We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Fort Pub

Reserve a Table
Wed, 1/23
8:00 PM
2

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings
About
Old Fort Pub is a charming restaurant with one of the best views on Hilton Head Island. Perched on the banks of the Intra-coastal Waterway, it showcases unrivaled nightly sunsets and a rich history. So named for the adjacent Civil War shore battery, Fort Mitchel, the restaurant’s foyer is decorated with historic photos depicting the “War of Northern Aggression". Previously featured on The Food Network and in other notable publications, the Old Fort Pub has become a tradition for over 35 years. Guests enjoy The Old Fort Pub’s “New Southern” favorites inspired with influences from around the globe. An excellent choice for celebrating a birthday, holiday or a romantic evening.
PRICE RANGE
$0
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
CUISINES
American
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Reviews (898)
Filter reviews
895 results
Traveler rating
570
180
85
38
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
570
180
85
38
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch bouillabaisse key lime tart scottish salmon tasting menu shellfish beet salad lamb cakes shrimp filet pasta bread fries civil war sea island special occasion
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 895 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Food is always outstanding, consistent and the location and views outstanding. Awesome setting with beautiful sunsets. Bar food is equally as good. Go for seated fine dining or a relaxed visit to bar for drinks and bar menu. My favorite on the island. Absolutely awesome....More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank PalmettoDunes51
Reviewed 3 days ago

My friend and I decided to sit at the bar for dinner. It was a delightful experience thanks to Jerry (our bartender). He was friendly and welcoming and made our evening! Oh, and then there was the food...marvelous! My Mahi-mahi was cooked to perfection. My...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank NancyHHI
Reviewed 1 week ago

Walking in the view was stunning. We had high hopes. But it went downhill from there. My salmon was mediocre. My husband's Cornish hen was 1/2 well done. If you like old school formal dining,servers dressed formally,being very formal, you will love this place. If...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank sarahD5377MV
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went for Christmas Day mid-afternoon dinner. We had been led to believe this was an upscale restaurant experience, however this was clearly not the case from the moment we entered. We had made a reservation for 3:00pm; we arrived a minute or so early,...More

Date of visit: December 2018
3  Thank ProfessorJS
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great places for dinner. Staff was very good and professional Service outstanding We both had fish. Cooked to perfection. Price was reasonable Nice pour on the drinks too Restaurant is more upscale Saw children there but not sure it's a good place for them I...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank lope1430
oldfortpub, General Manager at Old Fort Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting us at The Old Fort Pub Restaurant. I'm so glad you had an enjoyable dinner at our bar! While we normally would not serve children in our bar area our restaurant does offer a children's dinner menu. Thank you so much...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Christmas Day and hoping for a nice meal with the family. Not so nice. I had the oysters rockefeller and they were sloppy and barely warm. I ordered the blackened shrimp and the salt level was way over the top. The grits - boring and...More

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank shells13
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had flounder stuffed with crab that tasted incredibly bland and definitely not what I would consider to be fresh seafood. The vegetables were not presented well and the polenta was almost dry. The service was average. This was probably the most disappointing meal I've...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank John S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our family really enjoyed a special Christmas dinner here. Good service, good food, and the ambiance as well. I recommend their pork chop.

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank george60898
oldfortpub, General Manager at Old Fort Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I'm so glad we could be a part of your Christmas celebration and that you and your family enjoyed your time with us at The Old Fort Pub Restaurant! Thank you for your review!

Reviewed November 27, 2018 via mobile

We've been visiting the Old Fort Pub for over 20 years and this gem has never disappointed yet bring your cash lol. The fare and service are top notch and this restaurant is one of the best we've ever found in the Hilton Head area....More

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank I6321EVronaldb
oldfortpub, General Manager at Old Fort Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much choosing to dine with us at The Old Fort Pub and for your lovely review! We look forward to serving you for many more years to come!

Reviewed November 12, 2018 via mobile

So many friends said oh great the Old Fort Pub was, all day it was their favorite place to dine. Possibly it was because it was a Monday but it was the worst $200 meal we ever had, we were very disappointed. My first visit...More

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank CindyB21
Linh C, Manager at Old Fort Pub, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2018

I am so Sorry to see that you did not enjoy your experience here. If you had read or comprehended the menu, you would have noticed the description "Skillet Roasted Calamari" hence not fried. Traditional Caesar salad is served with Anchovies (we use white anchovies...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
FrequentFlier32804
November 11, 2018|
Answer
Response from SavantIII_11 | Reviewed this property |
Visit Google Old Fort Pub
0
Votes
Maryelizaberh
September 5, 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from oldfortpub | Property representative |
Resort or relaxed casual attire; swimsuits not allowed in the main (interior) dining area.
0
Votes
judicial1
July 11, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 345HM | Reviewed this property |
Hope not!!! We recently celebrated our 40th there.
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing