The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+1 843-552-7171+ Add website
Hours
Sun
11:30 AM - 8:30 PM
Mon
11:30 AM - 8:30 PM
Tue
11:30 AM - 8:30 PM
Wed
11:30 AM - 8:30 PM
Thu
11:30 AM - 8:30 PM
Fri
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Sat
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Menu

Shacketizers
*Consuming raw or undercooked meats, poultry, seafood, shellfish or eggs may increase your risk of food borne illness. Pricing and availability for all items are subject to change.
Shacktacular Mussels
Parmesan scampi cream sauce
$10.99
Southern Fried Green Tomatoes
$9.99
Crab Balls
with remoulade
$13.99
Hushpuppy Basket
with honey butter
$5.99
Crispy Fried Calamari
$12.99
Shacks Chilled Blue Crab Dip
$10.99
Buffalo Shrimp
panko fried
$11.99
Hot Crab & Artichoke Dip
$12.99
Soups & Salads
Balsamic Vinaigrette, Caesar, Ranch, Bleu Cheese, Italian, and Honey Mustard Dressings *Consuming raw or undercooked meats, poultry, seafood, shellfish or eggs may increase your risk of food borne illness. Pricing and availability for all items are subject to change.
She Crab Soup
$8.99
Shack's House Salad
$7.99
Caesar Salad
Tossed romaine, Parmesan, and crutons
$8.99

Does this restaurant have private dining rooms?
About
Southern Living Magazine named the Charleston Crab Shack "One of the 10 Best Seafood Spots in South Carolina." With overflowing buckets of fresh seafood, great BBQ, daily specials and a rockin' happy hour, it's a good old elbows-on-the-table family feast. Join their Local Loyalty program for all kinds of rewards. Three Crab Shacks locations: Folly Beach, West Ashley and Coosaw Creek. Served by locals, eaten by locals.
PRICE RANGE
$5.00 – $25.00
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles333 reviews
Excellent
190
Very good
74
Average
39
Poor
17
Terrible
13
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

ksufan88
Wichita6389 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 none
We began our meal with a bowl of she-crab soup. This was our first time eating this soup, so we don’t have anything to compare it to, but it was very rich and full of small pieces of crab. We then split the Frogmore shrimp and sausage boil ($19.99). When they brought it out, it didn’t seem like much food, but it turned out to be a lot! There were 13 jumbo shrimp along with sausage pieces, potato halves, and one corn on the cob. It all tasted great. We thought it was fun concept that the tables all had a bucket built into the center surface of the table to put the shells.
Written July 24, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Coosaw C
Thank you for taking the time reviewing Coosaw Creek Crab Shack. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again. Kindest Regards, Ashley Hill, Operating Partner.
Written September 24, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ms.Cookie
Summerville1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2020 none
Frequent the crab shack on Dorchester Rd Saturday 11/07/2020, Danielle A was our waiter and she was great with accommodating us. We told her that we was hungry and she made sure we got our appetizer in a timely manner. She checked to make sure everything was great and We didn’t need anything. Thank you Danielle for your great customer service skills.
Written November 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
coosawcreek
Thank you for dining with us and writing such an awesome review. I will definitely pass on the compliment to Dani. Please tell all your family and friends about us. Sincerely, David Dean, Owner
Written November 13, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nashville8000
Nashville49 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 family
We wanted to eat at the Crab Shack on Folly Beach but grew tired I’d the 2+ hour waits at Folly restaurants. So we were thrilled to find this Crab Shack when visiting the Magnolia Plantation. We were seated right away snd the food was surprisingly excellent. Fantastic crab snd artichoke dip, calamari and hush puppies. Crab cakes were the best we’ve had in Charleston (and we ate at some highly rated places), the fried shrimp was perfectly breaded and seasoned. Only the crab legs were a disappointment. Very puny. The waitress was overworked that night but still very friendly. The only sour taste was that they let a panhandler hang out at the entrance (and there’s a sign on the door all but begging for applicants).
Written June 24, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Coosaw C
Hi and thank you for the 5 Star review, However I do believe you were referring to our West Ashley location on Ashley River Road that is close to the Magnolia Plantation. As we do not have a sign on our door requesting job applications. I will forward your review to the West Ashley location so that they can read your input and review. Sincerely, Ashley Hill, Operating Partner
Written June 27, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ross b
Baltimore33 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022 family
My long overdue review is for the Coosaw Creek location where we celebrated my nephew’s graduation from Summerville High School last May. About 20 of us went and were treated royally by the owner and her gracious southern wait crew. They had sectioned off a perfect area for us ,close to the bar ,where we could comfortably mill around amongst ourselves . The menu was typical South Carolina with many offerings. The preparation of virtually ALL the fried foods (which I love but shouldn’t eat) was just about perfect. Amazing flavor, crispness and not to heavy. True confession, I ate like an elderly pig , but went home feeling good. We asked for suggestions and they brought us a little bit of everything, and everything I tasted was really good. The atmosphere was casual ,pleasant and comfortable. Concerning the prices, I was a guest so fortunately wasn’t paying close attention but my recollection was that they seemed reasonable, especially accounting for the quality. In summary, I recommend this Crab Shack without reservation. I loved everything about our evening. Service with a smile and a heart is alive and well in Charleston . Thank you all and sorry I’m so late.
Written January 17, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Coosaw C
Ross, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Coosaw Creek Crab Shack. We love you that and your family had an amazing experience. We take pride in making guest feel like part of our crabby family and are delighted the graduations dinner was above expectations. Think of us on your next family event in Charleston. Sincerely, Ashley Hill, Operating Partner.
Written March 8, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sarah M
Cumming26 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 family
We were in town for a hockey tournament and wished to sample some local seafood flavor. The Crab Shack did not disappoint! Spacious restaurant for our group. Fried green tomatoes and hush puppies were yummy! Oysters on half shell were also good but on small side (could be season). Our grilled scallops and shrimp were cooked just right! Lots of adult beverages to choose from as well. Our waitress was attentive and super friendly!
Written February 18, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Elcid67
Mills River129 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 family
Gets 2 stars only because the hostess and waitress, McKenzie, were excellent. Food was terrible. My flounder was soggy and had an oily taste (probably from not having cold water poured over it prior to refrigeration). The she crab soup tasted like it came from a can. The calamari was obviously out of a frozen bag. Never, never again!!!
Written July 18, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

EvanGuthrie
Charleston10967 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020 business
The Crab Shack on Dorchester Road in North Charleston is one of my favorite places to go for seafood and drinks in the area. I really enjoy the laid back atmosphere here and it is a relaxed place to enjoy a good meal. The seafood here is fresh and delicious and I have had a really good food experience every time I have been here.
Written September 25, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Lynsey H
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 family
My family went to the Dorchester Road location after 8 PM on a Friday night wanting seafood but not expecting too much after a less than wonderful experience the week before at the Folly Beach location. I am so thankful we gave the Crab Shack one last chance before writing it off forever. Danielle consistently provided us with genuinly great customer service throughout our meal. Our drinks never dipped below the half-way mark, and she had a smile on her face despite us being her last table of the night. She allowed us to enjoy our meal without rushing. Thanks to Danielle, we will be back soon and request to be in her section!
Written March 7, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Coosaw C
Wow! What an amazing review. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are locally owned and operated and hope to make each visit with you special and it helps to have great guest like your family and an amazing staff like Danielle. She puts a smile on our faces also. We can't wait to have you dine with us again. Sincerely, Ashley Hill, Operating Partner.
Written March 8, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Conor R
Plymouth467 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 couples
We ate at a lot of highly recommended restaurants in Charleston, but this unheralded spot was the highlight. It looks like a dive, but the food was absolutely scrumptious. Everything was cooked and seasoned perfectly. Have to say, I loved the bucket built into the table.
Written May 12, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Coosaw C
Thank you for such kind words. We are so delighted that you loved our restaurant and food as much as we do. We hope you will come visit again next time you are in Charleston. Thank you so much for your time and your review. Sincerely, Ashley Hill, Operating Partner.
Written May 13, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Patricia M
Ellaville38 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 couples
We were on our way out of Charleston and wanted seafood one more time. All the restaurants close to town had an hour or more wait. We decided to try in North Charleston, and this was a very nice surprise. The shrimp was excellent and the sides were even good. The waitress was friendly and attentive but the restaurant needed a little freshening up.
Written February 25, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
coosawcreek
Thank you for this lovely review. It was definitely our pleasure serving you. Please stop by the next time that you are in town. Kindest Regards, David Dean, Owner
Written March 1, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dave O
Beaufort214 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 none
We tried this restaurant after a 2 hour drive from Beaufort, SC and boy are we glad we did. We looked at their menu on-line and saw there were plenty of options. We got the She-Crab Soup, and folks I've got to tell you. After 47 years in the Chesapeake Bay area, some time in Florida, and now 15 years in SC... this is the BEST She-Crab Soup we've ever had. Full of flavor, and crab meat, and some surprises that I'll let you discover. My wife had the Crab Ball app', and I had the Fried Shrimp & Crab cake dinner. Simply stated, this is our new favorite spot in Summerville, SC. And you've got to ask for 'Andrew' to be your server. His recommendations were spot on !!
Written August 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Coosaw C
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We love seeing all those starts and great comments about food and service. We will pass along the good vibes to Andrew. Kindest Regards, Ashley Hill, Operating Partner.
Written May 13, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Gerry M
Macon83 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 couples
Very disappointed. We had been to the Crab Shack on Ashley River Drive and had a fantastic meal. The best thing about our visit was Alexis, our server. She's very nice and attentive. My husband had the flounder sandwich and said it was good. I ordered crab balls, but they ran out of mix over the weekend and so no crab balls or crab cakes. I ordered she crab soup and was sadly disappointed. It tasted like cheddar cheese soup with some flecks of crab in it. At least the drinks were great, as Alexis is also the bartender.
Written August 1, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Coosaw Creek
Thank you for taking your time to write a review for Coosaw Creek Crab Shack. I am delighted you had a great meal at our West Ashley location. However, I apologize you did not get to have the same experience here. We do make our entire menu from scratch and unfortunately if our truck is even running remotely late we are unable to get a jump start on our prep items for each day and I am sorry this seemed to be the once a year day this could happen after an unexpectedly busy weekend. If your in town again please stop back in and I will be glad to get you crab balls on the house just ask for me by name. Again my apologies for your visit and your feedback. We appreciate your business. Sincerely, Ashley Hill, Operating Partner.
Written October 17, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

kim
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2022 couples
Our first trip to Charleston and wanted some good seafood. We hit the jackpot with this place. The Cajun crab pot was excellent and very reasonably priced. My husband had the fried shrimp and flounder platter and was very pleased. Service was great too. Everyone and everything was great.
Written November 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Coosaw C
Thank you for taking the time to review Coosaw Creek Crab Shack. Thank you for such kind words about our staff and food. I am delighted you had a wonderful experience, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip. Kindest Regards, Ashley Hill, Operating Partner.
Written November 8, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Steve J
Raleigh463 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
It wasn't our "normal" seafood restaurant when visiting Charleston, but it was alot more convenient than driving an hour out of our way to Awendaw. The service was very prompt and attentive. The guys raved about the she crab soup. My shrimp was very tasty and decent portions. All in all a good visit
Written March 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
coosawcreek
Thank you very much for your sincere review. I will pass it along to my team members so they can appreciate the hard work that they are doing. Kindest Regards, David Dean, Owner
Written March 5, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Shalan1234
Charleston159 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022 none
The food was good enough but not great. The restaurant looked a little rough, but not in the rustic charming sense, but rather just a little weathered. We also went during trivia night when there was no music and the speaker was on a loud loud microphone, which didn't make for a relaxing dinner environment. I know trivia can be fun in bars but it really wasn't great for what was supposed to be a relaxing after work dinner at a nice restaurant. It just didn't come together for us and the food wasn't good enough to compensate.
Written June 6, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 332
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Big Billys Burger Joint
$$ - $$$ · American
Sesame Burgers & Beer
$$ - $$$ · American, Bar
LoLA at Park Circle
$$ - $$$ · American, Cajun & Creole, Bar, Seafood
Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q
$$ - $$$ · American, Bar, Barbecue
Evo Pizza
$$ - $$$ · Pizza
Bonefish Grill
$$ - $$$ · American, Seafood
Madra Rua
$$ - $$$ · American, Irish, Bar, Pub
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE CRAB SHACK, North Charleston - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

All North Charleston HotelsNorth Charleston Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in North Charleston
Things to Do
All North Charleston RestaurantsRestaurants near The Crab Shack
FlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars