We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Waterfront, Beach
Reviews (1,168)
Filter reviews
1,166 results
Traveler rating
525
398
184
36
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
525
398
184
36
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews catfish hush puppies fries crab cakes fried green tomatoes fresh seafood salad ribs hamburger pickle nickels flounder basket all you can eat service was great an appetizer long wait myrtle beach hillary
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Down home type atmosphere, definitely not anything fancy, especially bathroom. Thursday night crowds not expected. Servers had masks but few else. Mixed platters were plentiful but too many fries and they need a new recipe for their hushpuppies.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Divine Dining, Marketing at Bubba's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your feedback! Reviews like these help us learn, improve and work towards being the best restaurant we can be. We hope you will join us again in the future.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We ordered take out since we had rented a house and wanted to enjoy the ocean view. Food was ready quickly. The crab cake was to die for. The clam chowder was also good. We got the captains platter to split a few different types...of fish (ordered different way too, grilled/blacked/fried). The flounder and grouper were outstanding. The gulf shrimp were fairly plain and left something to be desired but overall we really enjoyed the food. Will definitely be back next time we are in town!More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Divine Dining, Marketing at Bubba's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We ordered take out since we had rented a house and wanted to enjoy the ocean view. Food was ready quickly. The crab cake was to die for. The clam chowder was also good. We got the captains platter to split a few different types...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The food was wonderful, the beers were cold and the staff was grumpy. I like this place but I can't say why. Give it a try...

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Divine Dining, Marketing at Bubba's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for sharing! We appreciate your review and hope you will join us again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The blackened Mahi was outstanding. Fried oysters, clam strips and blackened shrimp were good. Hushpuppies were good. The dipping sauce that came with the calamari was sweet and hot and just insanely good. Price is a little high, but not outside what we expected.

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Divine Dining, Marketing at Bubba's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for sharing your review! We hope you will join us again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice casual place. Great atmosphere, good food and very nice staff. The manager at the Holiday Inn recommended it for Seafood nearby - and he was so right.

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Divine Dining, Marketing at Bubba's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for sharing! We appreciate your review and hope you will join us again soon!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have passed this place for years and today was our first time to come for a quick bite. I had seen reviews on how good the Fried Green Tomatoes are and they did not disappoint. Perfect batter and thickness fried to perfection with a...great spicy sauce on the side. Also had some of their hushpuppies, good, but not outstanding since they do not have onion in them (personal preference). The 6 dollar bar drinks were also wonderful. If you come for lunch, ask for Hillary to wait on you. She has been there 17 years and treats everyone like family. Look forward to having dinner here soon.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Divine Dining, Marketing at Bubba's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing! We appreciate your review and hope you will join us again soon!

Reviewed February 6, 2021

Well we places a togo order. I asked for no slaw but extra fries on my plate. When we got home I realized that I had slaw and NOT extra french fries. I said ok that's a bummer let me call them and let them...know they made a mistake and see what they would do about it. I called I told them the situation. This was their response. "Oh I saw her take the order and she wrote that down. They probably just added the slaw and still gave you extra fries." Well unfortunately for them we're local and I have had extra fries before and I feel like they gave me LESS fries than normal. So there is NO WAY they gave me extra fries because I have had that before. Mistakes happen I get that but its how a restaurant handles them is what matters. This restaurant isn't willing to do anything about mistakes except say they didn't happen. The food is fine but I only go to places that stand behind what they do and are honest and take care of their customers. They obviously don't want us to come back and we don't need to for that. There are many other places around... Go there... Murrells Inlet, Russels, Lees Inlet Kitchen, The Shack up north.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Divine Dining, Marketing at Bubba's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2021

Thank you for sending this our way. We apologize for your poor experience and would like to reach out to you personally. Will you please send us a private message with your contact information so our Director of Operations can reach out to you? We...More

Reviewed January 19, 2021

Loved the dive atmosphere, and loved the food even more! We had the fish and chips and the fried oyster platter. We'll be back

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?1  
Divine Dining, Marketing at Bubba's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2021

Thank you for sharing your review! We hope you will join us again soon!

Reviewed December 26, 2020 via mobile

So glad we stopped before heading home. Our take out was good. Staff were friendly. Inside looked nice and inviting. We did not stay because of COVID. They are right across from the beach. AWESOME VIEW!!

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Divine Dining, Marketing at Bubba's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2020

Thank you for sharing! We appreciate your review and hope you will join us again soon!

Reviewed November 12, 2020

I love this place! They have large outdoor tables, great for now with Covid. The steamed seasoned shrimp were amazing. The mussel appetizer was delicious, as well. The sauce they are in is good for dipping bread. Wait staff is just okay, young, not very...courteous, at least that night. Food is a bit expensive, but everything seems to be in that area. I will go back for the shrimp and mussels, for sure! I like the laid back, low key style of this restaurant.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
DDG_Social, Marketing at Bubba's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review! We hope you will join us again soon!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
2,033 reviews
.04 miles away
Quality Inn Surfside Myrtle Beach
131 reviews
.77 miles away
Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach
105 reviews
1.07 miles away
Grand Palms Resort
680 reviews
1.16 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Valentino's Italian Restaurant
1,115 reviews
.72 miles away
Southside Grill
169 reviews
.73 miles away
The Golden Egg
720 reviews
.73 miles away
Surfside Beach Pizza And Restaurant
318 reviews
.63 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Surfside Beach Pier
157 reviews
.11 miles away
Celebration Music Theatre
33 reviews
.62 miles away
Shoreline Watersports
27 reviews
.24 miles away
Ocean's Edge Salon & Spa
7 reviews
.62 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
MNavey
August 21, 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from DDG_Social | Property representative |
Hi there, We are handicap accessible through our elevator. Please see the hostess first or place a call to the restaurant to ask a waitstaff member to send it down.
0
Votes
Slam2u2
September 5, 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from abelmom | Reviewed this property |
Sorry we didn't go early in evenings.
1
Vote
Rhonda E
August 20, 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Beth G | Reviewed this property |
Not sure, but I am sure you could email and ask
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing