We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fat Hen

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2019 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Location and contact

Menu

APPETIZERS‏
cup 5.95
bowl 7.95
french onion soup
caramelized onions, rich broth with gruyere cheese and croutons
cup 5.95
bowl 7.95
crab soup
sweet crab, cream, sherry
13.95
house made charcuterie + daily selection
11.95
cheese plate
selection of artisan cheeses
7.95
goat cheese +.75
mesclun salad
mixed greens, vegetables, berries, candied nuts & red wine vinaigrette
8.95
cherry tomato,smoked beets & arugula salad
blue cheese, dried apples, pecans, golden raisin vinaigrette
8.95
tomato, roasted corn, boiled peanut salad
oven-dried tomatoes, grilled corn and boiled peanuts
10.95
wedge salad
iceberg lettuce wedge with blue cheese dressing, apple wood smoked bacon lardons and tomatoes
7.95
fried green tomatoes
pimento goat cheese, pepper relish, tomato jam
10.95
steak tartare
raw hanger steak, dijon, anchovy, capers, toast points, quail egg
ENTREES
25.25
pork chop
10oz grilled chop, potatoes au gratin, collards, calvados
21.95
shrimp and grits
onions, peppers, bacon, cheese grits, tasso gravy
20.95
fried shrimp
served with blue cheese bacon coleslaw and pomme frites
19.95
coq au vin
1/2 local chicken, red wine braised, bacon, roastedroot vegetables, mushrooms, cherry tomatoes, roasted shallots, swiss chard
24.95
crab cakes
bacon blue cheese slaw, pomme frites
30.50
seared grouper
local succotash, butter beans, corn, shallots, celeriac, bacon, fennel, tomato, beurre blanc
23.95
seared duck confit
leg and thigh, demi-glace, smoked apple jus, sorghum glazedturnips and carrots, garlic spinach
15.95
squash rice
goat cheese,‏ fresh herbs, oven roasted tomatoes, lentils, butternut squash, peppers, swiss chard, broccoli, olive tapenade
21.95
salmon bearnaise
mashed potatoes, garlic spinach
23.95
shrimp and crab
spicy hoppin’ john, bacon, julienne vegetables, spinach, pimento cheese
SIDES‏
4.95
mashed potatoes
4.95
bacon cheese grits
4.95
pomme frites
4.95
garlic spinach
4.95
collards
4.95
potatoes au gratin
4.95
bacon blue cheese slaw
4.95
creamed corn
4.95
butter beans
4.95
swiss chard
About
Chef Fred Neuville is excited to embark on his first solo venture. "With Fat Hen, I am striving to create a neighborhood restaurant with a relaxed atmosphere and signature French-inspired Southern cuisine," he says. "Johns Island is a fast-growing area and I believe island residents - along with others from around Charleston - will appreciate what we have to offer." Fat Hen's main dishes center around innovative French classics with Low country flourishes, sourced from the finest local produce farmers. The Braised Chicken features locally raised free-range chicken braised in red wine with rich bacon lardons, root vegetables & mushrooms. Fat Hen's Short Rib, a favorite signature dish among family
PRICE RANGE
$25 - $35
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
French, American
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Wine and Beer, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (1,060)
Filter reviews
1,059 results
Traveler rating
739
235
60
17
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
739
235
60
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch mussels coq au vin lamb shank skinny chicken flounder fried green tomatoes quiche bread french toast short ribs fries salad seafood burger hoppin john charleston area
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,059 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We choose table outside it was nice weather, and hostess told us table inside are reserved . But as soon as we sit down, nobody approach us for a next 15 minutes, they didn't even give us water. Until hostess told them something, and we...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank MilicaR93
Fred N, Owner at Fat Hen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We are so sorry to hear you did not receive good service at your last visit. Thank you for voicing your complaints so that we may quickly correct the mistakes of our staff. This is definitely not the type of service we are known for...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

Incredible food service and fun decorations. Our server Lauren was a delight and provided attentive service without rushing us. $25 bottles of wine. Cheese grits were wonderful. Everything we ordered was good. I would come back here soon except it's so far from where I...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Joan R
Fred N, Owner at Fat Hen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We're so glad you had such a great dinner with us. And thank you for the compliments to our staff. We pride ourselves on our service and it's great to be able to hear it shows. Lauren does a fantastic job, and you did indeed...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We love the brunch at Fat Hen. The menu is really great and everything is delicious. Save room for dessert. The Pluff Mud pie is outstanding, but it honestly all looks wonderful.More

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank Laurie S
Fred N, Owner at Fat Hen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for the lovely compliments on our desserts. The Pluff Mud Pie is a huge favorite and our signature dessert. Hope to have you back in soon to try some of the other sweets we offer, but of course no judgement if you go...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

When vacationing in the Charleston area. We heard about the Fat Hen from the locals. We thought it would be fun to visit a restaurant with French cuisine. We made reservations and went mid-week. You better make reservations. We made reservations for an early dinner...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank timhack
Fred N, Owner at Fat Hen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We're so happy to hear you were pleased with the local recommendation you received. We take a lot of pride in the menu and the service and it's always great to hear when somebody truly enjoys it. And thank you for mentioning reservations. As you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fat Hen is exceptional because of the positive dining experiences I've had there, consistently. I also worked as a hostess there for 4 months and had a window into what makes this restaurant exceptional. The chef is a true"chef". The staff is provided samples of...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Rebecca H
Fred N, Owner at Fat Hen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for such a positive review. It's nice that you have seen the kind of work we put into everyday of service here. We like to go above and beyond in the preparation of our staff so that the guests' experiences are...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had the French Toast sandwich with a side of grits. It was glorious! The waitress was so nice too. Made me feel at home. It was very crowded and I was dining alone, but I especially like the back porch. Makes you feel as...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Meade S
Fred N, Owner at Fat Hen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your brunch with us. I imagine from your description that Calie was your server, and it's always nice to be able to pass these compliments on to the staff. We take great pride in the level of service...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We made reservations at the last minute and were able to get in. The food was very good. I can recommend the skinny chicken. This dish was excellent. Also my friend had the swordfish which was also excellent. Service was great. Restaurant was full but...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank HILCHA
Fred N, Owner at Fat Hen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving such a kind review. It's always nice to hear folks are having a great time and enjoying the menu as much as we'd hope. Come back again and try another preparation of the Skinny Chicken as we like to switch it...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a reservation on Monday evening and the restaurant was hopping at 6:30, so I’m glad we had called for a reservation. The menu is a nice balance of southern favorites and modern cuisine. They had a fabulous special appetizer that included beets, a...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank pelarge
Fred N, Owner at Fat Hen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so happy to hear you had a great time with us. And thank you for mentioning reservations as we are a popular place pretty much any day of the week. We look forward to seeing you again and hope you enjoy any of...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've eaten at the Fat Hen 3 times while visiting the area. The menu is a combination of Southern local specialties, such as shrimp and grits to more traditional French dishes, like steak and bearnaise sauce with pomme frittes. The mussels appetizers are divine and...More

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank TeenieD
Fred N, Owner at Fat Hen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the great review. We love that people visiting Charleston enjoy us as much as they do. We love being a great part of anybody's vacation memories. Please do join us again when you're in town, and remember, we also do...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped in one night, but wait time was too long so we made reservations for the next night. Food was excellent, service was great. Harrison our server was top notch. Highly recommend making reservations as they were booked solid and had only the few (4)...More

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank DanielleinNoVa
Fred N, Owner at Fat Hen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It's very nice to hear that you came back to give us a try. Thank you for recommending reservations as well. We are a very popular place every night of the week, especially when the weather great. We will always do our best to accommodate...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
1,026 reviews
4.03 miles away
Quality Inn Charleston Gateway
50 reviews
4.04 miles away
Creekside Lands Inn
472 reviews
4.07 miles away
Home2 Suites Charleston West Ashley
38 reviews
4.12 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 75 nearby restaurants
Wild Olive
771 reviews
.99 miles away
Tattooed Moose - Johns Island
252 reviews
.71 miles away
The Southern General
136 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 28 nearby attractions
Angel Oak Tree
2,079 reviews
1.81 miles away
Low Tide Brewing
65 reviews
1.01 miles away
Eden Wind Farm
6 reviews
3.35 miles away
Tidal Trails
10 reviews
1.48 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
janice t
December 16, 2018|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from fava | Reviewed this property |
No requirement at all. We see people dressed very casually and others in suits and nice dresses. In good weather there is outdoor eating on picnic tables.
0
Votes
Louis H
July 6, 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Fred N | Property representative |
Good afternoon, We do offer a corkage fee of $15 if you decide to bring your own bottle of wine. However, we ask that you do not bring anything that is on our own wine list, which you can find on our website under the Menus... More
1
Vote
Belinda M
November 21, 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Fred N | Property representative |
Good afternoon! We always recommend making reservations. Please feel free to give us a call at 843.559.9090. We look forward to seeing you.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing