We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Roost

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
220 N Main St, Greenville, SC 29601-2161 (North Main and East North Street)
+1 864-298-2424
Website
Today
6:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 6:00 am - 10:00 pm
Sat - Sun 6:30 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

462 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 458: English reviews
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have been to the Roost twice recently for Sunday brunch. Our expectations were exceeded both times. All things are done well and a nice downtown location. We plan to return for dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Jim437106
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We enjoyed sitting on the outside patio late one afternoon while having a glass of wine and some snacks. Service was good as was the food. It's a great place to people watch. A storm rolled in while we there and the staff was very attentive and moved our table back so that we didn't get wet.

Helpful?
Thank Heather C
00gc, General Manager at Roost, responded to this review

Heather, thank you for sharing your wonderful review of Roost. We are thrilled to know our outstanding hospitality and outside patio met all of your expectations for a spectacular dining experience. We will be sure to share to your compliments with the entire team for the job well done. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and hope to be your... More 

Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Enjoy the people watching downtown from your cool sidewalk perch at Roost. I met a friend there recently and was very pleased with the atmosphere, the food and the service. I had the Rooster Burger, which was amazing, (it had a fried egg on top) and my friend had the Chili. It looked so good that I lamented to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joni K
00gc, General Manager at Roost, responded to this review

Joni, thank you for dining at Roost and for highlighting the key features of our property. We work hard to make our guests happy and are delighted to read that your experience with us was an excellent one. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and hope you will return in the near future! Chris George  General Manager More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The variety of food was wonderful and consistent with past visits. They also offer made-to-order omelettes. Beautifully done restaurant with a great atmosphere, which also has outdoor seating! Service is always great and they don't try to hurry you out even if they are busy.

Helpful?
Thank Mary Beth G
00gc, General Manager at Roost, responded to this review

Mary, thank you for being a Roost regular and taking the time to post your review online. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your time with us and that you were impressed with all the aspects of our restaurant, especially with the service provided by our staff. Thanks again for all of your great feedback, and we look forward... More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

My family was looking so forward to Easter brunch yesterday, but must say we were more than disappointed with both the food and service. We have eaten both lunch and dinner at Roost before, but the Easter brunch buffet was less than desirable. I expected better quality for more than $30/per person. We sat with empty drinks most of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank DeAnn G
00gc, General Manager at Roost, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to leave feedback. We are so sorry that you were disappointed with our Easter brunch buffet. Our food prepared using only the freshest ingredients, and we never want a guest to leave dissatisfied. I have addressed the issues you mentioned with our staff to make sure we are consistently... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were 10 hungry women who descended upon Roost after riding 50-70 miles in the foothills and you bet we were looking for a great meal. Most of us opted for catfish and grits - (you know, when in the South...) - and we were totally head-over-heels delighted. Highly recommended for great food, ambiance and service. And the added benefit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
00gc, General Manager at Roost, responded to this review

Thank you for dining with us and for taking the time to post a great review. We work hard to make our guests happy and are delighted to know that your overall experience with us was excellent. Our menu is seasonal and rotates based on local availability, so I hope you return to Roost many times to discover new dishes... More 

Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As I was attending a conference I needed quick lunch options. I ate here 3 times and never once had a bad meal. The service was a little slow on one day, but they made it right. It's most definitely not your average hotel restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank dhlovell
00gc, General Manager at Roost, responded to this review

Thank you for dining with us repeatedly and taking the time to post a great review. We work hard to make our guests happy and are delighted to know that your experience with us was excellent. We look forward to you becoming a Roost regular! Chris George General Manager More 

Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have been to The Roost on several occasions over the past few years. Unfortunately, not once have I had service that I would consider good. Each time it starts with the host/hostess...or lack thereof of as in today's visit. Today, as in most visits, there was not a line ahead of us, but it took about 5 minutes for... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarkJ_2011
00gc, General Manager at Roost, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit to Roost. I apologize that you had such a poor time, and I truly apologize for the length of time you waited for service. We want every guest to have a pleasant dining experience, so if one of our dishes disappoints, please let us know while you are still here so we can provide... More 

Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
333 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped by for dinner and some people-watching. We were promptly seated and we decided on seafood. The frog legs and catfish and grits were excellent, as well as the crab sandwich. The staff was pleasant and the service very good.The prices were reasonable.good

Helpful?
Thank mcdh4561
00gc, General Manager at Roost, responded to this review

Thank you for dining at Roost and leaving such a kind review. We are happy you were impressed with our service and selections. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and hope you will come back soon for another enjoyable experience. Chris George General Manager More 

Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2017

Good curated beer selection. Food was good to very good; Service was fantastic!! Bartender was very helpful and fun.

Helpful?
Thank krto29
00gc, General Manager at Roost, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at Roost. It is great to know you enjoyed your time at our bar, and we appreciate your compliment on our selections and service. I’ll be sure to share your recognition with the bartender. Thank you for your visit. Please come back and see us again soon. Chris George General Manager More 

Travelers who viewed Roost also viewed

 

Been to Roost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$30 - $30
Cuisine
American, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Valet Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
6:30 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
6:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
6:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
6:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
6:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
6:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
6:30 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 220 N Main St, Greenville, SC 29601-2161
    (North Main and East North Street)
  • Location: United States  >  South Carolina (SC)  >  Greenville
  • Phone Number: +1 864-298-2424
Description
Roost provides a welcoming, friendly and unobtrusive environment where you'll feel a sense of community. Side by side we nestle together and experience how it feels to share a space, to share a city, to share a world. We savor how good food can taste when it's a part of our community.

Our menu features local, organic, and seasonal foods of the highest quality. Talented Chefs design and create menu items and present them with skill and confidence in our show kitchen. The menu is priced to fit every budget and every occasion.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Roost staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?