que House, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review, I apologize if you felt the brisket was dry and the pork was cold. Customer service, cleanliness, and outstanding food is always our top priorities and if we fell short in these areas I apologize. We strive to make our customers happy, and regret that you were not satisfied with our performance. We do... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very good BBQ and I would recommend this restaurant. In a very good location.. The waitress was very good considering how many were at our table.

Helpful?
Thank Kathy N
Krissy W, Manager at Bar-B-Que House, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review Kathy and we look forward to seeing ya'll again soon! More 

North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had our usual friendly service from Sue and again excellent food. Latest entree was the smoked 1/2 chicken all white meat with Brunswick Stew of course.

Helpful?
Thank lynnharbold
Krissy W, Manager at Bar-B-Que House, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Lynn but I think you visited the North Myrtle location, that is were Sue works. I will pass along the good word,and please come visit us when you are in the Surfside area. More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I had the senior BBQ plate--plenty of food for him and more than enough for me. It was delicious! Becca was our super server--she smiled and danced while she served us! What a joy! We'll definitely return to the Bar-B-Que House the next time we visit Myrtle Beach!

Helpful?
Thank Jill L
Krissy W, Manager at Bar-B-Que House, responded to this review

Thank you Jill for the review, Becca definitely keeps everyone entertained! We are so glad ya'll enjoyed everything and look forward to seeing ya'll on the next visit! More 

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Haven't eaten here in years and we decided today to try it and it was THE BOMB !!! The staff was also extremely friendly !!!! Did not catch the young ladies name, but she was very pleasant and I enjoyed our conversation about the heat !! LOL ! Would truly recommend this to ANYONE !!!!

Helpful?
Thank Missy N
Krissy W, Manager at Bar-B-Que House, responded to this review

Thank you Missy for the positive review and we look forward to seeing you soon! More 

Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good BBQ with good sides to go along with it. One of the better BBQ places in all of Myrtle Beach. We bought a large package they offered and they would not let us substitute one type of side for another, even though the cost of each was the same. Their rigid policy in dictating which side we had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank green675
Krissy W, Manager at Bar-B-Que House, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and I'm sorry your group felt not pleased with the substitution policy, our large meals offer various sides options that are equivalent in price and we try to maintain consistence in our options. Often the price of a side may be the same but the portion is smaller so to keep portions the same we... More 

Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'm not sure how all these great reviews are on here. My wife and I came here for dinner and the food was horrible the brisket was extremely fatty with barely any meat on it and it was so dried out. Don't wast your time here, I was always told the south had great barbq well this for sure is... More 

Helpful?
Thank jrock78
Krissy W, Manager at Bar-B-Que House, responded to this review

I'm sorry you felt our brisket was dry and fatty, if we had been alerted to the problem at the time we would definitely had bought you something different we never want our customers to leave unhappy. We work hard to please all of our customers, and want everyone to be happy but if there is an issue we ask... More 

Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wish I could leave less than one star...we went the first time and the waitress walked over and said you'll have to wait I'm the only one here....we have them the benefit of the doubt and tried again...at 8:00 on a Friday they were out of Turkey and Ribs...we wouldn't order the brisket because the first time we had it,... More 

Helpful?
Thank carlasue8
Krissy W, Manager at Bar-B-Que House, responded to this review

Carla we are sorry you didn't enjoy your experience and I apologize if the server was abrasive. We smoke our meats daily and sometimes we run out of product till it comes off the smoker or when volume is higher than expected. Being from Texas I take pride in our brisket, I'm sorry you felt it was gray and flavorless,... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our first meal in Myrtle Beach. It was excellent! The food was so good, we came back again on our last day. The service was awesome and and it was an excellent value for the price. Highly recommend !! TWO THUMBS UP!!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Krissy W, Manager at Bar-B-Que House, responded to this review

Thanks for the two thumbs up! We appreciate the positive review and hope to see ya'll again when ya'll are in town! More 

Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
222 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the road this looks like an old burger king turned junky BBQ joint but it was incredible. BBQ meat was all good and they had these incredible fried corn bite awesome things. Definitely stop and get some!

Helpful?
Thank JJ870
Krissy W, Manager at Bar-B-Que House, responded to this review

We are so glad ya'll enjoyed everything and look forward to seeing ya'll again soon! More 

Travelers who viewed Bar-B-Que House also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bar-B-Que House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
American, Barbecue
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Good for
Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1205 Highway 17 N, Surfside Beach, SC 29575-6007
  • Location: United States  >  South Carolina (SC)  >  Coastal South Carolina  >  Surfside Beach
  • Phone Number: 18434771801

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bar-B-Que House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?