We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Surfside’s hidden gem for delicious down-home style seafood, a trip to Bubba’s is a must for locals and visitors alike. With hospitality that is undeniably warm and inviting set in a Southern coastal atmosphere complete with a front porch and ocean view, the trip there is almost as good as the food! Order up whatever it is you love whether it’s All-U-Can-Eat Catfish fried to perfection, fried green tomatoes, and hush puppies to share with the table, a Po Boy sandwich, oysters, or even a slow-cooked rack of ribs. Don’t forget to add a refreshing beer to wash it all down and kick back and enjoy the company of good friends and family!
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Waterfront, Beach
Reviews (1,216)
Filter reviews
1,214 results
Traveler rating
545
405
189
42
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
545
405
189
42
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews catfish hush puppies crab cakes fries gulf shrimp clam strips peel and eat shrimp salad ribs all you can eat great seafood an appetizer long wait myrtle beach basket platter slaw
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago

This place, by far, has some of the best seafood I have ever eaten. Their combo platters are the best and their hush puppies and onion rings are fantastic. I would highly recommend this place. And the quantity of food that you get is amazing....Like us, most people can't finish it all.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our send time at Bubbas. It is good lower end seafood that has great flavor. The drinks are just so so. High priced for average drinks, but that is how it is on the beach. Definitely a go to if on a budget...and. It wanting high end or all you can eatMore

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Always try to visit this restaurant when visiting in this area. They serve several types of Oysters and the are always great.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We are visiting Myrtle Beach from Tennessee for the 3rd time and each time we have visited Bubbas at least trice and never been disappointed. The food is amazing, the servers are friendly and helpful and the view if you are eating outside is awesome...!!More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not handicap accessible. I am disabled so hubby walked up stairs & was told no takeout service.As recent as May they did.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's really a shame I have to give this place such a bad review because honestly the food was delicious but other than that this was a terrible experience for me and my entire family. We stopped in for a hopeful quick lunch on our...last day on our beach vacation and little did we know we would spend almost 3 hours in here with terrible service. Our server Melissa D. took a long time to get us our initial drinks and then never refilled our drinks again until our food was almost gone. Some of us had spicy food and really needed drinks and we could never find her, and she would run away so quick you couldn't even ask for anything. A family member also asked for a to go box several times and my aunt had to eventually just go up to the bar and ask for one and again was told to wait when she could see them right there, it would have taken half a second for the woman behind the bar to hand it to her and she made us wait again for that. Then when our checks came half of our party had extra items on their checks that they didn't order nor received so we had to wait forever again for the server to "correct" our bills. My bill was correct initially, so I just gave her my card to pay and when she brought me back my card and receipt to sign all of a sudden, my total was $3 more than what my receipt said when I sent her away with my card and confirmed it was correct. I looked at it and noticed an extra drink was added that we never had. And I asked the rest of my family and everyone else had extra charges again after their card was ran. I'm not even sure this is legal to run someone's card with a different amount then what was on the bill when you give it to the customer. Anyway, we were so tired of messing with this place and wanted to get back and enjoy our last day on the beach so we didn't even bother to have her correct our bills again and we decided we just wouldn't come back here again and that was that and we took the loss. Well fast forward several days later I check my credit card statement so I can pay my balance for the month and my charge that has been posted for "Bubba's Fish Shack" is now $10.33 over what my total bill was after tip and what I signed for. And there isn't any way they misread what I wrote down for my tip because it doesn't add up to what my final bill would have been no matter which way you look at it. I have tried calling them, leaving voicemails, and messaging them on Facebook and I finally got one worker to message me back on Facebook and they had told me their Director of IS would contact me ASAP and I gave them my phone number and they advised me they would reach back out in a couple hours to make sure someone contacted me. Well, no surprise, not a single person has contacted me, and I've reached back out to them several more times with no response or answer. I've had to go ahead and file a credit card charge dispute with my bank, and I just pray I get my money back that they overcharged me. Unfortunately, we will never return here. Again, the only thing I enjoyed was the actual food itself, the blackened grouper and hush puppies were great but after the service we received and the extra charges on my card I can't justify coming back here. I've never had to dispute a charge on my credit card ever.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 27, 2022 via mobile

We were thrilled with the quality, delicious flavors and well prepared meals we got at Bubbas that my husband wanted to eat there every night of our stay. He loves seafood and I don’t really but they have a variety of choices for everyone. Let...me tell you that their onion rings and spicy ranch sauce are excellent! I had everything that wasn’t seafood and enjoyed it all, my husband tried a variety of the seafood and was so happy with all of what he got. This is a wonderful place to eat, maybe not the healthiest, but delicious none the less. Our service was always good also. I can’t say one negative thing about Bubbas.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Divine Dining, Marketing at Bubba's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your review! We hope you will join us again soon!

Reviewed August 18, 2022 via mobile

Stopped in for drinks and met Suzie. Had a great time sitting at the bar and talking to her. Thanks for the fun time. Great place.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Divine Dining, Marketing at Bubba's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2022

Thank you for sharing! We appreciate your review and hope you will join us again soon!

Reviewed August 1, 2022

So we were in an area of beach where not a whole lot of places to grab lunch. It is the height of their season. We are just out of Covid 19 panic sooo... The place has very little parking so we got right on...the text for park pass to not get car booted. Most annoying just post stupid pass word on menu as staff can not be bothered as they overwhelmed. IF you do not want greasy fried food with fries and slaw go elsewhere. The pictures show it all. Portions are small and I do not believe I was served the expensive fish I ordered. Servers are very nice and good. Atmosphere is interesting junk but whole place needs hosed down with a degreaser. No view but prices reflect one ;-)More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Divine Dining, Marketing at Bubba's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2022

Thank you for your feedback! Reviews like these help us learn, improve and work towards being the best restaurant we can be. We hope you will join us again in the future.

Reviewed July 10, 2022 via mobile

Any place with steamed shrimp is a good place for this gluten-free girl. And my husband loves seafood so thing Bubba’s was a no brained. The shrimp was good, a tad overdone, but that’s to be expected. What wasn’t expected was my husband’s review of...his blackened grouper sammie. He said it was in the top three he’s ever had, which is saying something.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Divine Dining, Marketing at Bubba's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2022

Thank you for sharing your review! We hope you will join us again soon!

Reviewed June 24, 2022 via mobile

Like a lot of the restaurants it is short staffed. They also refuse to do carry out in an effort to get tips for the staff that does show up. Plus- close to the beach Minus dingy and seriously suffering due to staffing shortages Pass...on this oneMore

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Divine Dining, Marketing at Bubba's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2022

We are sorry to hear about your poor experience with us. However, we are grateful for your feedback and will use it to become the best restaurant we can be. We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Reviewed June 21, 2022

I have to admit, the first time we went, I was not impressed. It was okay, but nothing to write home about. They were busy, and out of some of their hot items. Not sure why, but I gave them a second chance. I mean...there are so many restaurants here, there is no need to give second chances. Anyhow, glad I did. We will be back.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Divine Dining, Marketing at Bubba's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2022

Thank you for sharing! We appreciate your review and hope you will join us again soon!

Reviewed May 17, 2022

This was our first time experience and it won’t be our last.The crab cakes were delicious and the grouper fingers and catfish were amazing, We were seated very fast and our waiter was great.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Divine Dining, Marketing at Bubba's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2022

Thank you for sharing! We appreciate your review and hope you will join us again soon!

Reviewed March 28, 2022 via mobile

Expensive and low quality food. For a place that promotes seafood, and in an area with an abundance of it, this is just a bad restaurant. Fried shrimp smaller than a nickel, scallops smaller than a dime, you’d be better off with a fillet-o-fish from...the drive through I see there are good reviews for this place, but I’m honestly not sure why…maybe desert is good? IDK, just avoidMore

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Divine Dining, Marketing at Bubba's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2022

We are sorry to hear about your poor experience with us. However, we are grateful for your feedback and will use it to become the best restaurant we can be. We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Reviewed March 12, 2022

Went for dinner close to 8pm and we were seated right away. We knew it was going to be good because the parking lot was full. This is very casual dining. You can actually write on the walls. We didn't but many many people have....We ordered a coke and sweet tea. For appetizers ordered fried green tomatoes, delicious and a cesar salad, fresh lettuce. Shared the Captain's Platter (Grilled shrimp, flounder, catfish, bay scallops, hush puppies, fries and coleslaw). Would definitely order again. We were in and out within an hour. I loved the fried Green Tomatoes and would go there again just for that. Not one complaint. Enjoy!More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Divine Dining, Marketing at Bubba's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2022

Thank you for sharing! We appreciate your review and hope you will join us again soon!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
2,184 reviews
.04 miles away
Quality Inn Surfside Myrtle Beach
135 reviews
1.04 miles away
Holiday Inn Oceanfront @ Surfside Beach, an IHG Hotel
146 reviews
1.07 miles away
Grand Palms Resort
706 reviews
1.16 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Valentino's Italian Restaurant
1,174 reviews
.72 miles away
The Golden Egg
755 reviews
.73 miles away
Surfside Beach Pizza And Restaurant
328 reviews
.63 miles away
Malibu of Surfside
400 reviews
.61 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Surfside Beach Pier
160 reviews
.11 miles away
Celebration Music Theatre
33 reviews
.62 miles away
The Grand Theatre
5 reviews
.62 miles away
Shoreline Watersports
32 reviews
.24 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Doreen1224
April 18, 2021|
Answer
Response from Brian M | Reviewed this property |
I didn't see anyone wear a mask to enter, which I consider a must. Tables are probably not distanced enough for extra cautious folks, but seemed more than adequate to me.
1
Vote
MNavey
August 21, 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from DDG_Social | Property representative |
Hi there, We are handicap accessible through our elevator. Please see the hostess first or place a call to the restaurant to ask a waitstaff member to send it down.
0
Votes
Slam2u2
September 5, 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from abelmom | Reviewed this property |
Sorry we didn't go early in evenings.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

BUBBA'S FISH SHACK, Surfside Beach - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bubba's Fish Shack

Yes, Bubba's Fish Shack offers takeout services.

Bubba's Fish Shack is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4