We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Paula Deen's Family Kitchen

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Floors marked for social distancing
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Sponsored by: Paula Deen's Family Kitchen

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Birthday fun!
1. Birthday fun!
"Thinking this may become a tradition! Great food, friendly people"
Cynthia R
See reviews that mention gift shop
2. Southern comfort food
2. Southern comfort food
"The fried chicken was some of the best we have ever eaten"
Wendy S
See reviews that mention minute wait
3. Fantastic experience!
3. Fantastic experience!
"Can't say enough about the food, service and the atmosphere"
WUMom
See reviews that mention Fantastic experience!
About
A spacious restaurant and retail store offering hearty, family-style dining with classic Southern recipes. Located in the heart of Broadway at the Beach.
PRICE RANGE
$15 - $23
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
American
FEATURES
Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Waterfront
Reviews (2,896)
Filter reviews
2,895 results
Traveler rating
1,926
430
259
146
134
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
1,926
430
259
146
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fried chicken pot roast creamed potatoes ribs banana pudding mac and cheese black eyed peas cobbler brownie salad fries family style ooey gooey all you can eat poppy seed southern cooking food was amazing
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago

We waited an hour to be seated. They claimed it was lack of wait staff. We waited on their "front porch" in comfy rocking chairs. The food is served family style. We chose fried chicken and fried catfish with creamy potatoes, green beans, broccoli casserole...and mac and cheese. It's tasty, but nothing to write home about. We got the butter cake for dessert it was very rich!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Diverse Concepts, Marketing at Paula Deen's Family Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi! We certainly thank you for visiting.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My son went to the one in Tennessee and my nieces went with him. All I heard were good things from the 5 that went. So we were in Myrtle Beach and thought let's try it. When we got there it was 2pm and we...purposely went for lunch time to save a few dollars. But the hostess said it is a 45 min wait which and she said so you'll probably be seated at dinner time which THE COST IS DIFFERENT at 3 pm. We were called to be seated at 3:05 pm. Wow 5 min and were charged the extra price. There are escalators you go up. As we got upstairs we seen I know 10 tables with no one seated at; so to us it was obvious we were purposely seated at dinner time for extra $$$. So sad. We ordered the 2 entree option with 4 vegetables. We got the Pork-chop with Gravy and Chicken and dumplings with the Creamed Corn, Macaroni and Cheese, Broccoli and Cheese and Slaw. Pork Chop was very tender. Chicken and Dumplings were very thick first go round but had a great taste. Second go round was perfect. Creamed Corn was awesome and so creamy and sweet. Broccoli and Cheese not much taste and the cheese was not melted. Slaw was good. Macaroni and Cheese is always my dish everywhere but not her; not much taste at all. Food was not hot at all like it had been sitting. We ordered the apple pie which was great and apples tender. Also got the seasonal Pumpkin oozy gooey cake which was so dry I could not swallow it. I got the fresh squeezed lemonade and first glass not sweet and much lemon taste. Second glass so tart could not drink so asked for coke. The waiter who was training a waitress both were asked to bring me coke twice and I finally got it. Very friendly though. As far as the store way over priced for everything in it. Very pretty though. This location is at the Broadway on the Beach and overlooking the lake. Ask to be seated at the window for kids to see warmer boat.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Diverse Concepts, Marketing at Paula Deen's Family Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi, Connie! We certainly thank you for visiting.

Reviewed 1 week ago

You do have to wait over 1 hr. Due to wait staff storage..we had already figured that and it is well worth the wait. The staff will tell u right off bat that u can’t take anything from the restaurant except dessert so why is...everyone surprised that you can’t? The prices are posted before you enter so why surprised? We look forward every year to eat at this restaurant with all food served is extra good comfort food., You get to order extra if u need it so no surprise at that one either. 100% love it and I just hope that people will want to work so this restaurant will be open in the future.. Service Great, Food great and just our special restaurant for the week that we stay. No reservations so plan aheadMore

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Diverse Concepts, Marketing at Paula Deen's Family Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi! We certainly thank you for visiting. Come back soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

I've decided that if you are used to southern style cooking and know how to cook it then you won't like it. If you are from the "North" you will probably think it is good southern food. If you are looking for some good southern...food this ain't it. The food we had was cold, seemed to be canned or reheated and just wasn't up to snuff. I think Paula needs to rethink her concept here.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
Diverse Concepts, Marketing at Paula Deen's Family Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi. We have passed your notes to our General Manager. We are so sorry for your negative experience. We want all of our guests to have a five-star dining and service experience, and we realize that we missed the mark. Thank you for the honest...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food was good. We thought tea was included. It is not!! We had fried chicken, catfish, creamed potatoes, creamed corn, collard greens & yams. Yams were super sweet with both marshmallow & brown sugar. No choice except FAMILY style. Cost was a bit pricey at...$21.99/person with dessert included, can’t take anything home. A senior discount would have been a good idea, in as much as seniors don’t eat much & you can’t take anything home.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Diverse Concepts, Marketing at Paula Deen's Family Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi! We certainly thank you for visiting. Come back soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

April 2021 I spoke with a local resident at our hotel who didn’t like Paula Deen’s at all, she was from NJ originally and loved juicy, crispy Amish style chicken, which I know very well.  But everything was wonderful, so I don’t know if she...just came on a bad day or is just too picky.  We enjoyed the most crispy, juicy, lightly-breaded fried chicken, fall off the bone tender ribs, and creamy mashed potatoes.  The coleslaw and cucumber tomato salad was good but a little too much vinegar for my taste, but the green beans were wonderful, you can’t get better green beans than in the south.  The peach cobbler and banana pudding were delightful and rather small, which is great so you can pace yourself, and we did get seconds.  Very bright and cheerful inside, lots of natural light, and service was prompt and attentive.  Just a wonderful meal for two people under $60 and not a tourist trap, which I thought it might be.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Diverse Concepts, Marketing at Paula Deen's Family Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi! We certainly thank you for visiting. Come back soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful food and service. Can't wait to return. Beautiful atmosphere. 5 stars from us. Wait was no more then 30 minutes

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Diverse Concepts, Marketing at Paula Deen's Family Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi! We certainly thank you for visiting. Come back soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The wait person, KeKe was great. That was the best part.The food was absolutely awful. It came out cold and was almost inedible. After paying $77 for 2 people including tip you'd think the food offered would be at least decent. You'd do better at...a Chili's or even Denny's. First and last time going to Paula Deen's.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Diverse Concepts, Marketing at Paula Deen's Family Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi. We have passed your notes to our General Manager. We are so sorry for your negative experience. We want all of our guests to have a five-star dining and service experience and we realized we missed the mark. Thank you for the honest feedback....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had lunch there this week and the cost was 50 for 2 lunches. Chicken and dumplings were so salty that we couldn’t eat and the sides we had looked like left overs from the night before. We were there at 11:30 am and expected...fresh food. Service was great and I don’t remember his name but he took care of the customers.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Diverse Concepts, Marketing at Paula Deen's Family Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi. We have passed your notes to our General Manager. We are so sorry for your negative experience. We want all of our guests to have a five-star dining and service experience and we realized we missed the mark. Thank you for the honest feedback....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a great meal last year and it seems some changes have been made...the fried chicken was good and the pork chops were good however they seemed to have much more green peppers this year...the sides were not good we had the mac and...cheese, creamed corn, slaw, and mashed potatoes...they just were not good...service was fine...again not terrible we just had higher expectations since it was so good the prior year.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Diverse Concepts, Marketing at Paula Deen's Family Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, Richard! We certainly thank you for visiting.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach
1,286 reviews
.25 miles away
Fairfield Inn Myrtle Beach Broadway at the Beach
336 reviews
.32 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway@The Bch, an IHG Hotel
417 reviews
.35 miles away
Courtyard by Marriott Myrtle Beach Broadway
264 reviews
.48 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Rioz Brazilian Steakhouse
2,800 reviews
.20 miles away
Crocodile Rocks
339 reviews
.12 miles away
Senor Frog's
2,248 reviews
.14 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ripley's Aquarium of Myrtle Beach
9,065 reviews
.12 miles away
Kokopelli Surf Lessons Paddleboard Kayak Tours & Rentals
662 reviews
.14 miles away
Coastal Carolina Winery
33 reviews
.13 miles away
Bodies Human
6 reviews
.13 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
George P
May 6, 2021|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Assistant1966 | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Paula Deen's Family Kitchen

Yes, Paula Deen's Family Kitchen is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Paula Deen's Family Kitchen is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 3.5