We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Folly Beach Crab Shack

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
26 Center Street, Folly Beach, SC 29439
+1 843-588-3080
Website
Today
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 2:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

968 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 964: English reviews
St. Augustine,FL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Very good service for our party of 14. Great seafood dishes we all shared. Only negative is slaw, hush puppies, etc. are obviously up plies mixes with no real flavor.

Helpful?
Thank HiltonGM-USTHD
Blairsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Dinner with friends....had the evening special which was grilled Mahi Mahi with new potatoes & sauteed squash. Large portions and so tasty!

Helpful?
Thank frdallen
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review

Thank you! I am glad that you enjoyed everything so much! We hope to see you again soon. Ron & Staff More 

Stony Plain, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ate at the Crab Shack twice during a recent trip to Folly Beach. The atmosphere was great on the patio, with live music on one of the evenings. Service was fast and pleasant and portions were generous. I really enjoyed a platter of crispy fried mixed seafood, served with smashed potatoes and corn on the cob, although there were many... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lori Z
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and thanks for dining with us twice on your visit. That is a awesome compliment with all the choices there are on Folly. We hope to see you again soon. Ron & Staff More 

Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Four of us pretty much tried everything on menu, not a bad morsel was served. Andrew, waiter was on top of things!! If you are wondering where to go to get a great seafood meal, and people want different things- FOLLY BEACH CRAB SHACK is the place to go! But go when you are hungry- the portions are not small.

Helpful?
Thank einsteinimnot
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review

Thanks for letting me know about your visit. I will also share your review with Andrew as well as all my team members. I am glad that everyone enjoyed everything so much! Ron & Staff More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good food. Lots of crab and shrimp and oyster dishes to choose from. Be sure to try the hush puppies!

Helpful?
Thank Shelley C
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your experience, I will pass along your kind words to all my team members as well. We hope to be able to serve you again soon. Ron & Staff More 

Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It took us over two hours to get our food (we were not told it would be a two hour wait at check in). The food was good, like a lot of other seafood places here but not "Charleston amazing." The portions were puny and the restaurant was extremely loud. Catching it yourself and cooking at home may save time... More 

Helpful?
Thank SeaSmiths
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review

Thank you for letting me know about your visit. I take all reviews, good and bad to heart. First, I have checked with my team and we have not been on a wait longer than 15-20 minutes since Labor day weekend. Our ticket times have been normal. I am confused on how this could happen. I hope we are not... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I want impressed the service was not good and the food was not what it should be for the price. Over been there before years ago and it was great. I wouldn't go back be to revisit

Helpful?
Thank Buffy D
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review

Thank you for letting me know about your visit. As you already know, we are better than what you experienced. I am always surprised when people say their food used to be great and after one more visit, they say I will not revisit. I have and always will have a 100% satisfaction policy. Please call me at 843-437-2546. I... More 

Inman, SC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Busy place due to the good food and location, but the staff can handle it. Had the shrimp and crab bucket. Both were fresh and tender. Wife had the fried shrimp and crab cake and said it was the best of the trip. Good beer selection, just wish I had a cold mug instead of a solo cup. We'll return... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ChDoBishop
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review

Thanks! I am glad that you enjoyed everything so much. My team member should have offered you a choice on the cold mug. I have already addressed that issue with my team. Hope to see you again on your next trip to Folly. Ron & Staff More 

Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food was good but service not great. We got our waters when we were finished with meal. Loud table near us so it was hard to enjoy meal or music outside.

Helpful?
Thank goingcostal
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review

Thank you for letting me know about your visit. I left you a private message with my cell number so I can better identify the server you had. There is no excuse that one of my team members would not offer anyone a glass of water or beverage until after the meal is served. I wish you would have said... More 

Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I were on our way back from the Charleston Tea Plantation when we decided to stop here based on the reviews they received. We ordered the Calabash Seafood Basket (with fries), the Fried Creek Shrimp Basket (with fries), and the Lowcountry Shrimp & Grits. The food was absolutely delicious. The negative experience occurred when the waiter brought... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer U
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review

Jennifer, Please call me at 843-437-2546. I would love to talk with you about the service you received. First and foremost, my sincere apology for the way my team member handled your order. It is now way a reflection of my culture and standards. I would love the opportunity to make things right and show you that we are better... More 

Travelers who viewed Folly Beach Crab Shack also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Folly Beach Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$5 - $20
Cuisine
American, Bar, Seafood
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Monday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Tuesday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Wednesday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Thursday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Friday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 26 Center Street, Folly Beach, SC 29439
  • Location: United States  >  South Carolina (SC)  >  Coastal South Carolina  >  Folly Beach
  • Phone Number: +1 843-588-3080
Description
Relaxed laid back Island Restaurant. Featuring Local Grilled, Steamed & Fried Seafood! Outside Dining & Raw Bar. Voted # 1 by Folly Beach Local's & Voted Best Seafood Spot, Southern Living Magazine,2012. Live Steel Drums every Thursday night! Relax, Slow down, It's Folly Beach!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Folly Beach Crab Shack and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Folly Beach Crab Shack staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?