We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice2022
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$7 - $15
CUISINES
American
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

1.7 miles from Myrtle Beach Boardwalk & Promenade
Improve this listing
Reviews (2,065)
Filter reviews
2,064 results
Traveler rating
1,489
373
128
38
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
1,489
373
128
38
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waffles french toast irish benedict omelet pecan waffle home fries pork belly hash churros potatoes cinnamon rolls red velvet breakfast place huge menu worth the wait minute wait skillet
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago

Went around 1:30pm 12/1/22. Place was not very busy. Ordered BLT and a burger. I was thinking the BLT was a triple decker. (my bad). Sandwich came and I had to hunt for the bacon. Coleslaw was sour. Onion rings looked like something I could...get from a bag at Costco. Burger was ok better than Mickey D not as good as Burky's. Fries were not bad. Can't remember server's name but she had a nose ring and tattoos. She was very good. I did not complain because I knew it was not her fault. May go back for a second try thinking this trip may have been a "one off".More

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jamie Daskalis, Owner at Johnny D's Waffles and Benedicts (Myrtle Beach), responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We appreciate the honest review. We’re very sorry you left with such a bad first impression! Did you let your server know about the issues with your food? We would’ve been happy to check to see if there was something we could do to fix...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Breakfast for four was $63 ($3.25 for a cup of coffee!) The tables are tiny. The food is overpriced and the eggs and corned beef hash were horrible.If that wasn't bad enough, management gave us a hard time about our service dog. Just very rude...and disrespectful to veterans.More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jamie Daskalis, Owner at Johnny D's Waffles and Benedicts (Myrtle Beach), responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, Donna. Unfortunately, we have had to raise our prices due to inflation. We have tried our best to keep our prices fair while keeping the lights on and our staff well-compensated for their hard work. Did you let a server know about the issues...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a nice large, clean restaurant. The service was very good, although not very friendly. It was like hi, my name is ___, I'll be your server, what can I get you. That's the extent of our conversation. The food was good, but no...different than many other breakfast places. I will say their menu was varied and extensive. I found their prices to be a little high for breakfast.More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jamie Daskalis, Owner at Johnny D's Waffles and Benedicts (Myrtle Beach), responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, Joanne! We appreciate your business and hope to see you back at Johnny D's in the near future. Take care. - Chef Jamie

Reviewed November 2, 2022

We loved this place! I had the Churro French Toast and my husband had Pork Belly Benedict. Our server was delightful. So glad we tried it!

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jamie Daskalis, Owner at Johnny D's Waffles and Benedicts (Myrtle Beach), responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the five star rating! We're glad you and your husband enjoyed our food and felt welcome with us. We hope you come by to eat with us again soon! Take care. - Chef Jamie

Reviewed November 1, 2022 via mobile

You cannot call what you served as corn beef hash corn beef hash… It was diced up corn beef thrown in with fried hashbrowns absolutely awfulMore

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jamie Daskalis, Owner at Johnny D's Waffles and Benedicts (Myrtle Beach), responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We’re sorry to hear that. We usually get compliments on our corn beef hash, as we make it fresh in-house. Did you let a server know so we could’ve taken a look to see if there was anything we could do? We’d much rather all...More

Reviewed October 27, 2022

Stopped here on our way to our weekend beach getaway with two of our grandkids and their mom. The boys (age 6) both got pancakes and the helpings were more than generous. I had a side of the corned beef hash; their mom had a...really tasty Mexican inspired skillet breakfast and hubbie had a bagel sandwich. Waitress and hostess were very friendly and helpful! We would definitely return on our next visit.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jamie Daskalis, Owner at Johnny D's Waffles and Benedicts (Myrtle Beach), responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2022

Hello! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad that y'all stopped in and that you enjoyed our food and your time with us. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip! Is there anything else we could be doing...More

Reviewed October 26, 2022

Tried the restaurant today, 10/26/22, for the first time in Surfside. It will definitely be the last. No one of the 5 people were impressed with the meal. My wife had the pecan banana pancakes, she said they tasted like plain pancakes with pecans sprinkled...on top. I had the Irish Benedict with home fries. The corned beef hash was nothing more than diced corned beef mixed with diced potatoes, which were flavorless. The home fries were somewhat cold and under cooked, again flavorless, and the poached eggs were cooked through. We were 3/4 done with our meal and the server was already dropping off the checks. The restaurant was not busy, so that cannot be used as an excuse. We are a group of locals that go out for breakfast regularly. There are anywhere from 5 to 12 of us depending on circumstances.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jamie Daskalis, Owner at Johnny D's Waffles and Benedicts (Myrtle Beach), responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2022

Hello, George. Did you alert your server or a manager to these issues? We’re always happy to fix our mistakes if they’re brought to our attention. Thanks! Take care. - Chef Jamie

Reviewed October 23, 2022

Food was ok, not the best, but not the worst. I asked how the corn beef hash was made, and the waitress literally said "like mush". I dont like overly fried hash, so I took a chance at the corn beef Hash skillet. So wrong....The skillet that I got had corn beef chunks! Not hash but big chunks of corn beef. The blueberry pancakes had huge blueberries. I like the flavor more than the actual whole blueberry. So those two issues were on me for being so picky and not asking for better clarification. Everything else was as expected. Hubby's waffle looked and tasted amazing. We're likely to return, but I'll order something else.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jamie Daskalis, Owner at Johnny D's Waffles and Benedicts (Myrtle Beach), responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2022

Hello, Ashley! We appreciate the honest review. Everyone’s got their own tastes, and that’s ok! We’re glad you are thinking of giving us a second chance. You’ll have to let us know what you get and what you think next time! We’re always listening to...More

Reviewed October 18, 2022 via mobile

The food and the service is always outstanding. I've tried something different every time I've been and nothing is a miss.

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jamie Daskalis, Owner at Johnny D's Waffles and Benedicts (Myrtle Beach), responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2022

Thank you for the five star rating! We appreciate y'all so much for always coming back to see us and we're flattered you liked our food enough to keep coming back for more. See you next time! Take care. - Chef Jamie

Reviewed October 18, 2022

My wife and another couple came in for breakfast today at the 3301 North Kings Hwy location and the hostess seated us at a table hardly big enough for two people. There was a table for six next to us and we asked if we...could move. The hostess said "no." But we could take the napkin holder and other table items and sit them on the bench beside us to make more room on the table. I mentioned that by the time they brought our food to us there wouldn't be enough room on the table for the food. Still, his answer was "no" we can't move. So, rather than try to have an unpleasant breakfast, we got up and left and went down the street to Donald's Pancake house where we were treated with respect and spend over $100 for a delicious meal. Scurry guys, you've got to do better than that!More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jamie Daskalis, Owner at Johnny D's Waffles and Benedicts (Myrtle Beach), responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2022

Hello, Tom. Our Myrtle Beach location is our smallest location & that can make seating a bit tricky. From what you described, it’s most likely that the table 1) needed to be left open if a group of more than 4 came in and 2)...More

Reviewed October 17, 2022

Got there just before the line started. Seemed like a small town diner with wonderful fresh food. Big portions and a huge variety to choose from.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jamie Daskalis, Owner at Johnny D's Waffles and Benedicts (Myrtle Beach), responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2022

Hi, Laurie! Thank you for the five star rating. We're glad you liked our food and hope you come back to eat with us again soon. You're always welcome at Johnny D's! Take care. - Chef Jamie

Reviewed October 11, 2022 via mobile

Breakfast was good and service was quick. Restaurant was extremely loud, could barely hear our server. I wouldn’t go back to this location simply due to the noise, but maybe try another one next time in the area.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jamie Daskalis, Owner at Johnny D's Waffles and Benedicts (Myrtle Beach), responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2022

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Our original Myrtle Beach location can be quite noisy due to the architecture's acoustics. Our two new locations do not have this problem, so if you have the chance to check them out, we'd love...More

Reviewed October 11, 2022 via mobile

Was quoted 15 minutes wait, sat 5 minutes later. HUGE portions, fantastic food and wonderful service. In an area full of bad food and tourist traps this was refreshing!

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jamie Daskalis, Owner at Johnny D's Waffles and Benedicts (Myrtle Beach), responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2022

Thank you for the five stars! We're glad you liked our food and felt welcome. We hope you come by to eat with us again soon. Take care! - Chef Jamie

Reviewed October 11, 2022 via mobile

Best meal and service the whole trip. Shrimp and crab omelet was good but the Irish Benedict was amazing and the pancakes are the best in town.

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jamie Daskalis, Owner at Johnny D's Waffles and Benedicts (Myrtle Beach), responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2022

Thank you for the five stars! We're glad we could leave ya with a good impression and we hope you come back to eat with us next time you're in town. Take care! - Chef Jamie

Reviewed October 8, 2022 via mobile

Took a simple poached egg breakfast. Potatoes left something to be desired; coffee also not the greatest. Friend had no complaints with her pancakes.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jamie Daskalis, Owner at Johnny D's Waffles and Benedicts (Myrtle Beach), responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2022

We appreciate your honesty and your feedback! Could you let us know what you think could improve the potatoes? Definitely let a server know if something seems off if you ever come by again! It could've been a mistake in the preparation on our part...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Caribbean Resort And Villas
4,608 reviews
.32 miles away
Riptide Beach Club
177 reviews
.40 miles away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana by Vacasa
2,494 reviews
.43 miles away
The Strand
1,695 reviews
.46 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Pulaski Deli
532 reviews
.42 miles away
Sole Italian Restaurant
1,515 reviews
.06 miles away
Toscana Italian kitchen
1,430 reviews
.39 miles away
Little Italy
366 reviews
.19 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Myrtle Beach Pinball Museum
239 reviews
.53 miles away
Myrtle Beach Convention Center
227 reviews
.89 miles away
St. Andrews Catholic Church
113 reviews
.15 miles away
Coastal Wine Boutique and Tasting Room
102 reviews
.98 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
March 12, 2020|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from ChefJamieD | Property representative |
Hello Fellow Traveler ... I’m sorry you are distraught about our pricing but there seems to be some kind of confusion since our Belgian Waffle is $6.88. If you spent $20-$30 dollars for 1 person perhaps it was add ons that... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

JOHNNY D'S WAFFLES AND BENEDICTS (MYRTLE BEACH) - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Johnny D's Waffles and Benedicts (Myrtle Beach)

Yes, Johnny D's Waffles and Benedicts (Myrtle Beach) offers takeout services.

Johnny D's Waffles and Benedicts (Myrtle Beach) is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4