We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Fat Hen

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
3140 Maybank Highway, Johns Island, SC 29455
+1 843-559-9090
Website
Today
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
Mon - Sat 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

741 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 740: English reviews
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Years ago the Fat Hen was sort of a secret places for the Kiawah set who didn't want to drive the additional 15 minutes to Charleston for the cities incomparable food. On this visit it has become clear that the Fat Hen is now part of foodie land. This is where French Bistro meets high low-country cooking and the results... More 

Helpful?
Thank Landsman55
Pulaski, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

this is one of the best restaurants I have been in a long time. I had tilefish-whatever that is--and it was fabulous. All the different flavors and nuances with herbs. Absolutely amazing. Definitely go outside of downtown and go to Johns Island. Charleston does have Uber if you want to drink..Cheers

Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineCardin
Fred N, Manager at Fat Hen, responded to this review

Hi Catherine! We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience with us, and are so honored by your kind words. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your meal, even if you weren't sure what tilefish even is! Uber is a great recommendation since we have some great cocktails and a wine list you won't want to miss out on. We hope... More 

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Fantastic meal and great service. The bone in pork tenderloin was delicious! My daughter enjoyed the meatloaf and mussels as well.

Helpful?
Thank kozielmatthew
Fred N, Manager at Fat Hen, responded to this review

Hi there! We are so happy to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your experience with us, from the food to the service. It sounds like you both made some great choices from our menu! Thank you so much for the kind feedback. We hope you will visit us again soon! More 

Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Sunday brunch --yep -- it's busy but could you have done much better. Let's start with the greeting as we walked in no hello, no "welcome" just an inquiry as to whether or not we had a reservation. The food was really very good, do love their grits OMG yes but the eggs were not cooked as requested and once... More 

Helpful?
Thank nice_ankles
Fred N, Manager at Fat Hen, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We aim to provide fast, friendly service, and apologize that your service wasn't up to our typical standards. If you are unhappy with an aspect of your dish and your server fails to check on you, please flag down another one of our staff and we will... More 

Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Third time visiting and food was excellent as always. Service was a bit slower, buy overall a wonderful experience.

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie V
Fred N, Manager at Fat Hen, responded to this review

Hi Stephanie! We are so glad that you have continued to be pleased with your experience with us. We apologize for any slow service. Our staff do their absolute best to provide fast, helpful service, but things can get a bit hectic on busy nights. We hope to see you for a fourth visit soon! More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We have been to the fat hen a number of times before and my first comment is that it is always very loud which makes it difficult to have a conversation with your table mates. On this occasion our first waitress was very rude and interrupted us several times in the middle of conversation. She did not know the specials,... More 

Helpful?
Thank jc12onlbc
Fred N, Manager at Fat Hen, responded to this review

Hi there. We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience. We especially apologize for problems with your service, which sounds like it was not at all up to our high standards. We are glad that the problem was resolved with a change in waitresses. We aim to use the best local and fresh ingredients, like tomatoes... More 

Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Celebrated a birthday with brunch. It's a very popular spot on Sundays. Even with a reservation, we were seated a bit late. For those coming in with no reservation, the wait was over an hour. Once we were seated, the service was great! We ordered the crab cakes, quiche, and country fried steak. Everything was delicious! We'll have to visit... More 

Helpful?
Thank KGC307
Fred N, Manager at Fat Hen, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you so much for the kind review, and giving us a "hen"! We apologize that you had to wait to be seated. Things can get crowded, especially on days when outdoor seating isn't an option. But we are so glad you were pleased with your food and service! We definitely recommend giving our outdoor area a try-... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am a charlestonian and i visit this spot as much as possible. I do not like meatloaf. Due to a friends b day i had to order the meatloaf due to price. And goodness so good i order it every time i go at least a half portion. Great foor . But can be costly The signature "the rib"... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nathan G
Fred N, Manager at Fat Hen, responded to this review

Hi Nathan! Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so happy you have been pleased with your experiences with us( and that we could turn you into a meatloaf lover!). Our prices can get a bit high when adjusting to market price, and because we try to use the best fresh, local ingredients whenever possible. We appreciate... More 

Johns Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As a local, I enjoy taking guests to Fat Hen. Food is fresh and I've never been disappointed. Staff is friendly. Reservations are hard to get if you don't make them well in advance during the summer season. Enclosed porch and inside dining.

Helpful?
Thank jfkdawgs
Fred N, Manager at Fat Hen, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you so much for your kind words! We are thrilled you've continued to be pleased with your experience with us and have shared it with guests. If you ever have trouble making a reservation, ask about availability in our expanded outdoor area, The Coop! Our guests have really enjoyed the area for dinner and drinks. We hope... More 

Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my husband's and my favorite place for brunch. You can't go wrong with the crime brûlée French toast with a side order of the best cheese grits laced with cream and bacon. Staff is always pleasant and attentive to make sure your dining experience is a pleasurable one. When company is in town, we always take them here... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ellen W
Fred N, Manager at Fat Hen, responded to this review

Hi Mary Ellen! Thank you so much the kind review- we are honored to be your favorite brunch spot! We are so glad you've been pleased with our staff, as we take great pride in our service. And thank you for sharing the experience with your friends! We can't wait to see you again soon. More 

Travelers who viewed Fat Hen also viewed

Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Fat Hen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$25 - $30
Cuisine
French, American, Gluten Free
Meals
Brunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Television
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 3:00 pm
Monday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3140 Maybank Highway, Johns Island, SC 29455
  • Location: United States  >  South Carolina (SC)  >  Coastal South Carolina  >  Johns Island
  • Phone Number: +1 843-559-9090
Description
Chef Fred Neuville is excited to embark on his first solo venture. "With Fat Hen, I am striving to create a neighborhood restaurant with a relaxed atmosphere and signature French-inspired Southern cuisine," he says. "Johns Island is a fast-growing area and I believe island residents - along with others from around Charleston - will appreciate what we have to offer." Fat Hen's main dishes center around innovative French classics with Low country flourishes, sourced from the finest local produce farmers. The Braised Chicken features locally raised free-range chicken braised in red wine with rich bacon lardons, root vegetables & mushrooms. Fat Hen's Short Rib, a favorite signature dish among family and friends, is braised for hours in a rich veal broth.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Fat Hen and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Fat Hen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?